$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 15, 2010

Could have been better

Wow, were do I begin. The hotel has paper thin walls and we never got a restful night sleep. The staff is ambivalent at best - mostly young, unprofessional types. Did I mention the neighboorhood? Not only is the hotel within a block of a jail and about a dozen bail bond shops, but you can't leave the hotel without being panhandled or seeing homeless people sleeping on the streets. The latter is obviously more of a San Diego wide problem. The only saving graces to this hotel was the nice exercise/yoga room and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed, but soooo small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry frequent traveler to San Diego
Business
Coos Bay, Oregon.
Mar 7, 2010

Great Location

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times. It's worth returning to again and again. Excellent accomodations, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three restaurants - Operacafee - 835 Fourth Street (819-234-6538 they have some awesome homemade deserts. Rei Do Gado - Brazilian Steak House - excellent food and presentation. Currant Restaurant 140 West Broadway (619-702-6309)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, Idaho
Mar 1, 2010

Exceptional

Very quiet, great location to convention center, great housekeping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Feb 22, 2010

It was a really nice mini vacation.

It was a really nice mini vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 22, 2010

great choice

the room decor was killer. we took pictures so we could use some of the design elements at home. the rooms were small but what do you expect for a older hotel? the hotel bar was great. great decor. great bartender. great drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 22, 2010

We thought it was OK

My first impression about the Sofia Hotel is great. Valet parking although steep $30/night. Very friendly staff at check in, and free internet in their business office and free printing. However, we got to our room and it was pretty tiny for 3 people: two double beds and you could barely roll your suitcase in the room, no storage room, tiny closet, the tv is just a 20inch, and most shocking, NO SHOWER DOOR, the water was spraying outside the shower making the whole bathroom wet. Overall, a good stay in a modern hotel with a very friendly staff, just the rooms are tiny for even 2 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Horton Plaza and the gaslamp quarter for all sorts of food and great bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not so sleepy in Seattle
Business
Seattle
Feb 16, 2010

Great "little" hotel

The Sophia is a great "Little" hotel with the emphasis on little. Its great for the business traveler, but since the rooms are on the smaller side, I can't see it much a value for the family traveler. The small rooms, noisy AC system, and weird shower set-up are the only real complaints about the hotel. The hotel has a great location, very clean hotel, adequate fitness room, friendly staff, and was very cost effective. I would stay there again as a business traveler, but I would think twice if I was traveling with the family because of the size of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As I've indicated, the location of teh hotel is great. Great restaurants are a short walking distance away in the Gaslamp district. Ate at the Sushi Deli, Richard Walkers pancake house, Cafe 222, The Yardhouse, etc. All restaurants were in walking distance and there are fast food restaurants near by as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDREZA
Business
San Diego, Ca
Feb 15, 2010

Nice place just a little too compact

The hotel was very nice, beautiful presentation. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were small and compact, I felt a little cluster phobic. At check out one of the staff memebers informed us that they have suites available for only $75 more then what we paid, it would have been nice if we knew this before. Over all we have a faboulous time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MB -CityCenter Las Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Feb 15, 2010

slightly above average.

The hotel is nicely remodeled, with modernized sinks and interior designs. However, the showers do not have doors and the glass wall does not extend far enough so water sprays on to the floor. The televisions are rather small so dont plan on staying in and watching a movie. The staff is friendly and very professional, the beds are comfortable and everything that is needed is provided either in the room or just a call a way. The worst thing is the parking is $30.00 a night so if you stay for 3 nights its basically paying for 4 nights. I would not reccomend this hotel with regards to the parking because there is not any other parking options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, Texas
Feb 14, 2010

Nice, But...

Mandatory valet parking. Initially we were given a room that we had discovered someones things still in the room after we unloaded all our baggage. It was just a hassle. The room was very noisy. There must have been 8 screaming firetruck sirens go by at different times and woke us from sleep. You can hear your neighbor through the paper thin walls. The rooms are clean, but very small-only one person at a time can pass by (I'm 5'10" 170 lbs.). The shower didn't have a door so the floor gets wet. The air vents to the rooms were very dusty, so expect resiratory problems. Wireless Internet is an extra $9.99/day. I think they nickle and dime you. This place was too pricy compared to others here in San Diego. I would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top