$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves a deal Jen
Couples
Washington, DC
Mar 1, 2011

Great hotel for a city experience

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sofia while in town for a wedding, which the first time that either of us had visited San Diego. We loved the location! It was close to the wedding, but also close to the Gaslamp Quarter, which was perfect for getting drinks and going out to dinner with friends. It was within walking distance to a harbor tours and it's a quick cab ride to the zoo and Old Town. The restaurant downstairs, Currant, had a great happy hour and we enjoyed having brunch there. The hotel itself was great--everything was super modern and clean. The gym was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was small (we expected this from reading other reviews), but even in our 5 night stay, we weren't bothered by the size, because it was a very functional design. One drawback we noticed was the high charge for valet parking. There may have been alternatives in the area, but since the main purpose of our stay was to visit friends, we chose to forgo having a car and stick to hanging out in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Salt Spring Island, B.C., Canada
Feb 11, 2010

A-1 hotel!

This heritage renovated hotel was a treasure to find from the classic decor to the first class service. The location was only steps to the Horton Plaza, a pleasant walk to the Seaside Village and a very short and inexpensive taxi/shuttle to the Cruise Terminal and Airport. The restaurant/bar onsite was super for both Happy Hour menu and a well served array of breakfast choices. [...] it would definitely be our first choice if we return to San Diego. We have already recommended it to others and have no doubt that they will enjoy their stay. If there is any downside at all, it is just the Greyhound Terminal that shares the block....just request a CityView room which is the opposite side of the hotel from the bus parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk 2 - 3 blocks to the Gaslight district for a plethora of restaurants and galleries. You can spend hours there or just catch a quick lunch or dinner at one of the streetside cafes and watch the passing people. Just south of Horton Plaza and one block toward the harbour was a great little breakfast/lunch place called Cafe 222. Great service at a great price.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Feb 22, 2010

It was a really nice mini vacation.

It was a really nice mini vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 18, 2007

Elegance and Comfort

The Sofia Hotel is a beautifully refurbished historic hotel. From the lobby to the rooms, a quiet elegance creates a soothing, welcoming atmosphere. The bed was wonderfully comfortable - excellent quality mattress and cozy comforter to snuggle under. The accessible room in which we stayed featured a well-designed bathroom with plenty of room to manuever. The Sofia is within walking distance to the Gaslamp District and the harbor. The Amtrak station is 4 blocks from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed two wonderful meals at the just-opened Jonathan Pflueger's CURRANT restaurant, adjacent to the Sofia Hotel. Try the fruit tacos!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 28, 2007

Great location, good price

Sofia is centrally located to everything in downtown San Diego. Lots of shops and dining options. Its very modern interior as its been renovated recently. I got a suite but I heard normal rooms are pretty small and the desk is not too big for us business travellers. But for the price, its a very good options as most other hotels in the area are not as nice and more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to Gaslamp district

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 16, 2008

Great hotel for downtown San Diego

This was my first visit to California, and I am glad that I stayed at the Sofia Hotel. It was within walking distance of everything that my friend and I were wanting to do. We did not have a car for the trip, but because the hotel had such a central location it was easy to get around, whether it was on foot or getting on the metro and taking it around the city. The hotel staff were definitely there to help in any way that they could. The whole experience here was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Running Springs, CA
Aug 2, 2008

Clean and comfortable

This hotel was really impressive. The rooms were small but very cozy and nice. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. From the valet to the check out, they were great! It was a great location. A couple of blocks from gaslamp and clean inside and out! Great hotel, highly recommeded. This is where I'll stay from now on when I'm in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The whole strip is great at night and lots of shopping across the street in the day.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Excellent value.

Very sleek and modern yet still had a personal charm. Great staff and with very reasonable rates, an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Coffee Bean in the building.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura, CA
Jul 15, 2008

very nice hotel

very nice hotel. The room is small, but bed is very comfortable, and the room was clean with a very nice decor. Close to shopping, restaurants, etc. Desk staff were very friendly and made a very good recommendation for breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

pancake house a few blocks up front street was great!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

Great boutique hotel

this was a great discovery. Perfectly located and great utilization of room space. I would recommend it to all my friends...We will certainly stay there again next time.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to the famous Gaslamp district for San Diego dining.

Back to menu Return to top