$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennJennJ
Business
Richmond, BC
Nov 21, 2012

Enjoyed it!

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful!! Room is very clean and tidy, and I like how the bottled water (2 per day) are complimentary! A lot of hotels would charge you if you have their bottled water. The location is excellent too, walking distance to pretty much everything, and it is also near some major trolley stations! The only down side of it is not many amenities available in the hotel (such as pool), but considering the price and the size of the hotel, it wouldnt affect my stay decision too much :). Another thing is maybe can improve on the sound proof system, since i could hear guests watching TV the next door lol. Overall speaking, I had a great experience in the Sofia!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Horton Plaza is extremely close. Nightlife wise, approx. 5-10 mins walk to the Gaslamp Quarter club and bar district :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moonstruck 77
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Only OK

It was only ok, from the check in, to the room, to cleanliness. The best part was the location, it was in walking distance to almost everything and the CTA stop was right across the street. Brian at the front desk was the best part of the hotel. Super friendly and informative about anything in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee K
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 13, 2012

Good value

The staff were extremely helpful and responsive. The room was small and fairly quiet, even though I was over a bus route. The ventilation system is a little noisy. I used their yoga room and found the yoga exercises very beneficial. It was a good location, with the Gaslamp district, Little Italy and convention center/Embarcadero an easy 10 to 15 minute walk. You have to step around the homeless almost everywhere, unfortunately, but it was not an unsafe neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Athens Market Taverna has wonderful Greek food. Taka Sushi is amazing, and the Cafe Sevilla has good tapas and fun bar scene. For high-end Italian food, Bice is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler from frankfort
Business
chicago
Nov 12, 2012

Lovely stay

Hotel staff were very prefessional.Location in downtown, near gaslamp district.A lot of good restaurents /movie theater near by.Even thouse it was short stay, we enjoyed very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori V
Business
San Diego
Nov 11, 2012

Cute Hotel

Hotel was cute. A little small but decent use of space. Good location. Sink was dirty when we checked in and beds were only double size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAVE. J
Business
DC
Oct 3, 2012

Convient location, friendly staff

Stayed at the Sofia Hotel for 4 nights for a convention in San Diego. Very pleased with the stay - the location is close to everything (airport $15 by taxi, convention center, harbor, etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful - I had a package sent prior to my arrival and the bellman took good care of it and when I sent it back to home, they took care of it as well. The room was neat, clean and well furnished. Free Wifi was available. The only cons was the room was small compared to other 4-star hotels; however, it's understandable for its prime location. All in all, we were happy with our stay at the Sofia Hotel in SD. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

Great place to stay, Minutes away from gas light

Staff was so helpful and told me all of the great places to see

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMT4465
Business
Nottingham, England
Sep 16, 2012

Great Location

I had a great stay at the Sofia Hotel, It has a perfect location for getting around on Public Transport. The bus stops are within a block of the hotel, the tram is a block to the rear. You can easily walk to the Coronado Ferry, and you are only 5 mins walk from Horton plaza. San Diego is such a chilled out place, the Sofia Hotel definitely matches the city! The staff are super friendly and relaxed, great bar/restaurant downstairs. Great experience, I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RStraveler
Business
Seattle
Sep 15, 2012

excellent staff

When we request a better room the staff was very nice to give us a much better room without additional cost. When we inform about poor TV reception, the staff fixed the problem immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon Frequent Traveler
Business
Coos Bay, Oregon
Sep 12, 2012

A Special Hotel

I continue to come back to this hotel, it is central to most places to shop, eat, and conference. Staff are excellent. It's a top notch hotel. I have one concern; as a customer I do not like paying the fee for the hotel fitness center when as a guest I do not use it! What gives with this?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk beyond the main streets and you will find some very interesting and excellent places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top