$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAVE. J
Business
DC
Oct 3, 2012

Convient location, friendly staff

Stayed at the Sofia Hotel for 4 nights for a convention in San Diego. Very pleased with the stay - the location is close to everything (airport $15 by taxi, convention center, harbor, etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful - I had a package sent prior to my arrival and the bellman took good care of it and when I sent it back to home, they took care of it as well. The room was neat, clean and well furnished. Free Wifi was available. The only cons was the room was small compared to other 4-star hotels; however, it's understandable for its prime location. All in all, we were happy with our stay at the Sofia Hotel in SD. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baltimorian23
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 1, 2013

Just Okay

I must say the service at the hotel was great. The best thing the hotel offered was a free morning walking tour of the city. I loved this. On the other hand the walls are very thin. We could hear our neighbors crying baby at 6 am on the first morning so we moved to another room (we did get upgraded) but we could hear our neighbors there tooo. No bueno. The rooms are very small but I expected that. Also the bathroom showers dont have a door so water leaks on the floor. Unacceptable. Bonus: The restaurant in the hotel was very yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Currant is Yummy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glenngaryliu
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 14, 2013

Good Hotel in Great Location

The overall experience in the hotel was great. The location was great. 5 minute walk to the gaslamp and 10 minute walk to the convention center. Staff was friendly and courteous. The only complaints were that the rooms were small and you could hear a lot of the outside noises. So if you are travelling with children might want a hotel that has bigger rooms. You have to pay a $7 required facility fee but that gets you free WiFi in the rooms and 2 free bottles of water a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESdiego
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 4, 2013

ESdiego

I wasn't there much but it was pleasant while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ToriSure13
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 24, 2013

Too Small

Overall experience was good. Staff was very helpful and friendly. However the rooms are extremely small. Little too pricey for the amount of space given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NK2005
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 24, 2013

Wonderful, quaint hotel

We stayed here for one night. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Classy building!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pasadena Ana
Business
pasadena
Sep 22, 2013

small pretty rooms

The Sofia Hotel is a very well located hotel, it is generally ok to stay for a night,.it is pretty but rooms are extremely small. I found it very uncomfortable to shower and even to locate my suitcase and move around in the room. I enjoyed the location, for my next trip i would prefer to try a new hotel rather than repeating in this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard rock cafe has nice attraction, the bar is fun and has good music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tara time
Business
Long beach, California
Sep 16, 2013

Girltime getaway

Overall, it was ok. Nothing too big or out of the ordinary. Expected the hotel to be a lot bigger and with a pool, but no luck. Maybe next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yoli.boli
Business
San Diego, ca
Sep 3, 2013

Nice boutique hotel

I enjoyed my stay even though it was a small room. What was a little frustrating was that valet parking is all the offer and it $30, and that check in is at 4pm and check out is 11am. Everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buon apetite in little italy was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gcvhair
Business
san diego
Sep 2, 2013

Cute little hotel!

The hotel was very cute & clean! Great location and a perfect room for the night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPLA
Business
AUSTIN TEXAS
Aug 23, 2013

Sofia Hotel San Diego

I enjoyed the location, the staff, the decor, the downtown ease of walking to great restaurants. The view from my room was all that was lacking. My daughter lives two blocks away and it was great fun meeting her for happy hour and dinners! I did not need a rental car and a cab was always available. I do not recommend a connection via SFO as it was fogged in and I missed my flight but all went well later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Little Italy for lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top