$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Aug 25, 2008

Great Value

The Sofia Hotel was a great hotel and I enjoyed the experience. It was located within walking distance or very short cab ride of everything downtown. The rooms were small but very clean and nicely decorated. You can tell that they had been remodeled recently. The value for a hotel right in the heart of downtown is unmatched. The only problem with the price was that you did have to valet your car if you have one because there is really no where else to park your car for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Deli 2 is literally right across the street and probably the best deal on sushi that I have every encountered. Go check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manager Mom
Business
Findlay, OH
Oct 7, 2009

great place

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They had wonderful recommendations and excellent directions. We stayed there for a few days before taking a cruise. We could walk or get transportation to anywhere in town. The complementary lemon water was a nice, personal touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Walkers breakfast place was within easy walking distance and had a great breakfast menu. Great portions too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
riverside, california
Jun 15, 2009

WONDERFUL

My experience was great nice hotel nice rooms nice people,,, YOU THE BEST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingston,ON Canada
Jun 18, 2009

Four years later and still super

Ladies at the reception desk were wonderful and very helpful. The gentlemen who checked me out of the hotel actually came outside to see that I got a cab to the airport OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Forget the rental car. The Sofia Hotel is basically a short walk from anything in the heart of San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oc
May 27, 2009

the sofia

the check in staff was extremely helpful. we walked to a padres game and shoping and diner in little italy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there was a nice mall right around the corner. lots of bars and resturants too in gas lamp district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allthingsmatt
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 7, 2011

European feel, good location

Came to San Diego for a work conference, but have been before several times for vacation. I really liked The Sofia Hotel, the staff was incredibly friendly and ready to help anytime. The location is great for the price, right near downtown and 5-10 minute walk to all the great places on 5th avenue. Very close to a bus stop to and from the airport for those budget-conscious (like myself!) The rooms are small but elegant, with an European feel to them. Really a great deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the peanut butter and banana stuffed french toast at the 222 Cafe on Island St. between 2nd and 3rd ave. To die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roc84
Business
Inland Empire, CA
May 5, 2011

Great Location! Nice Stay!

The rooms are small, but it has everything you need! The hotel is nicely located to everything, your down the street from the mall, you can walk right to the mall and within seconds you are the gaslamp district where there is so much to do. The Sofia Hotel is perfect! Staff are great, rooms are clean and modern. They only downside is the $30 valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Apr 22, 2011

Chic hotel

My boyfriend and I just wanted to get away during the week. We stayed for only one night (Mon) so we got a pretty good deal on a queen size room. The sophia has a great staff including the people working the valet. Check in and check out was a breeze. The rooms are very neat and spotless. The room was a bit small but you can tell that theyve paid attention to every detail. Theres a fridge, microwave, a mini bar, and a flat panel screen. The only thing i would like to comment on is that the shower. Its partly covered so the water splashes down & soaks the floor. Overall, we had good time. Its perfect for couples staying in town for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The sushi spot down the street towards westfield is cheap & delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roy L.
Business
Palm Springs, CA
May 26, 2009

Overall great experience

GREAT location to stay when you want to explore The Gaslamp District. The waterfront (and USS Midway Museum) is only 3 blocks away. Everywhere I went, I was able to walk-even to Petco Park to see a ballgame. My room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable and firm. The shower and sink were very modern looking. I feel that, for the money, my room was far nicer than my friends' room at another hotel(Ramada). There is a restaurant downstairs next to the lobby and several other cafes only steps away from the hotel. A coffee shop is right next door. I plan to stay here many more times when in town--I think I found my favorite hotel! Hint: Have a drink at Dublin Square Irish Pub on 4th Ave.--I think it's a good place to meet girls...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid La Strada Italian restaurant. It was terrible-and I know my Italian food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMcCordK
Business
San Diego, Ca
Oct 5, 2009

Wonderful Hotel

The room reminded us of New York- Small BUT great use of space. The hotel was VERY clean- everything was spotless. Very impressed, will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top