$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
322 reviews
Quick overnight getaway

My fiance came down from L.A. for an overnight stay in San Diego to see friends and go to the... See full review

  • Beghan
  • Aug 27, 2014
Amazing solo getaway

Wonderful in every-way! The currant bar and restaurant was amazing!!!. The hotel is charming and... See full review

  • Solo traveler detta
  • Aug 14, 2014
Sophisticated elegance in Gaslamp with business center and yoga
The Sofia Hotel was designed for business travelers. Guests enjoy the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. Other convenience-oriented amenities in this sophisticated and elegant property include mini refrigerators, laptop-sized in-room safes and more. Situated on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotel features breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. The on-site restaurant, Currant Brasserie, serves French-inspired cuisine. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property.
Highlights
  • 24-hour business center, fitness center and yoga center
  • In-room mini refrigerator
  • Located steps from the Gaslamp Quarter and the waterfront
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
Rooms

The Sofia Hotel offers 211 rooms, including six suites which are sparsely decorated, but elegant nevertheless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave oven, MP3 docking station, laptop-sized safe, hairdryer and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Sofia Hotel dates back to 1926, when it opened as the Pickwick. It closed in 2006, underwent extensive renovations and reopened in 2008 as the Sofia. Along the way, the property was inducted into the National Trust Historic Hotels of America.

Today, guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. The yoga studio offers classes in a number of different styles, complimentary to guests. The Sofia Hotel also boasts an on-site spa which offers a variety of treatments inspired by the Far East (fees apply). The hotel even offers on site pet-care services through a local Dogs and the City outpost (fees apply).

Currant Brasserie, the on-site restaurant, serves a mix of American and French style brasserie dishes, along with inventive cocktails and desserts.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • Petco Park (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space to accommodate up to 90 people
  • Global videoconferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Guest must be at least 18 years old and should bring valid ID and credit card to check in to the hotel.
  • Valet parking fee is $34.
  • The guest service fee is $8.75 ($9.85 with tax and assessments). The fee includes the following: Property-wide Wi-Fi and Ethernet Internet access, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Yoga Studio, Scheduled yoga classes (please check with the hotel for times), 24-hour Business Center, Unlimited local and toll-free telephone calls, 2 in-room bottled waters, HBO and ESPN, Guided Walking Tours (Weekends, weather permitting), In-room coffee and condiments, Lobby Newspapers (USA Today), "Urban Cruiser' bicycle use with helmets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7162 -117.1644
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego's greatest urban retreat walking distance to the historical Gaslamp Quarter, PetCo Park, Broadway Pier, San Diego Convention Center and Sea Port Village. Just minutes from all San Diego's most popular activities including San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World San Diego and the white sandy beaches.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 322
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMT4465
Business
Nottingham, England
Sep 16, 2012

Great Location

I had a great stay at the Sofia Hotel, It has a perfect location for getting around on Public Transport. The bus stops are within a block of the hotel, the tram is a block to the rear. You can easily walk to the Coronado Ferry, and you are only 5 mins walk from Horton plaza. San Diego is such a chilled out place, the Sofia Hotel definitely matches the city! The staff are super friendly and relaxed, great bar/restaurant downstairs. Great experience, I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

Great place to stay, Minutes away from gas light

Staff was so helpful and told me all of the great places to see

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Lennox
Business
Orlando, FL
Feb 4, 2013

Family Business

I traveled to San Diego on a family business matter. Because of the location of the hotel, I was able to enjoy much of the city while attending to my business objectives. The hotel was impeccably clean, very well appointed and the room was extremely comfortable and comfortable for a tired traveler. The staff were courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk to Macy's, a shopping mall and dining and entertainment. Highly recommend the sightseeing trolley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPLA
Business
AUSTIN TEXAS
Aug 23, 2013

Sofia Hotel San Diego

I enjoyed the location, the staff, the decor, the downtown ease of walking to great restaurants. The view from my room was all that was lacking. My daughter lives two blocks away and it was great fun meeting her for happy hour and dinners! I did not need a rental car and a cab was always available. I do not recommend a connection via SFO as it was fogged in and I missed my flight but all went well later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Little Italy for lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Excellent value.

Very sleek and modern yet still had a personal charm. Great staff and with very reasonable rates, an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Coffee Bean in the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 16, 2010

Excellent

Very friendly staff from check in to check out and consistent good service. Good service and friendly staff at restaurant and bar. i would definetely come back to stay in Sofia Hotel. Excellent location and it is located it the heart of downtown and you can get anywhere with public transportation from hotel. it is just five minutes walk to Gaslamp district and you can walk to seaport village as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 15, 2008

quiet luxury

Once inside The Hotel Sofia I could tell this was to be a restful stay. The muted lighting in the lobby really set the tone. Check in was easy and the elevators quick. Inside the room the color palette was peacefully elegant. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. And the hotel is perfectly situated close enough to walk to all the evening action, yet a block away from all the noise. I would highly recommend The Hotel Sofia and look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The coffee shop and restaurant were wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 23, 2008

good choice for business or pleasure

This is a well-maintained, well-designed hotel in a central downtown location. It was a pleasure to stay at The Sofia. I felt secure and taken care of while I was there. The furnishings are quality and they created a subtly stylish atmoshpere. The room was small, but it didn't detract from the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Borders, movie theater, Horton Plaza shopping all within a few blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roy L.
Business
Palm Springs, CA
May 26, 2009

Overall great experience

GREAT location to stay when you want to explore The Gaslamp District. The waterfront (and USS Midway Museum) is only 3 blocks away. Everywhere I went, I was able to walk-even to Petco Park to see a ballgame. My room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable and firm. The shower and sink were very modern looking. I feel that, for the money, my room was far nicer than my friends' room at another hotel(Ramada). There is a restaurant downstairs next to the lobby and several other cafes only steps away from the hotel. A coffee shop is right next door. I plan to stay here many more times when in town--I think I found my favorite hotel! Hint: Have a drink at Dublin Square Irish Pub on 4th Ave.--I think it's a good place to meet girls...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid La Strada Italian restaurant. It was terrible-and I know my Italian food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Khamla
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 3, 2014

A very nice stay in San Diego

The Sofia was the perfect place for my short stay in San Diego. It was close to all the best restaurants and entertainment in San Diego so I didn't need to pay extra for a cab to get anywhere. It's also on the bus line that goes to Coronado Beach, which only 30 minutes via bus. The front desk clerk even provided me with a bus pass, which I used to go to the beach and got to see more of the city. Another great amenity they have there is are the free bike rentals. They don't have too many bikes, so if you're interested in seeing San Diego via bike, get there early in the morning. The restaurant also has very good breakfast. I later found out that it's one of the best restaurants in town. If I'd known earlier I would've gone for dinner. Overall, this was an awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right next Gaslamp district, the entertainment district of San Diego, which is only a short walk away. In addition, there are some very good places in Little Italy, that is only a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top