$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
judy13
Business
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

good

I had a good experience at this hotel. the location was very convenient,but the parking was a bit confusing. It was not great and not terrible,but was good. The staff was very friendly and the beds were quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevinseattle
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Great Stay

Hotel rooms are a little small. That's fine cause it's modern and very comfortable. I would stay on the oposite side of Front street becuase the fire trucks go down that street all night with sirens on. Very loud. Great location and service. The TVs are cheap and small with poor cable quality, but that's not what your there for. Could use an upgrade though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevinseattle
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Great Stay

Hotel rooms are a little small. That's fine cause it's modern and very comfortable. I would stay on the oposite side of Front street becuase the fire trucks go down that street all night with sirens on. Very loud. Great location and service. The TVs are cheap and small with poor cable quality, but that's not what your there for. Could use an upgrade though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Onelove
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Disappointed

The rooms are very small. Whenever we took a shower a very bad sewer smell took over the whole room, is was not appealing at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 16, 2011

Great location, nice boutique hotel

Nice boutique hotel for good price! Room was small but nice. Very quiet and staff was very accommodating. Bed was comfortable. Location was excellent for the price. Would stay there again and would recommend to those traveling on business. Room would be a little small for two people staying more than a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Gaslight Quarter and shopping. Also within easy walking distance of the Convention Center.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 15, 2011

Weekend in Downtown, San Diego

The Sofia Hotel was a cute boutique hotel. My expectations for a suite were a bit different than what we got; however I definitely enjoyed my stay here. The It was a great value and great location. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nunya
Business
Redlands, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Overpriced and no pool

Rooms are extremely small, no bath tub, no pool. Television is also very small. The location is really good. The air conditioning works really well. Bed was comfortable. Valet is way overpriced at $30 a day which wouldn't be so bad if there were any other option for parking. There is a 9.00/day fee for the services that are offered, which is confusing because what was the 158.00 nightly fee for then (on a Thursday...)? I would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anndy B
Business
Fallbrook, CA
Aug 14, 2011

great spot...a little small but overall really nice

My husband and I stayed at the Sofia Hotel for our 5-year anniversary. We didn't know ahead of time that you had to pay for valet cause there were no other parking options for the hotel. The hotel itself is very lovely and the decor was very modern! We stayed in just a standard double bed room - bed was really comfortable but the room was super crammed. Great spot to walk straight into the Gaslamp for loads of activities and food. the Currant Restaurant was very enjoyable and just down stairs. Overall very nice experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Diamond Bar, CA
Aug 10, 2011

small but cute

I stayed one night with the bf, hotel was easy to find although yes parking is $30/night (as expected)..we got a queen room? It is TINY..but also expected..good enough for one night..the bed was hard and I had trouble sleeping, but the A/C worked great and the blinds shut out the sunlight well. It is a pet-friendly hotel, they have treats for your pet in the front. The mini-fridge and included bottled water was great! The front desk staff was nice. I probably wouldn't stay here again because of the beds. =\

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The downtown Gaslamp district is walk-able, about maybe 4-5 blocks if not less..we drove since my bf has a ankle problem and he can't walk very long distances.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I've been everywhere, Man.
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 4, 2011

Gem

This hotel exceeded my expectations in most regards. The rooms are small but elegant. The staff were professional. There were a few annoyances: - A small but annoying nightly "service" fee to my prepaird room. This should have been included in the price. - Neither the WI-FI or cable internet worked reliably in my 7th floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bar/restuarant is cool, the staff wonderful and the menu sounds great... but the food is mediocre considering the prices. I would recommend walking to the Gaslamp district or Little Italy for dinner.

Back to menu Return to top