$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2014 Check-out: May 16, 2014

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
297 reviews
Great!

Staff was very helpful and accommodated all of my needs. See full review

  • 1sttimeinSD
  • Mar 4, 2014
Great non-chain option

Very friendly staff, fun factoids (with black and white pictures) about the history of the building... See full review

  • randomnickname112
  • Jan 4, 2014
Sophisticated elegance in Gaslamp with business center and yoga
The Sofia Hotel was designed for business travelers. Guests enjoy the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. Other convenience-oriented amenities in this sophisticated and elegant property include mini refrigerators, laptop-sized in-room safes and more. Situated on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotel features breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. The on-site restaurant, Currant Brasserie, serves French-inspired cuisine.
Highlights
  • 24-hour business center, fitness center and yoga center
  • In-room mini refrigerator
  • Located steps from the Gaslamp Quarter and the waterfront
Rooms

The Sofia Hotel offers 211 rooms, including six suites which are sparsely decorated, but elegant nevertheless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, MP3 docking station, laptop-sized safe and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Sofia Hotel dates back to 1926, when it opened as the Pickwick. It closed in 2006, underwent extensive renovations and reopened in 2008 as the Sofia. Along the way, the property was inducted into the National Trust Historic Hotels of America.

Today, guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. The yoga studio offers classes in a number of different styles, complimentary to guests. The Sofia Hotel also boasts an on-site spa which offers a variety of treatments inspired by the Far East (fees apply). The hotel even offers on site pet-care services through a local Dogs and the City outpost (fees apply).

Currant Brasserie, the on-site restaurant, serves a mix of American and French style brasserie dishes, along with inventive cocktails and desserts.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • Petco Park (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space to accommodate up to 90 people
  • Global videoconferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7162 -117.1644
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego's greatest urban retreat walking distance to the historical Gaslamp Quarter, PetCo Park, Broadway Pier, San Diego Convention Center and Sea Port Village. Just minutes from all San Diego's most popular activities including San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World San Diego and the white sandy beaches.

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
297 out of 297
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Oregon Frequent Traveler
Coos Bay, Oregon
Sep 12, 2012

A Special Hotel

I continue to come back to this hotel, it is central to most places to shop, eat, and conference. Staff are excellent. It's a top notch hotel. I have one concern; as a customer I do not like paying the fee for the hotel fitness center when as a guest I do not use it! What gives with this?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk beyond the main streets and you will find some very interesting and excellent places to eat.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Dan dan
West chester, pa
Sep 1, 2012

Great

Couldn't have asked for more. Great location to everything downtown and transportation. Nice rooms, nice staff. Business center was good. Will def be back if in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus transportation is great. Don't rent a car and pay 30/day. 5/day for bus and they come quickly. Or take a cab.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
SCM82110
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 24, 2012

Cute hotel close to San Diego attractions!

The hotel staff was very friendly. The room was a bit small, but it's to be expected for the area. They had modern upgrades in the room and the gym and yoga studio were amazing! This is the first hotel I've ever seen with an actual yoga studio. The hotel was on the border of the gas lamp quarter. Petco park was a 12 minute walk, the ferries to and from Coronado island were about a 10 minute walk and is close to tons of restaurants and shops. The only down side is the fact that the hotel is close to services for the homeless. But as San Diego is a bigger city, this just comes with the territory. I gave the hotel staff a 4 out of 5 becasue we had requested extra towels and it had taken what seemed longer than needed and was holding us up on the rest of our plans for that day. Overall, a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Kindra S.
Beaumont, California
Aug 22, 2012

DAMAGED MY VEHICLE

The valets ($30, by the way), Damaged my new vehicle and the company they contract with said the they asked the valet- he said he didn't do it, so its not their fault. Don't stay here- the rooms are tiny and there were dogs yapping at me ALL NIGHT, plus the neighbors had a party- I know because I heard EVERY WORD through the wall. On top of that, it wasn't cheap- you can stay at a WAY nice hotel down the street and NOT have this problem with your vehicle getting damaged. Also, in all SIX of the rooms my family booked the TV's didn't work. Super fun. On the plus side, the room was clean, and the staff was polite-- until I noticed the damage on my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Firstimer in Brussels
Business
Madrid
Aug 20, 2012

Good place to attend activities at the Convention Center

The reception staff was fine and the cleaning ladies were just great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp area restaurants are just across the street. Safe area. Mall very close.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
G in MN
Twin Cities, MN
Aug 10, 2012

Awesome

Went to San Diego for conference. Started with wonderful reception staff. Room we had was smallish but incredibly stylish and clean! 3 types of glass glasses as well as in room refrigerator. Workout room was great and clean. Restaurant was wonderful - best meal we had in San Diego. Avacodo coated in panko and then fried topped with crab! Bus from airport travels up and down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Amazing food at the hotel restaurant.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
vinnyc2012
queens, new york
Aug 8, 2012

Very Good

My stay at the Sofia hotel was good for 3 nights. They had friendly staff and the hotel was not crowded. There is a very good dinning right in the hotel. I ate a good portion of my meals there. If your renting a car, it's 30 bucks a night parking in a public lot next door or for the same price they valet it. The room was nice, though a bit small. I wasn't overly impressed, but it was modern and kept clean, I enjoyed the fact they had a gym on the second floor with good equipment for cardio. I went to a few ballgames at petco which is like a 15 minute walk. And the hotel is like 3 blocks from all the nightlife in the gaslamp. I'd recommend this place for a short stay. If your looking to party or for bells and whistles you might want to check out somewhere else. If you want cozy and quiet for a decent price this is the place for you. p.s. this is not ny the beaches so if your plan on going get a car or plan on paying for taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
GIS dude
Business
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Jul 30, 2012

Nice place

I have stayed at the Sofia a number of times and have had a good experience each time. The rooms are nice and I like the older style decor. The new daily fee for Internet and 2 bottled waters (which you get only if you wish to have maid service) was a little annoying and took away from the value that you usually get at this hotel. I would stay again but beware of the daily service fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good food just a couple of blocks away in the Gaslamp District

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
GISSean
Business
Reno, Nevada
Jul 27, 2012

Conference Stay

Very nice hotel, helpful friendly staff. Great location within walking distance of the Convention center and restaurants. Small rooms, but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Monkeyd
Business
San diego
Jul 26, 2012

The Sofia Hotel

I recently stayed at The Sofia Hotel for a conference and I was not impressed by any means. I read a bunch of reviews prior to booking my hotel that were positive and I was so disappointed not to have the same experience. The room was super small, way smaller than I expected, I couldn't adjust the thermostat to make the room cooler either. When I first walked into the bathroom the toilet was still dirty from a previous quest which totally disgusted me. In addition there was hair from a previous guest on the bathroom floor and also in a little tray that had hand soap and mouth wash in it. I then discovered when going to bed that there was dried blood on the comforter from a previous guest so I threw the comforter on the floor. The last issue I had was in the morning when I was going to blow dry my hair in front of the mirror in the small area designated for getting ready. The only outlet there stopped working. The GFI was popped out so I pushed it back in, the outlet still didn't work. I then had to blow dry my hair using the outlet over by the TV where there was no mirror to use. I was so upset about my experience so when checking out I told two people at the front desk about everything except for I left out the part about all the hair on the floor and not being able to adjust the thermostat. All they said was we are sorry and they would inform housekeeping. After leaving the hotel I was really bummed about my experience, I wasn't looking to be reimbursed for the room but maybe throw in a day of parking for all my issues. I decided to go back later that day and I told the same story to two other employees and they did end up comping me one days parking. You would think when paying $161.74 a night in addition to $30 a day for parking plus some other junk fee of about $8 the experience would be a lot better. The only true positive thing I have to say about this hotel is the valet, they were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top