$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
493 reviews
A very nice stay in San Diego

The Sofia was the perfect place for my short stay in San Diego. It was close to all the best... See full review

  • Khamla
  • Jul 3, 2014
Great!

Staff was very helpful and accommodated all of my needs. See full review

  • 1sttimeinSD
  • Mar 4, 2014
Sophisticated elegance in Gaslamp with business center and yoga
The Sofia Hotel was designed for business travelers. Guests enjoy the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. Other convenience-oriented amenities in this sophisticated and elegant property include mini refrigerators, laptop-sized in-room safes and more. Situated on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotel features breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. The on-site restaurant, Currant Brasserie, serves French-inspired cuisine. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property.
Highlights
  • 24-hour business center, fitness center and yoga center
  • In-room mini refrigerator
  • Located steps from the Gaslamp Quarter and the waterfront
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
Rooms

The Sofia Hotel offers 211 rooms, including six suites which are sparsely decorated, but elegant nevertheless. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave oven, MP3 docking station, laptop-sized safe, hairdryer and Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Sofia Hotel dates back to 1926, when it opened as the Pickwick. It closed in 2006, underwent extensive renovations and reopened in 2008 as the Sofia. Along the way, the property was inducted into the National Trust Historic Hotels of America.

Today, guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the 24-hour business and fitness centers and 24-hour health center with yoga studio. The yoga studio offers classes in a number of different styles, complimentary to guests. The Sofia Hotel also boasts an on-site spa which offers a variety of treatments inspired by the Far East (fees apply). The hotel even offers on site pet-care services through a local Dogs and the City outpost (fees apply).

Currant Brasserie, the on-site restaurant, serves a mix of American and French style brasserie dishes, along with inventive cocktails and desserts.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • Petco Park (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (5 mi/9 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space to accommodate up to 90 people
  • Global videoconferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $34.
  • The guest service fee is $8.75 ($9.85 with tax and assessments). The fee includes the following: Property-wide Wi-Fi and Ethernet Internet access, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Yoga Studio, Scheduled yoga classes (please check with the hotel for times), 24-hour Business Center, Unlimited local and toll-free telephone calls, 2 in-room bottled waters, HBO and ESPN, Guided Walking Tours (Weekends, weather permitting), In-room coffee and condiments, Lobby Newspapers (USA Today), "Urban Cruiser' bicycle use with helmets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7162 -117.1644
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego's greatest urban retreat walking distance to the historical Gaslamp Quarter, PetCo Park, Broadway Pier, San Diego Convention Center and Sea Port Village. Just minutes from all San Diego's most popular activities including San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World San Diego and the white sandy beaches.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sofia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Sofia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 Double Bed
One double bed non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
City Side Deluxe Queen Guest Room
One queen bed with views of the city. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Studio Suite
For those guests who require special accommodations, the Sofia offers special one room suites. Suites include one Queen bed in the sleeping area and one Queen Sleeper Sofa in the living area. Each guest suite is non-smoking and attention to details are everywhere. All Suites include fine linens, white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow-top mattresses, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over-sized signature bath sheets, convenient work stations with ergonomic chairs, flat screen televisions, and a refreshment center that houses a microwave and refrigerator. Suites are designed to reflect a comfortable, chic feel with natural influences intended to invoke a sense of harmony and balance. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe Double/Double Guest Room
The room offers 2 Double beds with fine linens white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilcrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make up mirrors, oversized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions. All the rooms are Non Smoking. Guests must be 21 years old to reserve a room.
Deluxe King Guest Room
One king bed. Each guest room is non smoking and features fine linens with white down comforters, plush pillows and pillow top mattress, Gilchrist & Soames Spa products and toiletries, separate vanities with lighted make-up mirrors, over sized signature bath sheets, convenient work station with ergonomic chairs and flat screen televisions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.1 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference + Business Centers Life on the road doesn't have to be hard for business travelers. Sofia's event space accommodates up to 88 individuals in a variety of ways, including conferences, lectures, private events and training sessions.

Dining

Currant American Brasserie
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 11:30am - Close Happy Hour: 3pm -6pm and 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9am - 2:30pm Lounge Menu: 2:30pm - Close Happy Hour: 3pm - 6pm; 9pm - Close Dinner: 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAVE. J
Business
DC
Oct 3, 2012

Convient location, friendly staff

Stayed at the Sofia Hotel for 4 nights for a convention in San Diego. Very pleased with the stay - the location is close to everything (airport $15 by taxi, convention center, harbor, etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful - I had a package sent prior to my arrival and the bellman took good care of it and when I sent it back to home, they took care of it as well. The room was neat, clean and well furnished. Free Wifi was available. The only cons was the room was small compared to other 4-star hotels; however, it's understandable for its prime location. All in all, we were happy with our stay at the Sofia Hotel in SD. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
May 20, 2010

Sofia Hotel was terrific!

Very friendly staff. Great location in downtown San Diego...walking distance to Horton Plaza and Gaslamp District. The standard room is very small but nicely appointed. I was moved into a suite because my TV reception was really bad in my first room. I thought that was very nice that they upgraded me. Great happy hour in attached restaraunt, Currant. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2010

GREAT HOTEL - Especially for pet lovers!

We were there for a birthday celebration and baseball games at PetCo Stadium so it was the perfect location to walk to everything we wanted to do. We parked the car and walked everywhere...great to not have the hassle of parking or driving - although the valet fee was a bit pricey but it was worth it. We had a fabulous romantic getaway (our suite) to retreat to when the games were done. Also, we LOVE pets and are very happy to see that the Sophia appreciates people like us and our "furbabies" =) I can't say enough about how wonderful and friendly the Sophia Hotel is!!! We will definitely return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Henry's Pub was our favorite place to be in the Gaslamp District - especially if you love New York, Finland, Purdue and great beer - you must give it a visit!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodger Fanatic
Woodland Hills, CA
May 17, 2010

Great for Couples Getting Away

Went down to San Diego to watch the Dodgers play the Padres. The hotel was walking distance to the ballpark and took you through the Gaslamp district which offers a great selection of restaurants and bars for pre and post games food and drinks. The rooms were very clean, but were very small, which was fine for myself and my wife, but would not work if you have children or more than 2 people. Since it was our first getaway in a while, we splurged and paid a small charge for an upgrade to a suite. Same size bedroom and queen bed, but an added living room for daytime relaxation. The only other thing that I think requires mentioning is the small tvs in the rooms. The regular room had a 20" widescreen, which made it seem even smaller. Unfortunately the suite was not much better, as it just added a second one of the same size in the living room. A larger tv probably would not have been much better since the reception quality was very poor. Overall I would recommend the Sofia if you want a decent, inexpensive hotel with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to Petco Park, taking you through the Gaslamp for dinner before the game and drinks after.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodger Fanatic
Woodland Hills, CA
May 17, 2010

Great for Couples Getting Away

Went down to San Diego to watch the Dodgers play the Padres. The hotel was walking distance to the ballpark and took you through the Gaslamp district which offers a great selection of restaurants and bars for pre and post games food and drinks. The rooms were very clean, but were very small, which was fine for myself and my wife, but would not work if you have children or more than 2 people. Since it was our first getaway in a while, we splurged and paid a small charge for an upgrade to a suite. Same size bedroom and queen bed, but an added living room for daytime relaxation. The only other thing that I think requires mentioning is the small tvs in the rooms. The regular room had a 20" widescreen, which made it seem even smaller. Unfortunately the suite was not much better, as it just added a second one of the same size in the living room. A larger tv probably would not have been much better since the reception quality was very poor. Overall I would recommend the Sofia if you want a decent, inexpensive hotel with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to Petco Park, taking you through the Gaslamp for dinner before the game and drinks after.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robrik
Business
Alabama
May 17, 2010

Easy Access

Easy walk to convention center, room was nice but small, no tub only shower. Close to mall for shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2010

GREAT HOTEL - Especially for pet lovers!

We were there for a birthday celebration and baseball games at PetCo Stadium so it was the perfect location to walk to everything we wanted to do. We parked the car and walked everywhere...great to not have the hassle of parking or driving - although the valet fee was a bit pricey but it was worth it. We had a fabulous romantic getaway (our suite) to retreat to when the games were done. Also, we LOVE pets and are very happy to see that the Sophia appreciates people like us and our "furbabies" =) I can't say enough about how wonderful and friendly the Sophia Hotel is!!! We will definitely return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Henry's Pub was our favorite place to be in the Gaslamp District - especially if you love New York, Finland, Purdue and great beer - you must give it a visit!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point, CA
May 15, 2010

Nice hotel

Very nice boutique hotel. Rooms were small but very nice. We had to upgrade to a suite but for the extra $30 bucks it was worth it. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point, CA
May 15, 2010

Nice hotel

Very nice boutique hotel. Rooms were small but very nice. We had to upgrade to a suite but for the extra $30 bucks it was worth it. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pomona, CA
May 12, 2010

Sofia in downtown San Diego

Great prices for a beautiful hotel, close to gas lamp and lots of restaurants. The only gripe that I was that there is a Greyhound Bus station near by and that leaves very "suspicious" characters nearby. Other than that, everything was great. Rooms are a bit on the smallside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pomona, CA
May 12, 2010

Sofia in downtown San Diego

Great prices for a beautiful hotel, close to gas lamp and lots of restaurants. The only gripe that I was that there is a Greyhound Bus station near by and that leaves very "suspicious" characters nearby. Other than that, everything was great. Rooms are a bit on the smallside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top