$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peetz
Business
San Diego
Oct 18, 2014

Comfortable & convenient

Comfortable, cute boutique hotel with modestly-sized yet cared-for rooms. Sofia is located right at the top end of San Diego's night life area. Walking distance to the waterfront, Little Italy, Balboa Park, Petco Park. Plenty of choice nearby for food, drinks. It is a winner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spike Africa's - Fresh fish grill & bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaz.
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 13, 2014

Great location

Location was perfect, we we're able to walk to Gas Lamp district and Little Italy for great food and entertainment. Just a couple of blocks to San Diego bay for a bike ride to Sea Port Village. The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The air conditioner was a bit noisy but I'm a very light sleeper so it may not bother most people. Breakfast was really good at the Currant and the bar was nice. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Decutlas
Business
Australia
Oct 12, 2014

San Diego for work

Hotel was good value, in a good location and staff were very friendly. Only surprise was the extra $9 service charge per day charged on top of what was pre-paid, and a $34 valet charge per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank the tank 1
Business
Downey, CA
Oct 10, 2014

A good place to stay at.

Everything is good about this hotel except the walls. They are a bit thin and you can hear loud noice from the room next door. Other than that everything is good. The hotel is very pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gaslamp Lou and Mickeys has great steaks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Lawer
Business
Casper WY
Sep 24, 2014

A lovely hotel with a great restaurant

I called and had no problems with a late arrival. The room was not particularly spacious and for two people it would have been a bit crowded, but the bed was oh so comfortable - the shower was amazing with a rain shower head directly from the ceiling. The amenities are amazing with free yoga classes, free bicycles, tours on the weekends. The restaurant attached had amazing food. - Really a very nice stay - Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LUcky SR
Business
Ca
Sep 8, 2014

Hotel review

The hotel is a few blocks from the main area of the gaslamp which is nice. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance from cheap to expensive. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The staff was all very helpful and welcoming. They bicycles you an borrow for 3 hours which was great to ride down to the ships and museum along the harbor and not worry about parking. We went to the farmers market in little Italy about 4 blocks away and had some good food and people watching. Yes the room are comfortable, but they are small. They do a good job with designing it so you have what you need all within that space. The hotel area is Great but our "city view" room looked out onto the courthouse which was not so wonderful. The hotel offers complimentary yoga a few times a week and has a yoga room and gym available to guests. I loved that! I will definitely stay here again. We got a great last min deal too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Other reviews said valet and self parking were the same price but it was actually $10 difference and the lot is right next to the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bertdrew17
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
Sep 2, 2014

Weekend getaway

Met my expectations, nice place just to relax all day in!! The only thing they might want to add, is a swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gas Lamp District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Spartan
Business
Arizona
Aug 30, 2014

Nice stay and great location

The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. The location is great...the Gaslamp Quarter is just a few blocks away and you can easily walk to the Midway Museum and Seaport Village. Ideal for a single or couple, but I can't image the rooms being large enough for a family. As for me, no complaints, I found it to be everything as advertised and the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beghan
Business
Torrance, CA
Aug 27, 2014

Quick overnight getaway

My fiance came down from L.A. for an overnight stay in San Diego to see friends and go to the Spirits Festival. The location is perfect for just walking around and exploring the gas lamp area and in close proximity to the water! The hotel itself is very small but that's all in it's charm. The room was on the smaller size but very clean and everything we needed was provided for. The little restaurant downstairs ended up being a great spot for happy and had EXCELLENT service! We would definitely consider this place on our next visit to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solo traveler detta
Business
Sayville ny
Aug 14, 2014

Amazing solo getaway

Wonderful in every-way! The currant bar and restaurant was amazing!!!. The hotel is charming and great location. Staff was wonderful and I weekends a tour of downtown is offered!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top