$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yamaris
Business
USA
Mar 8, 2008

San Diego Find

The Sofia was located just minutes from the convention center that I needed to walk to every morning and the location was very close to the downtown hot spots. I was impressd by the staff and the comfort of the hotel,even the lobby wifi was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and local entertainment were located just steps from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 11, 2008

Awesome for a weekend visit.

Perfectly situated between the Pier and the Gaslamp District, The Sofia Hotel is a comfortable and relaxing stay. And they give free water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 8, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

Couldn't get much better. My friend and I were just staying a few days in the area and found the location perfect for jumping on a bus to get to any of the local attractions or walking a couple blocks to the Gaslamp and eating/drinking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a bus pass. They pick up right by the hotel and get you whereever you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico
Apr 28, 2009

great service, fantastic place

I had a vacation trip and the hotel had a great service, it is well located and for a good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evander13
Business
Medford, Oregon
Oct 26, 2009

Great location

Friendly, efficient service and very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Gas Lamp district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Mar 18, 2010

Great hotel

Excellent staff and facility. Location in downtown San Diego is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves a deal Jen
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 1, 2011

Great hotel for a city experience

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sofia while in town for a wedding, which the first time that either of us had visited San Diego. We loved the location! It was close to the wedding, but also close to the Gaslamp Quarter, which was perfect for getting drinks and going out to dinner with friends. It was within walking distance to a harbor tours and it's a quick cab ride to the zoo and Old Town. The restaurant downstairs, Currant, had a great happy hour and we enjoyed having brunch there. The hotel itself was great--everything was super modern and clean. The gym was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was small (we expected this from reading other reviews), but even in our 5 night stay, we weren't bothered by the size, because it was a very functional design. One drawback we noticed was the high charge for valet parking. There may have been alternatives in the area, but since the main purpose of our stay was to visit friends, we chose to forgo having a car and stick to hanging out in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Spring Island, B.C., Canada
Feb 11, 2010

A-1 hotel!

This heritage renovated hotel was a treasure to find from the classic decor to the first class service. The location was only steps to the Horton Plaza, a pleasant walk to the Seaside Village and a very short and inexpensive taxi/shuttle to the Cruise Terminal and Airport. The restaurant/bar onsite was super for both Happy Hour menu and a well served array of breakfast choices. [...] it would definitely be our first choice if we return to San Diego. We have already recommended it to others and have no doubt that they will enjoy their stay. If there is any downside at all, it is just the Greyhound Terminal that shares the block....just request a CityView room which is the opposite side of the hotel from the bus parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk 2 - 3 blocks to the Gaslight district for a plethora of restaurants and galleries. You can spend hours there or just catch a quick lunch or dinner at one of the streetside cafes and watch the passing people. Just south of Horton Plaza and one block toward the harbour was a great little breakfast/lunch place called Cafe 222. Great service at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Feb 22, 2010

It was a really nice mini vacation.

It was a really nice mini vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2007

Elegance and Comfort

The Sofia Hotel is a beautifully refurbished historic hotel. From the lobby to the rooms, a quiet elegance creates a soothing, welcoming atmosphere. The bed was wonderfully comfortable - excellent quality mattress and cozy comforter to snuggle under. The accessible room in which we stayed featured a well-designed bathroom with plenty of room to manuever. The Sofia is within walking distance to the Gaslamp District and the harbor. The Amtrak station is 4 blocks from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed two wonderful meals at the just-opened Jonathan Pflueger's CURRANT restaurant, adjacent to the Sofia Hotel. Try the fruit tacos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top