$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
330 reviews
Another wonderful stay at the Sofia!

This was our second time staying and once again the Sofia exceeded our expectations. We would... See full review

  • Jadie
  • Nov 23, 2014
Great location, wonderful value!

We stayed at The Sofia on Halloween and had a wonderful time. It's right in the gaslamp so going... See full review

  • Jadie
  • Nov 2, 2014
Sophisticated elegance in Gaslamp with business center and yoga
The Sofia Hotel was designed for business travelers. Guests enjoy the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. Other convenience-oriented amenities in this sophisticated and elegant property include mini refrigerators, laptop-sized in-room safes and more. Situated on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotel features breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. The on-site restaurant, Currant Brasserie, serves French-inspired cuisine. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property.
Highlights
  • 24-hour business center, fitness center and yoga center
  • In-room mini refrigerator
  • Located steps from the Gaslamp Quarter and the waterfront
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
Rooms

The Sofia Hotel offers 211 rooms, including six suites which are sparsely decorated, but elegant nevertheless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave oven, MP3 docking station, laptop-sized safe, hairdryer and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Sofia Hotel dates back to 1926, when it opened as the Pickwick. It closed in 2006, underwent extensive renovations and reopened in 2008 as the Sofia. Along the way, the property was inducted into the National Trust Historic Hotels of America.

Today, guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. The yoga studio offers classes in a number of different styles, complimentary to guests. The Sofia Hotel also boasts an on-site spa which offers a variety of treatments inspired by the Far East (fees apply). The hotel even offers on site pet-care services through a local Dogs and the City outpost (fees apply).

Currant Brasserie, the on-site restaurant, serves a mix of American and French style brasserie dishes, along with inventive cocktails and desserts.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • Petco Park (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space to accommodate up to 90 people
  • Global videoconferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Guest must be at least 18 years old and should bring valid ID and credit card to check in to the hotel.
  • Valet parking fee is $34.
  • The guest service fee is $8.75 ($9.85 with tax and assessments). The fee includes the following: Property-wide Wi-Fi and Ethernet Internet access, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Yoga Studio, Scheduled yoga classes (please check with the hotel for times), 24-hour Business Center, Unlimited local and toll-free telephone calls, 2 in-room bottled waters, HBO and ESPN, Guided Walking Tours (Weekends, weather permitting), In-room coffee and condiments, Lobby Newspapers (USA Today), "Urban Cruiser' bicycle use with helmets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (330)

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 330
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Great place!

The room was on the small side but very nice! The linens were quality and the decor was very streamline and up to date. Bathroom was large and had a nice vanity. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant because it was too pricey, but it looked like a nice place. Staff was very friendly and polite, valet service was fast but expensive. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
prncskra
Business
nyc
Nov 30, 2009

lovely!

I loved being downtown! Plus the rooms are super modern and the clientele is young and hip! I also love that it's a pet friendly hotel. I was greeted with a lovely puppy who nestled in my arms as I checked in. Great place...cool bath amenities and sink. * Free bottled water plus lemon infused water available from a dispenser * free wifi in the lobby & use of a business center with free printing * in and out valet for a daily flat rate *extended check out til 1pm when requested Only issue...the shower is a stand up with half glass door so water always spills out during the shower... But that's minimal...I would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park along the street (around the hotel) and just pay the meter. After 6p M-Sat & all day Sun it's free! But if you want the convenience, they have valet service as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Perfect for Us

This hotel was perfect for me and my hubby for our mini-vacation to downtown San Diego. The staff was beyond pleasant really accommodated all our needs. When we called the front desk for extra towels they were delivered within minutes and in the morning one of the women at the front desk gave us a great recommendation for breakfast (I think it was called Cafe 222.) The rooms were a little on the small side but that's a plus for me as I prefer cozy rooms. It was decorated really nicely and the sheets were amazingly soft. The towels were awesome too, huge and really soft. There was a little dust on the fake orchids on the sink, but everything else was really clean. The location was really awesome, super close to Horton Plaza, Little Italy and the Gaslamp District, we walked everywhere. It's central location was such a huge benefit for us and getting to walk everywhere made me fall in love with downtown. Valet was a little expensive, $28,but that wasn't a deal killer for us either. We'll definitely be returning to The Sophia!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a really yummy and super cheap sushi joint practically across the street from the hotel. I think it was called the Sushi Deli, but you'll probably be able to spot it because of the crowd gathered in front. We waited about 20 min. for bar seating but it was totally worth it. The food was delicious, the service was great (our waiter was pretty funny too,) and the prices were unbeatable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaye and Greg
Business
Perth WA, Australia
Feb 6, 2012

Recommend hotel for your first visit to San Diego

We loved our stay at Hotel Sophia. Location was great. Used the trolley buses which were a great way of getting around. Highlights were the free walking tour given by Pamela on the weekends, the hi speed wi fi and we used the bikes on offer from the hotel which were fantastic. Staff were all very obliging and helpful. We would re book if we ever come back to San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G in MN
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Aug 10, 2012

Awesome

Went to San Diego for conference. Started with wonderful reception staff. Room we had was smallish but incredibly stylish and clean! 3 types of glass glasses as well as in room refrigerator. Workout room was great and clean. Restaurant was wonderful - best meal we had in San Diego. Avacodo coated in panko and then fried topped with crab! Bus from airport travels up and down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Amazing food at the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan dan
Business
West chester, pa
Sep 1, 2012

Great

Couldn't have asked for more. Great location to everything downtown and transportation. Nice rooms, nice staff. Business center was good. Will def be back if in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus transportation is great. Don't rent a car and pay 30/day. 5/day for bus and they come quickly. Or take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Castillos Homeymoon
Business
Fullerton, Ca
Mar 21, 2013

Perfect Honeymoon

The hotel is perfectly located in the Gaslamp District. You can park your car and walk everywhere. Also when we checked in through conversation we told them it was our honeymoon and they upgraded our room at no charge!! Staff was very nice and everything was great :) Will definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Horton Plaza is a great place to walk around and see all types of shops and eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gakman
Business
Ottoville, ohio
Apr 23, 2013

Downtown stay

The hotel was nice. The staff was helpfull. The room was clean. Great location. I would stay there again. AAAAA+++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
randomnickname112
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2014

Great non-chain option

Very friendly staff, fun factoids (with black and white pictures) about the history of the building on the lamps on each floor, free bike rentals if you want them, the usual basics for free (gym/wifi/coffee), a nice little bar/restaurant attached. Great location too -- easily walkable to the Gaslamp Quarter and to Little Italy, and a bit longer but manageable walk to/from Balboa Park. We'd probably stay here again if we return to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves a deal Jen
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 1, 2011

Great hotel for a city experience

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sofia while in town for a wedding, which the first time that either of us had visited San Diego. We loved the location! It was close to the wedding, but also close to the Gaslamp Quarter, which was perfect for getting drinks and going out to dinner with friends. It was within walking distance to a harbor tours and it's a quick cab ride to the zoo and Old Town. The restaurant downstairs, Currant, had a great happy hour and we enjoyed having brunch there. The hotel itself was great--everything was super modern and clean. The gym was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was small (we expected this from reading other reviews), but even in our 5 night stay, we weren't bothered by the size, because it was a very functional design. One drawback we noticed was the high charge for valet parking. There may have been alternatives in the area, but since the main purpose of our stay was to visit friends, we chose to forgo having a car and stick to hanging out in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top