$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pferdmadchen
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 16, 2010

Great Hotel

Sofia was a great hotel, especially for the price. It had a convenient location for downtown and the convention center. The rooms are attractive, quiet and very comfortable with a fridge and microwave. Nice modern decoration and facilities. Restaurant downstairs had tasty food and drink choices for reasonable prices [reasonable in San Diego that is..]. Highly recommend it. Rooms are on the small side, so if you are someone who needs alot of space, then you may want one of their bigger rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peterock
Business
La jolla
Jul 11, 2010

Sofia hotel 2010

Enjoyed our stay but I personally prefer more contemporary decor for this hotel was historic and dated. Service was awesome and manager took care of all needs. The bar is cool with an older and sophisticated crowd(maybe stuffy). More touristy of a spot, but service at front desk really made it memorable. I'm a huge traveler and have stayed at the best hotels in the world and would not use this hotel if u were going to try and impress anyone. It's the right hotel for the individual whom requires better accommodations at an affordable rate. Overall a good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 30, 2010

Singles and couples only

Very quiet, comfortable and stylish, but small. Lighting was recessed ceiling units inadequate for tasks such as shaving. Shower was cramped and only partially enclosed. Neighborhood is somewhat downscale, San Diego is overrun with street people. I walked everywhere. The climate is delightful. USS Midway Museum is worth the 20 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There isn't much shopping nearby except a multi-level outdoor mall that was confusing and didn't have any name brand stores to speak of. A good selection of restaurants was within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long beach,ca
Jun 6, 2010

Its quant

The rooms were surprisingly small but rooms were clean and modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 28, 2010

Sofia Hotel

Great location. Smallish but comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
May 20, 2010

Sofia Hotel was terrific!

Very friendly staff. Great location in downtown San Diego...walking distance to Horton Plaza and Gaslamp District. The standard room is very small but nicely appointed. I was moved into a suite because my TV reception was really bad in my first room. I thought that was very nice that they upgraded me. Great happy hour in attached restaraunt, Currant. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robrik
Business
Alabama
May 17, 2010

Easy Access

Easy walk to convention center, room was nice but small, no tub only shower. Close to mall for shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2010

GREAT HOTEL - Especially for pet lovers!

We were there for a birthday celebration and baseball games at PetCo Stadium so it was the perfect location to walk to everything we wanted to do. We parked the car and walked everywhere...great to not have the hassle of parking or driving - although the valet fee was a bit pricey but it was worth it. We had a fabulous romantic getaway (our suite) to retreat to when the games were done. Also, we LOVE pets and are very happy to see that the Sophia appreciates people like us and our "furbabies" =) I can't say enough about how wonderful and friendly the Sophia Hotel is!!! We will definitely return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Henry's Pub was our favorite place to be in the Gaslamp District - especially if you love New York, Finland, Purdue and great beer - you must give it a visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodger Fanatic
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
May 17, 2010

Great for Couples Getting Away

Went down to San Diego to watch the Dodgers play the Padres. The hotel was walking distance to the ballpark and took you through the Gaslamp district which offers a great selection of restaurants and bars for pre and post games food and drinks. The rooms were very clean, but were very small, which was fine for myself and my wife, but would not work if you have children or more than 2 people. Since it was our first getaway in a while, we splurged and paid a small charge for an upgrade to a suite. Same size bedroom and queen bed, but an added living room for daytime relaxation. The only other thing that I think requires mentioning is the small tvs in the rooms. The regular room had a 20" widescreen, which made it seem even smaller. Unfortunately the suite was not much better, as it just added a second one of the same size in the living room. A larger tv probably would not have been much better since the reception quality was very poor. Overall I would recommend the Sofia if you want a decent, inexpensive hotel with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to Petco Park, taking you through the Gaslamp for dinner before the game and drinks after.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point, CA
May 15, 2010

Nice hotel

Very nice boutique hotel. Rooms were small but very nice. We had to upgrade to a suite but for the extra $30 bucks it was worth it. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top