$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 29, 2008

A surprise

I was in town for a family event and didn't spend much time in my room but I sure wanted to. The room was a suite and had a great layout. The bed was very comfortable, the shower (with bathtub) was great with hot water and great water pressure. The recent remodel was well done, modernizing without effecting the charm. I especially liked the extra thick carpet pad. The location was perfect , close to the gas light district, movie theaters, shopping and great restaurants. There was also a 7-11 convenience store nearby that is open 24 hours. The only things negative were additional parking fees, taxi service was readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Jun 15, 2008

quiet luxury

Once inside The Hotel Sofia I could tell this was to be a restful stay. The muted lighting in the lobby really set the tone. Check in was easy and the elevators quick. Inside the room the color palette was peacefully elegant. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. And the hotel is perfectly situated close enough to walk to all the evening action, yet a block away from all the noise. I would highly recommend The Hotel Sofia and look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The coffee shop and restaurant were wonderful

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Oct 21, 2008

Excellent Central Hotel

A nice boutique hotel - looks recently renovated - very central - not far from lamplighter district. High thread coat sheets and comfortable beds. Water available in a cooler in lobby, fireplace and sitting areas in lobby to relax, plus three free computer terminals (or free wireless internet in lobby if you have your own computer). Did not try out the yoga room or fitness centre on second floor. Close to everything downtown including Horton Plaza and all bus, trolley, train connections. Airport is of course very close to downtown in San Diego - so you can take public transit from airport if you want if you don't have too much luggage. In room safe large enough to store a laptop or your valuables - handy for business travellers. Most of the rooms seemed to be cleaned in afternoon so you can sleep in as long as you want as long as you put the sign out. Front desk staff seemed friendly and helpful. Free late check outs with no charge. In general very much enjoyed my stay here - very comfortable safe hotel. Bus station next door to hotel but never had a problem walking by there even at 8 p.m. You can walk on opposite side of street if you feel more comfortable then cross back over the hotel at the side entrance. If returning to San Diego would stay here again and recommend to friends/family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a kilometre from the train station. Coffee shop is a retail store located on the ground level of the hotel.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2007

Dog lovers paradise!

We did not bring our dogs; however, the hotel caters to pets, especially dogs. At first, I was disappointed by the room size, but realized that there is an abundance of storage for your things. The room was probably the size of a college dorm and the bathroom was very small. There was only half a shower door, and I don't know why. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel staff was very responsive to any needs. The hotel began to grow on me the longer I stayed. The hotel is right in the location of the gaslamp, so if the SD nightlife is for you, then this hotel is for you. Reasonably priced for what you get. The hotel is very modern looking. There was no restaurant, but one was opening/under construction at the time of our stay. Get to the hotel early, or else you won't get a view room. We got in late and our view was of a greyhound bus station; however, we heard no noise from the station. It was very quiet. Overall, I give the hotel 3.5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining, ocean all within short distances.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 21, 2007

Great Service and Great Price

Hotel service was excellant from begining to the end. Loved the quality and comfort of the rooms. The workout room had up to date equiptment and plenty of choices to get in your exercise. Not a lot of amentities as the restaurant was in the process of being completed. Overall, with the price , how nice the rooms were, and the amazing service. You can't ask for more. It was in easy walking distance to all the local sights and the conventions center. So you can't go wrong with this hotel if you are looking for a lower price on a weekend for business or for couples. Not geared toward kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to Horton plaza and great restaurants

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
May 28, 2008

Wonderful! Great Location!

When I walked in to my room at the Sofia, I thought I'd stay forever! It was beautiful and very comfortable! Yeah, smaller than the average hotel, but I did manage to pack 5 people in a Queen bed room (3 on the bed and 2 on the floor). Perfect for fun or relaxation. It's about 3 miles from the airport(SAN) which equals about a $12 cab ride. I'd deffinatly sugest The Sofia! Perfect for Fun, Relaxation, or Bussiness. No pool, though. -tear

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Air Craft carrier muesum is just a few Blocks to the west of the sofia. It was a very interesting and educational. Also, Horton Plaza (shoping mall w/ dining & theater) is 2 blocks East and 1 block South of the sofia

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 22, 2008

Very nice and charming hotel

The Sophia Hotel is a very good choice for those who want an easy access to San Diego best. It's almost near everything, tramway, restaurant, shopping, museum, the Gaslamp quarter etc. The hotel is located in an historical building, greatly restored, with all the modern commodities. For the passionate of heritage and architecture, there's a lot of informations about the history of the building. Will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Gasslamp Quarter, restaurant, art gallery, bar ... And the Contemporary Museum, at least go the museum store.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Hope
Business
Texas, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great hotel

Loved the hotel, great location, clean rooms, great price for the area! A little noisy at night with the police sirens but overall relaxing stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Jun 28, 2008

My review of The Sofia Hotel

hotel pet friendly, but never heard a barking dog. veny nice modern decor. easy walk to gaslamp distric, train depot and harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Oakland, CA
Jul 23, 2008

good choice for business or pleasure

This is a well-maintained, well-designed hotel in a central downtown location. It was a pleasure to stay at The Sofia. I felt secure and taken care of while I was there. The furnishings are quality and they created a subtly stylish atmoshpere. The room was small, but it didn't detract from the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Borders, movie theater, Horton Plaza shopping all within a few blocks

Back to menu Return to top