$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
491 reviews
A very nice stay in San Diego

The Sofia was the perfect place for my short stay in San Diego. It was close to all the best... See full review

  • Khamla
  • Jul 3, 2014
Great!

Staff was very helpful and accommodated all of my needs. See full review

  • 1sttimeinSD
  • Mar 4, 2014
Sophisticated elegance in Gaslamp with business center and yoga
The Sofia Hotel was designed for business travelers. Guests enjoy the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. Other convenience-oriented amenities in this sophisticated and elegant property include mini refrigerators, laptop-sized in-room safes and more. Situated on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotel features breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. The on-site restaurant, Currant Brasserie, serves French-inspired cuisine.
Highlights
  • 24-hour business center, fitness center and yoga center
  • In-room mini refrigerator
  • Located steps from the Gaslamp Quarter and the waterfront
Rooms

The Sofia Hotel offers 211 rooms, including six suites which are sparsely decorated, but elegant nevertheless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, MP3 docking station, laptop-sized safe and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Sofia Hotel dates back to 1926, when it opened as the Pickwick. It closed in 2006, underwent extensive renovations and reopened in 2008 as the Sofia. Along the way, the property was inducted into the National Trust Historic Hotels of America.

Today, guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. The yoga studio offers classes in a number of different styles, complimentary to guests. The Sofia Hotel also boasts an on-site spa which offers a variety of treatments inspired by the Far East (fees apply). The hotel even offers on site pet-care services through a local Dogs and the City outpost (fees apply).

Currant Brasserie, the on-site restaurant, serves a mix of American and French style brasserie dishes, along with inventive cocktails and desserts.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • Petco Park (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space to accommodate up to 90 people
  • Global videoconferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7162 -117.1644
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego's greatest urban retreat walking distance to the historical Gaslamp Quarter, PetCo Park, Broadway Pier, San Diego Convention Center and Sea Port Village. Just minutes from all San Diego's most popular activities including San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World San Diego and the white sandy beaches.

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (491)

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 491
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Excellent value.

Very sleek and modern yet still had a personal charm. Great staff and with very reasonable rates, an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Coffee Bean in the building.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

Great place to stay, Minutes away from gas light

Staff was so helpful and told me all of the great places to see

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Jul 23, 2008

good choice for business or pleasure

This is a well-maintained, well-designed hotel in a central downtown location. It was a pleasure to stay at The Sofia. I felt secure and taken care of while I was there. The furnishings are quality and they created a subtly stylish atmoshpere. The room was small, but it didn't detract from the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Borders, movie theater, Horton Plaza shopping all within a few blocks

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Excellent value.

Very sleek and modern yet still had a personal charm. Great staff and with very reasonable rates, an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Coffee Bean in the building.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roy L.
Palm Springs, CA
May 26, 2009

Overall great experience

GREAT location to stay when you want to explore The Gaslamp District. The waterfront (and USS Midway Museum) is only 3 blocks away. Everywhere I went, I was able to walk-even to Petco Park to see a ballgame. My room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable and firm. The shower and sink were very modern looking. I feel that, for the money, my room was far nicer than my friends' room at another hotel(Ramada). There is a restaurant downstairs next to the lobby and several other cafes only steps away from the hotel. A coffee shop is right next door. I plan to stay here many more times when in town--I think I found my favorite hotel! Hint: Have a drink at Dublin Square Irish Pub on 4th Ave.--I think it's a good place to meet girls...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid La Strada Italian restaurant. It was terrible-and I know my Italian food!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 15, 2008

quiet luxury

Once inside The Hotel Sofia I could tell this was to be a restful stay. The muted lighting in the lobby really set the tone. Check in was easy and the elevators quick. Inside the room the color palette was peacefully elegant. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. And the hotel is perfectly situated close enough to walk to all the evening action, yet a block away from all the noise. I would highly recommend The Hotel Sofia and look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The coffee shop and restaurant were wonderful

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jan 16, 2010

Excellent

Very friendly staff from check in to check out and consistent good service. Good service and friendly staff at restaurant and bar. i would definetely come back to stay in Sofia Hotel. Excellent location and it is located it the heart of downtown and you can get anywhere with public transportation from hotel. it is just five minutes walk to Gaslamp district and you can walk to seaport village as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jan 16, 2010

Excellent

Very friendly staff from check in to check out and consistent good service. Good service and friendly staff at restaurant and bar. i would definetely come back to stay in Sofia Hotel. Excellent location and it is located it the heart of downtown and you can get anywhere with public transportation from hotel. it is just five minutes walk to Gaslamp district and you can walk to seaport village as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roy L.
Palm Springs, CA
May 26, 2009

Overall great experience

GREAT location to stay when you want to explore The Gaslamp District. The waterfront (and USS Midway Museum) is only 3 blocks away. Everywhere I went, I was able to walk-even to Petco Park to see a ballgame. My room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable and firm. The shower and sink were very modern looking. I feel that, for the money, my room was far nicer than my friends' room at another hotel(Ramada). There is a restaurant downstairs next to the lobby and several other cafes only steps away from the hotel. A coffee shop is right next door. I plan to stay here many more times when in town--I think I found my favorite hotel! Hint: Have a drink at Dublin Square Irish Pub on 4th Ave.--I think it's a good place to meet girls...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid La Strada Italian restaurant. It was terrible-and I know my Italian food!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPLA
AUSTIN TEXAS
Aug 23, 2013

Sofia Hotel San Diego

I enjoyed the location, the staff, the decor, the downtown ease of walking to great restaurants. The view from my room was all that was lacking. My daughter lives two blocks away and it was great fun meeting her for happy hour and dinners! I did not need a rental car and a cab was always available. I do not recommend a connection via SFO as it was fogged in and I missed my flight but all went well later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Little Italy for lunch and dinner.

Back to menu Return to top