$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 11, 2009

Very modern, small rooms

The Sofia hotel is chic and modern with old world flair. It's a very old building completely modernized in the inside all except the size of the rooms of course. The inside of the hotel is very nice and almost has a Zen feel to it. The staff at the front desk were nice as well as the maid service who all did a great job. My one complaint would be like I said the small rooms as well as the shower. If your tall or like a large bathroom you may want to look elsewhere. It was sooo small (maybe 4x 4 1/2ft)and since there was only half a glass wall for the shower whenever someone took a shower you had a flood in the bathroom. Oh yeah, be aware of the expensive parking at $28 a night at the hotel. The hotel was centrally located to everything in downtown which was great. It was a few blocks to Petco Park, across the street from the mall and not to far from the Gaslamp ditrict.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a car or are renting don't pay for the parking at the hotel find parking elsewhere it's cheaper. Read the signs and check on the street parking and oposite side of the street cleaning rules. It will save you lots of money!!! A few blocks within walking distance is a parking lot where it's by the hour check that out as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
May 11, 2009

great hotel, terrible parking

The hotel is quite nice, it is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The only negative about this hotel is the parking. All parking is valet only and it costs $28.00 per day, which is pricey, even for San Diego. It is also very easy to overlook. Around the hotel are only one-way streets which can get frustrating if you are trying to find the parking area. Other than that it was an excellent experience with comfortable and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dobbs and the Yard House and great places to eat all within a very short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wind Woman
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Cute and convenient

The Sophia was located right in the Gaslamp district and was a much more affordable option than the conference hotel a block away. The lobby is nothing impressive but the room itself was very nicely appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and I appreciated the sheets around the blanket so I felt like it was really clean unlike most hotel bedspreads. The room was small like many other reviews said, but I didn't find it to be a problem. There was just enough space and they used it very efficiently. The fitness center is open 24 hours and has personal tv's at each piece of aerobics equipments. There's also a yoga studio. Wireless internet is free in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jan 19, 2010

Just Right

Our trip to San Diego was for vacation purposes. The Sofia Hotel worked out perfect for us because of its location and thier friendly staff. The hotel was very beautiful and historic. The room was small but since we were never in the room it was just right for sleeping. The hotel was close to the aiport, mall, public transportation and some of the popular destinations in downtown San Diego. I would highly recommend this hotel for someone looking not to spend much but still get a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 24, 2010

Great hotel - small rooms

Business travel so was not at the hotel much. Very friendly staff. Great locations. Rooms were nicely updated, however, they were extremely small. I doubt that I would stay there again because I loke a larger room with a larger bath and counter area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pferdmadchen
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 16, 2010

Great Hotel

Sofia was a great hotel, especially for the price. It had a convenient location for downtown and the convention center. The rooms are attractive, quiet and very comfortable with a fridge and microwave. Nice modern decoration and facilities. Restaurant downstairs had tasty food and drink choices for reasonable prices [reasonable in San Diego that is..]. Highly recommend it. Rooms are on the small side, so if you are someone who needs alot of space, then you may want one of their bigger rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victorville, CA
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful

Incredibly beautiful. Rooms were emaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Gaslamp District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anndy B
Business
Fallbrook, CA
Aug 14, 2011

great spot...a little small but overall really nice

My husband and I stayed at the Sofia Hotel for our 5-year anniversary. We didn't know ahead of time that you had to pay for valet cause there were no other parking options for the hotel. The hotel itself is very lovely and the decor was very modern! We stayed in just a standard double bed room - bed was really comfortable but the room was super crammed. Great spot to walk straight into the Gaslamp for loads of activities and food. the Currant Restaurant was very enjoyable and just down stairs. Overall very nice experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zibilith
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 16, 2010

Cute and efficient hotel

This is a hotel with an eye for detail, which I appreciate. The room was small, but that wasn't a problem for us. The shower would be too small for a larger/taller person though. We were happy with the comfy bed and central location. The hotel was walking distance from the waterfront and Balboa Park (if you're willing to walk a mile or so). The staff were very helpful and the lobby was a relaxing place to sit and talk or use the internet for free. I really liked the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina, CA
Jul 28, 2011

Perfect Location

We were right in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter and the Bay. It was a beautiful little hotel with updated decor. The only thing was that there were no shower doors that closed. Just a glass that didnt keep all the water in the shower, but was easily fixed with a couple of extra towels. We would most defintiely stay there the next time we head out to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top