$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
383 out of 383
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kinnelon, NJ
May 10, 2011

Classic Hotel - Great Jazz Bar

Updated room, nice shower great bed and a friendly "local" bar that played jazz all night. Classic 1929 Hotel with 12 foot ceilings in tbe rooms. My room was quite and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy hour food specials. Try the fish tacos or the fresh salads

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roc84
Business
Inland Empire, CA
May 5, 2011

Great Location! Nice Stay!

The rooms are small, but it has everything you need! The hotel is nicely located to everything, your down the street from the mall, you can walk right to the mall and within seconds you are the gaslamp district where there is so much to do. The Sofia Hotel is perfect! Staff are great, rooms are clean and modern. They only downside is the $30 valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 2, 2011

Great Location for the price

Great accomidations and comforts. Room was a little small but location and price made it well worth it. Staff had no problem going the extra mile to make sure your stay was great. Work go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the dinning and nightlife well within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Apr 22, 2011

Chic hotel

My boyfriend and I just wanted to get away during the week. We stayed for only one night (Mon) so we got a pretty good deal on a queen size room. The sophia has a great staff including the people working the valet. Check in and check out was a breeze. The rooms are very neat and spotless. The room was a bit small but you can tell that theyve paid attention to every detail. Theres a fridge, microwave, a mini bar, and a flat panel screen. The only thing i would like to comment on is that the shower. Its partly covered so the water splashes down & soaks the floor. Overall, we had good time. Its perfect for couples staying in town for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The sushi spot down the street towards westfield is cheap & delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wi
Apr 15, 2011

beware service fee

The hotel was quiet and comfortable with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Beware mandatory additional service fee for zero value add.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarks Hill, SC
Apr 12, 2011

San Diego April Trip

Very nice hotel, ideal location -- right downtown, adjacent to the metro center so public transportation was very easy. 2 blocks from Horton Plaza so shopping was great. Restaurant & bar downstairs were also very hospitable. Wireless internet in the room, so staying in touch was painless. The right place to stay for a few days while enjoying San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a bus / trolley pass for each person, they're $5 per day and enable unlimited rides. Public transportation to zoo, ballpark, UCSD, Coronado, etc., and also avoids parking fees for a rental car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 9, 2011

Good, But overpriced

Rooms are smaller for the price I paid, Hotel is in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry frequent traveler to San Diego
Business
Coos Bay, Oregon
Apr 9, 2011

Consistent

I enjoy the hotel - anytime I am in San Diego this is the place to be The Sofia. Within walking distance to restaurants, theater, and other shopping venues. However I don't like having to pay for the extras like for the news paper and gym facilities - this used to be part of the deal. Now management has discovered another way to get extra dollars from patrons. The added charges are not part of the package through [...]or similar travel companies. Nothing was said when checking in at the hotel, only discovered when checking out - a complete surprise and not welcomed by me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allthingsmatt
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 7, 2011

European feel, good location

Came to San Diego for a work conference, but have been before several times for vacation. I really liked The Sofia Hotel, the staff was incredibly friendly and ready to help anytime. The location is great for the price, right near downtown and 5-10 minute walk to all the great places on 5th avenue. Very close to a bus stop to and from the airport for those budget-conscious (like myself!) The rooms are small but elegant, with an European feel to them. Really a great deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the peanut butter and banana stuffed french toast at the 222 Cafe on Island St. between 2nd and 3rd ave. To die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Mar 31, 2011

Romantic Getaway

My husband and I decided to travel down to San Diego and have a romantic Valentine's day weekend! The Hotel Sophia is in a great location and the hotel is very chic and trendy. It has a great bar/resturant that has a wonderful happy hour menu! The only complaint I have is that parking is pricey... $35 a night!!!! Also, the junior room is very small... like a closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a very short walk to the heart of the gaslamp district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top