$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wavesoflove
Couples
san diego
Feb 4, 2014

perfect location

Besides our room having the hot and cold water in the sink opposite it was a very modern room and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klmck
Business
upstate, ny
Feb 17, 2014

Nice!

Pretty hotel located within walking distance to the convention center and bay front. The Sophia had complementary bikes to use which we took advantage of to tour the city. The rooms were small but clean. Our one complaint was that there was a lot of traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHIEF OSCEOLA
Couples
Raleigh, NC
Feb 28, 2014

Great Stay!!

The wife and i stayed here for six nights for our Anniversary. It was our first time on the west coast, and we "ENJOYED" our stay!! Shout out to Brian, he was the absolute BEST!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of options for dining near by!

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love SAN
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 24, 2014

Great conference hotel

Very convenient location to conferences, local attractions, shopping, groceries, buses, and trains. Super having yoga room and bicycles available. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a few groceries for your in room fridge, at the Ralph's grocery store just a few blocks away.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Vegas lover
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 1, 2014

Good location

Cute boutique hotel. Although the rooms are not big it was perfect for my partner and I. If you check in with yelp you get a free yoga DVD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hamman15
Couples
Oceanside, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Couples Night Away

This hotel is unique compared to the average chain hotel. It is very charming inside. The room was on the smaller side given the cost for the night, but it was very nice! The largest bed the hotel offers is a queen, but it was very comfortable. The hotel also has a room for yoga 24hr. They rent out bikes from 7am-7pm on a first come first serve basis, which is an awesome perk. That would be a fun way to get around the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClayArtist
Single
Los Angeles
Apr 6, 2014

Historic & Hip Charm

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sofia. The staff was super nice from the minute I arrived thru to checkout. I had a drink in the restaurant/lounge, Currants, and that was positive too. Plus there is a Tender Greens restaurant and a Coffee Bean on the same block which was handy. Lots of other great restaurants are an easy walk. The room was very well appointed. Being a historic hotel it is a bit on the small size as others have mentioned, but it was not a problem for me. My only complaint, and it is pretty minor, was that the room a/c made the room too cool when it cycled on and then too hot otherwise. I know, first world problem. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is the Spreckles Theatre. It's an old theatre from 1012 that has been restored and now has some great shows. Check it out.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ImEatingPieForDinner
Couples
San Diego, CA
Apr 23, 2014

Romantic Weekend

What a wonderful atmosphere! I love the room we stayed in. The color scheme, the modern touches with the honor to the hotel's history, It was the perfect mix. I absolutely adored the weekend i spent with my boyfriend there and would absolutely recommend it to others. The room was my favorite. And the elevators are so tiny and cute! My only complaint was the valet. My boyfriend and i had to check out at 0500 and the valet was very rude. Otherwise, it's a super cute place for a cozy getaway with the love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize public parking elsewhere if you're able. Parking at this hotel is $30 for 24hrs and $25 For 9hrs.

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee Las Vegas
Single
Las Vegas
May 6, 2014

Nice Spot

Sofia is a great little hotel. Loved the in-room fridge and microwave. nice gym!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DarB
Friends
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Adorable

Just what I needed when my friends came to visit! I wanted them to come and visit for my birthday and the Sofia Hotel provided the most adorable room. I can only complain about the expensive valet, but that's expected about parking in downtown San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a cab for all the nightlife stuff around!

Back to menu Return to top