$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Chick Jane
Business
Anaheim, California
Jul 21, 2014

Great Gaslamp Location

Very small rooms, but very clean and well planned. Can't best the location. Valet parking $30 but most hostels in Gaslamp are $40 so good deal. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Khamla
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 3, 2014

A very nice stay in San Diego

The Sofia was the perfect place for my short stay in San Diego. It was close to all the best restaurants and entertainment in San Diego so I didn't need to pay extra for a cab to get anywhere. It's also on the bus line that goes to Coronado Beach, which only 30 minutes via bus. The front desk clerk even provided me with a bus pass, which I used to go to the beach and got to see more of the city. Another great amenity they have there is are the free bike rentals. They don't have too many bikes, so if you're interested in seeing San Diego via bike, get there early in the morning. The restaurant also has very good breakfast. I later found out that it's one of the best restaurants in town. If I'd known earlier I would've gone for dinner. Overall, this was an awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right next Gaslamp district, the entertainment district of San Diego, which is only a short walk away. In addition, there are some very good places in Little Italy, that is only a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA Cheryl
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 23, 2014

Great hotel!

The only draw back to this property is that the rooms are very small. But they are well furnished and very clean. It's a great location at the edge of the Gaslamp District and I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Braeden
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Jun 13, 2014

Overall Great

The hotel is in a great location and the staff was wonderful. There were a few non-negotiable misc. charges of $8/night that was not posted on the website that we did not learn of until we were at the hotel which was frustrating. However, the hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and it is located in a wonderful spot between the gaslamp quarter and the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rorie Mosha
Business
Redmond, WA
Jun 5, 2014

Running San Diego Rock And Roll

Stayed there for a night to run the San Diego Rock and Roll Marathon. Checked in Saturday morning, the staff was friendly and quick. The room was clean and quiet. It is close from the convention center. Close to the glass lamp district . Close to Balboa park where the race starts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee Las Vegas
Business
Las Vegas
May 6, 2014

Nice Spot

Sofia is a great little hotel. Loved the in-room fridge and microwave. nice gym!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ImEatingPieForDinner
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 23, 2014

Romantic Weekend

What a wonderful atmosphere! I love the room we stayed in. The color scheme, the modern touches with the honor to the hotel's history, It was the perfect mix. I absolutely adored the weekend i spent with my boyfriend there and would absolutely recommend it to others. The room was my favorite. And the elevators are so tiny and cute! My only complaint was the valet. My boyfriend and i had to check out at 0500 and the valet was very rude. Otherwise, it's a super cute place for a cozy getaway with the love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize public parking elsewhere if you're able. Parking at this hotel is $30 for 24hrs and $25 For 9hrs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robiot
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Last minute weekend getaway~

The location is in the heart of downtown San Diego so that was awesome. Pros: lots of places were walking distance, amenities like 2 water bottles per day, free bike rentals, and free internet were included for a reasonable fee. Cons: Since the only rooms available had only 1 bed, I requested a King bed so that my friend and I could sleep comfortably. They ran out of king beds so we were upgraded to a "suite" with a queen bed. The so-called suite was tiny. I can't imagine how uncomfortably small a regular room would have been. The floors were uneven in certain parts of the room which was strange. If you're not planning to spend a lot of the time in the room, this hotel will be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Currant... YUM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Public health observer
Business
CA
Apr 21, 2014

Not up to expectation

The hotel gave the expired coffee and Condiments dated before "19 Feb. 2013", which could harm the guest who did drink the coffee and use the condiments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tender Greens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClayArtist
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 6, 2014

Historic & Hip Charm

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sofia. The staff was super nice from the minute I arrived thru to checkout. I had a drink in the restaurant/lounge, Currants, and that was positive too. Plus there is a Tender Greens restaurant and a Coffee Bean on the same block which was handy. Lots of other great restaurants are an easy walk. The room was very well appointed. Being a historic hotel it is a bit on the small size as others have mentioned, but it was not a problem for me. My only complaint, and it is pretty minor, was that the room a/c made the room too cool when it cycled on and then too hot otherwise. I know, first world problem. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is the Spreckles Theatre. It's an old theatre from 1012 that has been restored and now has some great shows. Check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top