$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Spring Island, B.C., Canada
Feb 11, 2010

A-1 hotel!

This heritage renovated hotel was a treasure to find from the classic decor to the first class service. The location was only steps to the Horton Plaza, a pleasant walk to the Seaside Village and a very short and inexpensive taxi/shuttle to the Cruise Terminal and Airport. The restaurant/bar onsite was super for both Happy Hour menu and a well served array of breakfast choices. [...] it would definitely be our first choice if we return to San Diego. We have already recommended it to others and have no doubt that they will enjoy their stay. If there is any downside at all, it is just the Greyhound Terminal that shares the block....just request a CityView room which is the opposite side of the hotel from the bus parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk 2 - 3 blocks to the Gaslight district for a plethora of restaurants and galleries. You can spend hours there or just catch a quick lunch or dinner at one of the streetside cafes and watch the passing people. Just south of Horton Plaza and one block toward the harbour was a great little breakfast/lunch place called Cafe 222. Great service at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westcoast
Feb 8, 2010

In the same building as the bus station

The room was small and noisy. The windows were single pain windows and you can hear everything. The heating and air-con was loud. The TV was small and limited channels for viewing. There is not much room to move around in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sforwt
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 4, 2010

Beautiful Property, First Class Service

Though we arrived several hours prior to check-in, we were provided a room (upgraded) upon arrival by a very warm and attentive front desk staff. Though the room, though small, was nicely appointed and spotless. Though quite there was the occasional blast of fire truck and ambulance sirens. This should be expected since this is a downtown hotel. The common areas of the hotel were also nicely appointed and well maintained. Each staff member that we contact seemed to be even friendlier and more accommodating than the last. The location is great. Smack dab in the middle of downtown in the gas lamp district, 1.5 blocks to the mall and a host of restaurants. The next time we are in San Diego we will be staying at the Sofia Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to check out the fabulous mall only 1 block from all of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach
Jan 28, 2010

Great location and hotel for the price

Older hotel that has been remodeled like new. The rooms are very small but well done. The restaurant and bar are first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 24, 2010

Great hotel - small rooms

Business travel so was not at the hotel much. Very friendly staff. Great locations. Rooms were nicely updated, however, they were extremely small. I doubt that I would stay there again because I loke a larger room with a larger bath and counter area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wind Woman
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Cute and convenient

The Sophia was located right in the Gaslamp district and was a much more affordable option than the conference hotel a block away. The lobby is nothing impressive but the room itself was very nicely appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and I appreciated the sheets around the blanket so I felt like it was really clean unlike most hotel bedspreads. The room was small like many other reviews said, but I didn't find it to be a problem. There was just enough space and they used it very efficiently. The fitness center is open 24 hours and has personal tv's at each piece of aerobics equipments. There's also a yoga studio. Wireless internet is free in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jan 19, 2010

Just Right

Our trip to San Diego was for vacation purposes. The Sofia Hotel worked out perfect for us because of its location and thier friendly staff. The hotel was very beautiful and historic. The room was small but since we were never in the room it was just right for sleeping. The hotel was close to the aiport, mall, public transportation and some of the popular destinations in downtown San Diego. I would highly recommend this hotel for someone looking not to spend much but still get a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAVI G
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 18, 2010

Perfectlocation forexperiencing SanDiego

I loved it! Very clean and modern GREAT location awesome staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 16, 2010

Excellent

Very friendly staff from check in to check out and consistent good service. Good service and friendly staff at restaurant and bar. i would definetely come back to stay in Sofia Hotel. Excellent location and it is located it the heart of downtown and you can get anywhere with public transportation from hotel. it is just five minutes walk to Gaslamp district and you can walk to seaport village as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kerri40
Business
northern ca
Jan 14, 2010

great hotel

from the moment I checked in I was treated wonderfully!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in the gas lamp,there is a faboulous restaurant called cafe sevilla,spanish food, it was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top