$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
330 reviews
Another wonderful stay at the Sofia!

This was our second time staying and once again the Sofia exceeded our expectations. We would... See full review

  • Jadie
  • Nov 23, 2014
Great location, wonderful value!

We stayed at The Sofia on Halloween and had a wonderful time. It's right in the gaslamp so going... See full review

  • Jadie
  • Nov 2, 2014
Sophisticated elegance in Gaslamp with business center and yoga
The Sofia Hotel was designed for business travelers. Guests enjoy the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. Other convenience-oriented amenities in this sophisticated and elegant property include mini refrigerators, laptop-sized in-room safes and more. Situated on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotel features breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. The on-site restaurant, Currant Brasserie, serves French-inspired cuisine. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property.
Highlights
  • 24-hour business center, fitness center and yoga center
  • In-room mini refrigerator
  • Located steps from the Gaslamp Quarter and the waterfront
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
Rooms

The Sofia Hotel offers 211 rooms, including six suites which are sparsely decorated, but elegant nevertheless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave oven, MP3 docking station, laptop-sized safe, hairdryer and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Sofia Hotel dates back to 1926, when it opened as the Pickwick. It closed in 2006, underwent extensive renovations and reopened in 2008 as the Sofia. Along the way, the property was inducted into the National Trust Historic Hotels of America.

Today, guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. The yoga studio offers classes in a number of different styles, complimentary to guests. The Sofia Hotel also boasts an on-site spa which offers a variety of treatments inspired by the Far East (fees apply). The hotel even offers on site pet-care services through a local Dogs and the City outpost (fees apply).

Currant Brasserie, the on-site restaurant, serves a mix of American and French style brasserie dishes, along with inventive cocktails and desserts.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • Petco Park (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space to accommodate up to 90 people
  • Global videoconferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Guest must be at least 18 years old and should bring valid ID and credit card to check in to the hotel.
  • Valet parking fee is $34.
  • The guest service fee is $8.75 ($9.85 with tax and assessments). The fee includes the following: Property-wide Wi-Fi and Ethernet Internet access, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Yoga Studio, Scheduled yoga classes (please check with the hotel for times), 24-hour Business Center, Unlimited local and toll-free telephone calls, 2 in-room bottled waters, HBO and ESPN, Guided Walking Tours (Weekends, weather permitting), In-room coffee and condiments, Lobby Newspapers (USA Today), "Urban Cruiser' bicycle use with helmets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (330)

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPLA
Business
AUSTIN TEXAS
Aug 23, 2013

Sofia Hotel San Diego

I enjoyed the location, the staff, the decor, the downtown ease of walking to great restaurants. The view from my room was all that was lacking. My daughter lives two blocks away and it was great fun meeting her for happy hour and dinners! I did not need a rental car and a cab was always available. I do not recommend a connection via SFO as it was fogged in and I missed my flight but all went well later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Little Italy for lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
randomnickname112
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2014

Great non-chain option

Very friendly staff, fun factoids (with black and white pictures) about the history of the building on the lamps on each floor, free bike rentals if you want them, the usual basics for free (gym/wifi/coffee), a nice little bar/restaurant attached. Great location too -- easily walkable to the Gaslamp Quarter and to Little Italy, and a bit longer but manageable walk to/from Balboa Park. We'd probably stay here again if we return to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1sttimeinSD
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 4, 2014

Great!

Staff was very helpful and accommodated all of my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves a deal Jen
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 1, 2011

Great hotel for a city experience

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sofia while in town for a wedding, which the first time that either of us had visited San Diego. We loved the location! It was close to the wedding, but also close to the Gaslamp Quarter, which was perfect for getting drinks and going out to dinner with friends. It was within walking distance to a harbor tours and it's a quick cab ride to the zoo and Old Town. The restaurant downstairs, Currant, had a great happy hour and we enjoyed having brunch there. The hotel itself was great--everything was super modern and clean. The gym was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was small (we expected this from reading other reviews), but even in our 5 night stay, we weren't bothered by the size, because it was a very functional design. One drawback we noticed was the high charge for valet parking. There may have been alternatives in the area, but since the main purpose of our stay was to visit friends, we chose to forgo having a car and stick to hanging out in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Spring Island, B.C., Canada
Feb 11, 2010

A-1 hotel!

This heritage renovated hotel was a treasure to find from the classic decor to the first class service. The location was only steps to the Horton Plaza, a pleasant walk to the Seaside Village and a very short and inexpensive taxi/shuttle to the Cruise Terminal and Airport. The restaurant/bar onsite was super for both Happy Hour menu and a well served array of breakfast choices. [...] it would definitely be our first choice if we return to San Diego. We have already recommended it to others and have no doubt that they will enjoy their stay. If there is any downside at all, it is just the Greyhound Terminal that shares the block....just request a CityView room which is the opposite side of the hotel from the bus parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk 2 - 3 blocks to the Gaslight district for a plethora of restaurants and galleries. You can spend hours there or just catch a quick lunch or dinner at one of the streetside cafes and watch the passing people. Just south of Horton Plaza and one block toward the harbour was a great little breakfast/lunch place called Cafe 222. Great service at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Feb 22, 2010

It was a really nice mini vacation.

It was a really nice mini vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2007

Elegance and Comfort

The Sofia Hotel is a beautifully refurbished historic hotel. From the lobby to the rooms, a quiet elegance creates a soothing, welcoming atmosphere. The bed was wonderfully comfortable - excellent quality mattress and cozy comforter to snuggle under. The accessible room in which we stayed featured a well-designed bathroom with plenty of room to manuever. The Sofia is within walking distance to the Gaslamp District and the harbor. The Amtrak station is 4 blocks from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed two wonderful meals at the just-opened Jonathan Pflueger's CURRANT restaurant, adjacent to the Sofia Hotel. Try the fruit tacos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 28, 2007

Great location, good price

Sofia is centrally located to everything in downtown San Diego. Lots of shops and dining options. Its very modern interior as its been renovated recently. I got a suite but I heard normal rooms are pretty small and the desk is not too big for us business travellers. But for the price, its a very good options as most other hotels in the area are not as nice and more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to Gaslamp district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 16, 2008

Great hotel for downtown San Diego

This was my first visit to California, and I am glad that I stayed at the Sofia Hotel. It was within walking distance of everything that my friend and I were wanting to do. We did not have a car for the trip, but because the hotel had such a central location it was easy to get around, whether it was on foot or getting on the metro and taking it around the city. The hotel staff were definitely there to help in any way that they could. The whole experience here was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Running Springs, CA
Aug 2, 2008

Clean and comfortable

This hotel was really impressive. The rooms were small but very cozy and nice. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. From the valet to the check out, they were great! It was a great location. A couple of blocks from gaslamp and clean inside and out! Great hotel, highly recommeded. This is where I'll stay from now on when I'm in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The whole strip is great at night and lots of shopping across the street in the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top