$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robrik
Business
Alabama
May 17, 2010

Easy Access

Easy walk to convention center, room was nice but small, no tub only shower. Close to mall for shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2010

GREAT HOTEL - Especially for pet lovers!

We were there for a birthday celebration and baseball games at PetCo Stadium so it was the perfect location to walk to everything we wanted to do. We parked the car and walked everywhere...great to not have the hassle of parking or driving - although the valet fee was a bit pricey but it was worth it. We had a fabulous romantic getaway (our suite) to retreat to when the games were done. Also, we LOVE pets and are very happy to see that the Sophia appreciates people like us and our "furbabies" =) I can't say enough about how wonderful and friendly the Sophia Hotel is!!! We will definitely return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Henry's Pub was our favorite place to be in the Gaslamp District - especially if you love New York, Finland, Purdue and great beer - you must give it a visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodger Fanatic
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
May 17, 2010

Great for Couples Getting Away

Went down to San Diego to watch the Dodgers play the Padres. The hotel was walking distance to the ballpark and took you through the Gaslamp district which offers a great selection of restaurants and bars for pre and post games food and drinks. The rooms were very clean, but were very small, which was fine for myself and my wife, but would not work if you have children or more than 2 people. Since it was our first getaway in a while, we splurged and paid a small charge for an upgrade to a suite. Same size bedroom and queen bed, but an added living room for daytime relaxation. The only other thing that I think requires mentioning is the small tvs in the rooms. The regular room had a 20" widescreen, which made it seem even smaller. Unfortunately the suite was not much better, as it just added a second one of the same size in the living room. A larger tv probably would not have been much better since the reception quality was very poor. Overall I would recommend the Sofia if you want a decent, inexpensive hotel with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to Petco Park, taking you through the Gaslamp for dinner before the game and drinks after.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point, CA
May 15, 2010

Nice hotel

Very nice boutique hotel. Rooms were small but very nice. We had to upgrade to a suite but for the extra $30 bucks it was worth it. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona, CA
May 12, 2010

Sofia in downtown San Diego

Great prices for a beautiful hotel, close to gas lamp and lots of restaurants. The only gripe that I was that there is a Greyhound Bus station near by and that leaves very "suspicious" characters nearby. Other than that, everything was great. Rooms are a bit on the smallside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmdale California
Apr 27, 2010

A little small

Room was very clean and nice but very small. Shower stall was interesting as it was only 1/2 enclosed so the toilet and floor would get all wet. Great service and the hotel resturant was very good. Would not recommend for more than a weekend stay or for a family stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indio, Ca
Apr 12, 2010

Great Hotel for single person or couple

We went for a concert and only needed a place for one nigt. It was a nice quick getaway without the kids. The hotel is beautiful and classy. Rooms are smaller than those in standard hotels but is relaxing and very clean, and chic. I do not recommend this hotel for families as the rooms are small. The bathroom does not have a tub and if you have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night you might disturb your partner as the door to the bathroom is framed frosted glass. This is a great establishment with friendly staff from check-in to Check-out. The overnight parking is $30, the same as many hotels in the area but at least the valet staff wash your car! The beds were so comfortable and the hotel was VERY quiet that resulted in some great snooze time! I would def recommend to anyone without kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lucky 22
Business
Studio City, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Chic and Convenient

I stayed here with my boyfriend because we were in town visiting a friend. We loved the design of the room and are even considering decorating our apartment in a similar fashion. The Currant restaurant was very good for dinner and I had a chance to test out the workout facility in the morning. It was spacious and had a nice selection of free weights and body bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 6, 2010

The Sofia Hotel-Nice and Quaint

We were looking to enjoy downtown San Diego and were able to do that since The Sofia Hotel was in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of great restaurants just a few blocks away on 5th Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Apr 1, 2010

great experience

Great service & modern hotel decor. The rooms are small, but it's a boutique renovated hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top