$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAVE. J
Business
DC
Oct 3, 2012

Convient location, friendly staff

Stayed at the Sofia Hotel for 4 nights for a convention in San Diego. Very pleased with the stay - the location is close to everything (airport $15 by taxi, convention center, harbor, etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful - I had a package sent prior to my arrival and the bellman took good care of it and when I sent it back to home, they took care of it as well. The room was neat, clean and well furnished. Free Wifi was available. The only cons was the room was small compared to other 4-star hotels; however, it's understandable for its prime location. All in all, we were happy with our stay at the Sofia Hotel in SD. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

Great place to stay, Minutes away from gas light

Staff was so helpful and told me all of the great places to see

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMT4465
Business
Nottingham, England
Sep 16, 2012

Great Location

I had a great stay at the Sofia Hotel, It has a perfect location for getting around on Public Transport. The bus stops are within a block of the hotel, the tram is a block to the rear. You can easily walk to the Coronado Ferry, and you are only 5 mins walk from Horton plaza. San Diego is such a chilled out place, the Sofia Hotel definitely matches the city! The staff are super friendly and relaxed, great bar/restaurant downstairs. Great experience, I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RStraveler
Business
Seattle
Sep 15, 2012

excellent staff

When we request a better room the staff was very nice to give us a much better room without additional cost. When we inform about poor TV reception, the staff fixed the problem immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon Frequent Traveler
Business
Coos Bay, Oregon
Sep 12, 2012

A Special Hotel

I continue to come back to this hotel, it is central to most places to shop, eat, and conference. Staff are excellent. It's a top notch hotel. I have one concern; as a customer I do not like paying the fee for the hotel fitness center when as a guest I do not use it! What gives with this?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk beyond the main streets and you will find some very interesting and excellent places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan dan
Business
West chester, pa
Sep 1, 2012

Great

Couldn't have asked for more. Great location to everything downtown and transportation. Nice rooms, nice staff. Business center was good. Will def be back if in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus transportation is great. Don't rent a car and pay 30/day. 5/day for bus and they come quickly. Or take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SCM82110
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 24, 2012

Cute hotel close to San Diego attractions!

The hotel staff was very friendly. The room was a bit small, but it's to be expected for the area. They had modern upgrades in the room and the gym and yoga studio were amazing! This is the first hotel I've ever seen with an actual yoga studio. The hotel was on the border of the gas lamp quarter. Petco park was a 12 minute walk, the ferries to and from Coronado island were about a 10 minute walk and is close to tons of restaurants and shops. The only down side is the fact that the hotel is close to services for the homeless. But as San Diego is a bigger city, this just comes with the territory. I gave the hotel staff a 4 out of 5 becasue we had requested extra towels and it had taken what seemed longer than needed and was holding us up on the rest of our plans for that day. Overall, a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kindra S.
Business
Beaumont, California
Aug 22, 2012

DAMAGED MY VEHICLE

The valets ($30, by the way), Damaged my new vehicle and the company they contract with said the they asked the valet- he said he didn't do it, so its not their fault. Don't stay here- the rooms are tiny and there were dogs yapping at me ALL NIGHT, plus the neighbors had a party- I know because I heard EVERY WORD through the wall. On top of that, it wasn't cheap- you can stay at a WAY nice hotel down the street and NOT have this problem with your vehicle getting damaged. Also, in all SIX of the rooms my family booked the TV's didn't work. Super fun. On the plus side, the room was clean, and the staff was polite-- until I noticed the damage on my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firstimer in Brussels
Business
Madrid
Aug 20, 2012

Good place to attend activities at the Convention Center

The reception staff was fine and the cleaning ladies were just great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp area restaurants are just across the street. Safe area. Mall very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G in MN
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Aug 10, 2012

Awesome

Went to San Diego for conference. Started with wonderful reception staff. Room we had was smallish but incredibly stylish and clean! 3 types of glass glasses as well as in room refrigerator. Workout room was great and clean. Restaurant was wonderful - best meal we had in San Diego. Avacodo coated in panko and then fried topped with crab! Bus from airport travels up and down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Amazing food at the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top