$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lucky 22
Business
Studio City, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Chic and Convenient

I stayed here with my boyfriend because we were in town visiting a friend. We loved the design of the room and are even considering decorating our apartment in a similar fashion. The Currant restaurant was very good for dinner and I had a chance to test out the workout facility in the morning. It was spacious and had a nice selection of free weights and body bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 6, 2010

The Sofia Hotel-Nice and Quaint

We were looking to enjoy downtown San Diego and were able to do that since The Sofia Hotel was in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of great restaurants just a few blocks away on 5th Street.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Apr 1, 2010

great experience

Great service & modern hotel decor. The rooms are small, but it's a boutique renovated hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Value Shopper Claire
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 26, 2010

Nice hotel at a nice price

I had notified the hotel that I would be checking in late, however when I checked in late, they did not have the room (two beds) I had reserved and prepaid for. They "upgraded" us to a suite with one bed and a pullout couch. My friend and I were only there for about 8 hours so unfortunately as nice a gesture this was, we both wanted to sleep on mattresses and not a sofa bed (which is NOT a mattress). The first woman we spoke to didn't really understand our hesitation about the "upgrade" but the second woman that helped us was very apologetic and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has free coupons for breakfast at its in-hotel restaurant. We were not completely satisfied with our visit so we asked for free valet. Since the valet is not run by the hotel, they offered us free breakfast instead.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Mar 18, 2010

Great hotel

Excellent staff and facility. Location in downtown San Diego is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 15, 2010

Could have been better

Wow, were do I begin. The hotel has paper thin walls and we never got a restful night sleep. The staff is ambivalent at best - mostly young, unprofessional types. Did I mention the neighboorhood? Not only is the hotel within a block of a jail and about a dozen bail bond shops, but you can't leave the hotel without being panhandled or seeing homeless people sleeping on the streets. The latter is obviously more of a San Diego wide problem. The only saving graces to this hotel was the nice exercise/yoga room and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed, but soooo small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry frequent traveler to San Diego
Business
Coos Bay, Oregon.
Mar 7, 2010

Great Location

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times. It's worth returning to again and again. Excellent accomodations, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three restaurants - Operacafee - 835 Fourth Street (819-234-6538 they have some awesome homemade deserts. Rei Do Gado - Brazilian Steak House - excellent food and presentation. Currant Restaurant 140 West Broadway (619-702-6309)

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, Idaho
Mar 1, 2010

Exceptional

Very quiet, great location to convention center, great housekeping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Feb 22, 2010

It was a really nice mini vacation.

It was a really nice mini vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 22, 2010

great choice

the room decor was killer. we took pictures so we could use some of the design elements at home. the rooms were small but what do you expect for a older hotel? the hotel bar was great. great decor. great bartender. great drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top