$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
365 reviews
Great hotel, but the shower was a little odd

This was a great hotel, great location, great service - everything was really excellent. The only... See full review

  • Valerie L
  • Jul 31, 2015
Wonderful Weekend Getaway

Staying at the Sofia was the one of the highlights of our trip, the staff were all pleasant. We... See full review

  • Rex N.
  • Jul 31, 2015
The Sofia Hotel was designed for business travelers. Guests enjoy the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. Other convenience-oriented amenities in this sophisticated and elegant property include mini refrigerators, laptop-sized in-room safes and more. Situated on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotel features breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. The on-site restaurant, Currant Brasserie, serves French-inspired cuisine. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property.
Rooms

The Sofia Hotel offers 211 rooms, including six suites which are sparsely decorated, but elegant nevertheless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave oven, MP3 docking station, laptop-sized safe, hairdryer and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The Sofia Hotel dates back to 1926, when it opened as the Pickwick. It closed in 2006, underwent extensive renovations and reopened in 2008 as the Sofia. Along the way, the property was inducted into the National Trust Historic Hotels of America.

Today, guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. The yoga studio offers classes in a number of different styles, complimentary to guests. The Sofia Hotel also boasts an on-site spa which offers a variety of treatments inspired by the Far East (fees apply). The hotel even offers on site pet-care services through a local Dogs and the City outpost (fees apply).

Currant Brasserie, the on-site restaurant, serves a mix of American and French style brasserie dishes, along with inventive cocktails and desserts.

Highlights
  • 24-hour business center, fitness center and yoga center
  • In-room mini refrigerator
  • Located steps from the Gaslamp Quarter and the waterfront
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Valet parking (at cost)
Nearby attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • Petco Park (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space to accommodate up to 90 people
  • Global videoconferencing capabilities
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Policies
  • Guest must be at least 18 years old and should bring valid ID and credit card to check in to the hotel.
  • Starting 01 May 2015, valet parking fee (with in and out privileges) will be $36 USD per night.
  • The guest service fee is $8.75 ($9.85 with tax and assessments). The fee includes the following: Property-wide Wi-Fi and Ethernet Internet access, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Yoga Studio, Scheduled yoga classes (please check with the hotel for times), 24-hour Business Center, Unlimited local and toll-free telephone calls, 2 in-room bottled waters, HBO and ESPN, Guided Walking Tours (Weekends, weather permitting), In-room coffee and condiments, Lobby Newspapers (USA Today), "Urban Cruiser' bicycle use with helmets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAVE. J
Business
DC
Oct 3, 2012

Convient location, friendly staff

Stayed at the Sofia Hotel for 4 nights for a convention in San Diego. Very pleased with the stay - the location is close to everything (airport $15 by taxi, convention center, harbor, etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful - I had a package sent prior to my arrival and the bellman took good care of it and when I sent it back to home, they took care of it as well. The room was neat, clean and well furnished. Free Wifi was available. The only cons was the room was small compared to other 4-star hotels; however, it's understandable for its prime location. All in all, we were happy with our stay at the Sofia Hotel in SD. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cityroamer
Business
Southern California
May 12, 2012

Small rooms and rude staff

The only nice thing about this hotel is the location if you don't count the county jail next door. The rooms are incredably small even by European standards. We booked a 2 night stay but had to cut our stay short and check out after the first nights stay, but they insisted on charging us for 2 nights. Staff is extremely rude and they charge extra for everything. We don't recommend this hotel. There are lots of great hotels in San Diego - this isen't one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dobson's Bar & Restaurant on Broadway Circle - what a gem.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Monkeyd
Business
San diego
Jul 26, 2012

The Sofia Hotel

I recently stayed at The Sofia Hotel for a conference and I was not impressed by any means. I read a bunch of reviews prior to booking my hotel that were positive and I was so disappointed not to have the same experience. The room was super small, way smaller than I expected, I couldn't adjust the thermostat to make the room cooler either. When I first walked into the bathroom the toilet was still dirty from a previous quest which totally disgusted me. In addition there was hair from a previous guest on the bathroom floor and also in a little tray that had hand soap and mouth wash in it. I then discovered when going to bed that there was dried blood on the comforter from a previous guest so I threw the comforter on the floor. The last issue I had was in the morning when I was going to blow dry my hair in front of the mirror in the small area designated for getting ready. The only outlet there stopped working. The GFI was popped out so I pushed it back in, the outlet still didn't work. I then had to blow dry my hair using the outlet over by the TV where there was no mirror to use. I was so upset about my experience so when checking out I told two people at the front desk about everything except for I left out the part about all the hair on the floor and not being able to adjust the thermostat. All they said was we are sorry and they would inform housekeeping. After leaving the hotel I was really bummed about my experience, I wasn't looking to be reimbursed for the room but maybe throw in a day of parking for all my issues. I decided to go back later that day and I told the same story to two other employees and they did end up comping me one days parking. You would think when paying $161.74 a night in addition to $30 a day for parking plus some other junk fee of about $8 the experience would be a lot better. The only true positive thing I have to say about this hotel is the valet, they were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kindra S.
Business
Beaumont, California
Aug 22, 2012

DAMAGED MY VEHICLE

The valets ($30, by the way), Damaged my new vehicle and the company they contract with said the they asked the valet- he said he didn't do it, so its not their fault. Don't stay here- the rooms are tiny and there were dogs yapping at me ALL NIGHT, plus the neighbors had a party- I know because I heard EVERY WORD through the wall. On top of that, it wasn't cheap- you can stay at a WAY nice hotel down the street and NOT have this problem with your vehicle getting damaged. Also, in all SIX of the rooms my family booked the TV's didn't work. Super fun. On the plus side, the room was clean, and the staff was polite-- until I noticed the damage on my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Someone not very picky
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2013

Hotel

Pro: Good location Current Restaurant serves very good food. Con: No Breakfast WiFi very bad or does not work at all. Wanted to use the Conference WiFi but was told from staff that they do not know the password. Instead I should call a hotline which maybe can help. Rooms are very small. Air-Conditioner ridiculous loud. The whole ceiling was vibrating. Had to shut it off otherwise you cannot sleep. The room was not cleaned properly when I checked in. Cookies were laying on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe, Irish Pubs, Stouts

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dachi
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Good gateway

There is no bathtub in the room. Every room should have a bathtub . Was charged $8.25 per day upon check out as a guest service charge. This is a hidden cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business woman Diana
Business
New York
Nov 29, 2012

Only if you are on a tight budget

I was disappointed: 1. No restaurant or even cafeteria to have breakfast. 2. Regular cleaning, the first day I found food and clothes from the previous guest in my room. 3. Old amenities... but the truth is that I has a very good price, so sometimes you get what you pay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business George
Business
Aurora, Colorado
Apr 5, 2013

Much Smaller than expected based on online pictures...

When I arrived I had reserved a double room, they upgraded me to the queen, and i still had to ask for a bigger room. They gave me a King but it too was very small. I commend them for there willingness but the hotel was not capable of what i was expecting. I will not be staying at this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tara time
Business
Long beach, California
Sep 16, 2013

Girltime getaway

Overall, it was ok. Nothing too big or out of the ordinary. Expected the hotel to be a lot bigger and with a pool, but no luck. Maybe next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Manny and Marianne
Business
Ontario, CA
Aug 9, 2009

Bad Service, Hotel is OK.

We stayed at The Sofia Hotel for our 1 year wedding anniversary. There was an overall feeling that we were bothering the hotel staff by staying there. They misplaced one of our bags, gave us the wrong room initially, and the Currant restaurant does not want to make orders to go even tho it is advertised to do so. The hotel also demands a $100 a day hold on your card for "incidentals". Very small tv's, no pool/spa, or room service offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 15, 2010

Could have been better

Wow, were do I begin. The hotel has paper thin walls and we never got a restful night sleep. The staff is ambivalent at best - mostly young, unprofessional types. Did I mention the neighboorhood? Not only is the hotel within a block of a jail and about a dozen bail bond shops, but you can't leave the hotel without being panhandled or seeing homeless people sleeping on the streets. The latter is obviously more of a San Diego wide problem. The only saving graces to this hotel was the nice exercise/yoga room and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed, but soooo small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top