$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jul 6, 2011

Big ideas

interviewing for a job. checking the city out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Flying Funk
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 3, 2011

Great overall, but some issues

The Sofia Hotel is a cute little boutique hotel (comparable to the Bulfinch Hotel in Boston, for anyone who's been). First, a price note: there's an $8.50 per night guest charge that is not included when you book through a third party website, but it's worth it: in addition to wired/wireless Internet (and I've been at hotels where they charge more for that alone), you get free printing/faxing at the business center (which also has computers if you don't want to schlep your laptop), access to the gym (more on that later), and a complimentary bottle of water per day. The cons: As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are tiny, but since I was traveling by myself, it wasn't an issue. The lighting was somewhat of an issue -- you couldn't make it all that bright, and there was only one small window that overlooked... other rooms. But most people probably don't spend as much time in the room as I did (I had to work, sadly). Also, no full-length mirror, which was a tad annoying because I was there for a job interview. But the vanity mirror is a good size, so it wasn't a *huge* drawback, just a noticeable one. But the big deal for me was the temperature control, or lack thereof. The rooms come with thermostats, but the one in my room, at least, only sometimes set it to the temperature I wanted. Sometimes I would set it to 67* when it was at 73* or so, and the room would actually become *warmer*. I like my rooms cold, so this was the number one drawback for me. Oh, and don't eat the food from the bar at the hotel. Maybe the regular food is fine, but I will be unable to trust a hamburger again for a while. Okay, with all of that negative stuff out of the way, I do actually have many positive things to say about the hotel. The Sofia Hotel is one of the few hotels I've stayed in (and I've stayed in quite a few) where they include a mini-fridge and microwave in every room. Since I was traveling on a budget, this was very much appreciated. I read a previous review that said the showers have no doors -- mine had a perfectly functional glass door, so I'm not sure what was going on there. Also, as far as the little toiletries go, I didn't use the shampoo or the conditioner, but the soap and lotion were actually quite nice. On to the gym. At many of the hotels I've stayed at, especially the small ones, the 'fitness center' is usually one treadmill, one stationary bike, and maybe an elliptical. Now, while this wasn't one of the humungous gyms that they have at the larger chain hotels, this was a good-sized gym that included quality TVs with about 10-15 channels on all the cardio equipment (they have weights too, and a yoga room attached). The hotel also offers a complimentary walkabout tour around the Gaslamp Quarter on Saturdays and Sundays at 9 am (I didn't have time to go, but I think it's neat they offer it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown San Diego is fairly small, so everything is within walking distance: the pier down to Seaport Village, Little Italy, and the Gaslamp Quarter, all of which are worth seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake Elsinore
Jun 26, 2011

nice place!

Loveed everything except the expensive parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Mapster
Business
New York NY
Jun 18, 2011

It met our needs perfectly

We arrived late and were greeted courteously although there was a moment of confusion due to name misspelling. The room was small but beautifully appointed with VERY comfortable beds. We were out so early we did not miss not having breakfast at the Sofia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 16, 2011

Loved learning about its history

A great little place and I liked seeing the pictures of what the hotel started out as. The restaurant attached (Currant) also made the stay very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Azusa, Los Angeles ca
May 31, 2011

Nice stay with a nice price !!

It was so close to the gaslamp distirict, also walking distance to the Stadium. It was a nice contemporary/modern hotel! Quiet, and really cool for couples to really enjoy their time in san Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsNae
Business
Palmdale, Ca
May 31, 2011

great hotel

The Sofia Hotel was an excellent choice for me, it was right in the area of everything and not a long taxi drive. The staff was superb and friendly. I will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 17, 2011

Nice

Outstanding. Good price, great room, better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Louis MO
May 14, 2011

Our vacation at The Sofia Hotel

The room was very clean, friendly people at the lobby and through the hotel. Also the bar and restaurant where very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gaslamp and Little Italy are on walkable distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On business
Business
x
May 12, 2011

I chose a small room - Great Value!

Here for a business Expo. In and out. Dir some work in the room but it is not set up well for that; very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of public transportation available. I did not rent a car. Shuttle from the airport was $10.00. An all day trolley pass was $5.00 but I walked everywhere I needed to go; except the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top