$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
386 out of 386
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidi R.
Business
chicago
Feb 27, 2015

Amazing First Trip to San Diego

The Sofia Hotel is a very cute, boutique hotel right in the heart of downtown. The location was amazing for what we had planned for our trip. The room was small but we didn't spend much time in there anyway. There is a nice gym that can accommodate a quick work out as well. Parking was a bit steep - $34/night valet but I assume that is normal for the area. We loved being able to walk downtown to the bars and restaurants. What an amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan G.
Business
Beverly
Feb 24, 2015

Conference Attendee

The location was perfect both for the conference and after conference activities. Tender Greens, the resteraunt next door, was excellent and very reasonably priced. Staff were helpful and accommodating. The cable TV was temperamental but did not use it much anyway. The complementary bikes were a definite bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poley
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Charming and close to the action

The hotel is well situated on Broadway in downtown San Diego. Easy walk to Gaslamp and the Harbor. Its on public transportation about 15 min ride form the airport. Its also close to light rail to get to old town and south to Tijuana. The room was small and comfortable. There is a ~$10 "resort" fee which I hate these days since its not a resort but there are some good benefits that go with the fee such as bike rental, walking tour, wifi, water bottles, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gram
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Visiting relatives

hotel is very comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly. Location is fabulous. Overnight parking while it is a nice service I think it is very over priced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramjet5150
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Great Stay

I really liked this historic hotel. Quality staff, very clean. Small room (but is to be expected with an older hotel) and parking is expensive. But high marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baldBuck
Business
Harrisburg
Jan 25, 2015

Business Trip

Arrived at the hotel very late 10 pm west coast (1 am EST). It took 20 minutes to check in and the room was prepaid for. There was no one else there except for me checking in. Room is terribly small. If you like boutique type hotels this is for you. If you want space look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
412Traveler412
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 25, 2015

Amazing!

First of all I want to start off by saying anyone who tells you anything bad about this hotel is lying or is just and unpleasable person. We stayed from January 19th - 23rd 2015. At check in we were promptly greeted and asked if we would like a drink while we waiting for a concierge to assist us, we arrived early at the hotel so we had an hour before check in so they gave us a tour of all the bars,pools and restaurants the resort has to offer. At 3 o'clock we checked into our room, the air condition was blazing and the room was extremely clean. Absolutely every worker we came in contact with was over and beyond respectable and willing to do anything you'd ask for and never expected a tip or even a thank you. A few people stuck out to us as great workers especially Francisco Armas, he worked at the Deva/Piña Colada restaurant and I can't say enough good things about him, we had him for lunch and then later for dinner where he made us special Spanish drinks and gave us a beautiful fire show for desert, all unexpecting and I will say he has a huge part in why we decided to write our 1st review and we travel at least once a month.. So I never once felt hassled like the Caribbean or Bahamas, if someone offered you something and replied "no gracias" they would simply say ok and move on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar M.
Business
Burbank
Jan 23, 2015

It was a great saty

Small rooms but clean . Parking was very expensive . THey forced me to write 50 characters in this review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gilbertovgx
Business
Cuernavaca
Jan 20, 2015

going on congress

Is very good place to stay because it's really close from different places in San Diego. Bus stop is close and also train stations. Staff was kind and were able to talk in Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a public transport card for money saving.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
business traveler
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

good hotel, best value in gaslamp

Staff was good, helpful. Rooms are small but have everything you need. Downtown blocks are very small, so it is an easy walk to everywhere, like Horton square, the restaurants on fourth, and the shorefront

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The speakeasy bar has a great blues band, The little kings, playing some nights.

Back to menu Return to top