$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gakman
Business
Ottoville, ohio
Apr 23, 2013

Downtown stay

The hotel was nice. The staff was helpfull. The room was clean. Great location. I would stay there again. AAAAA+++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thunderwoman300
Business
North Hollywood, Ca
Apr 21, 2013

Friend weekend getaway

Had an amazing.time! The room was very cute and staff was very helpful . Very quaint hotel and hotel restaurant was good . I like that you could pick a bike for around town. Will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emcnathan
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 15, 2013

Better than expected

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofia Hotel. It is in walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter which is a huge plus. I know a lot of people wrote in regarding the size of the room, and I'd have to agree that is is rather small, but that was not a deal breaker. I'd say the most unpleasant part was the thin walls. I could hear a lot of noise from the hallways and from other guests nearby. Other than that, it was a very nice hotel - great bed, service, towels are huge, two complimentary water bottles, free bikes to ride around the city, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business George
Business
Aurora, Colorado
Apr 5, 2013

Much Smaller than expected based on online pictures...

When I arrived I had reserved a double room, they upgraded me to the queen, and i still had to ask for a bigger room. They gave me a King but it too was very small. I commend them for there willingness but the hotel was not capable of what i was expecting. I will not be staying at this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanalizzie
Business
San Diego
Apr 4, 2013

Sofia fine

We have stayed here on a few other occasions and feel we could have had better room if we booked directly through the hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrGoldin
Business
Yardley, PA
Mar 25, 2013

The walls are too thin.

This is the old Pickwick Hotel, built in 1927 and tastefully renovated. The location is great (lots of restaurants nearby) and the service is always courteous. The room is small, but it's elegant and efficient. Having a fridge and microwave is a real plus, too. So all in all I'd consider the room above average despite the size. But the biggest problem is that the walls are too thin. You can hear someone in the next room turning on and off a lamp. That shouldn't happen. The management posted a sign apologizing for the noise from construction work going on next door, and although they can't control that, I'm sure it would have been less of a nuisance if the walls weren't paper-thin. The $8 daily "guest services fee" is tacky. They should just add that to the published room rate. I didn't consider this a disappointing stay, but I'd probably choose someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

7-11, one block west on Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Castillos Homeymoon
Business
Fullerton, Ca
Mar 21, 2013

Perfect Honeymoon

The hotel is perfectly located in the Gaslamp District. You can park your car and walk everywhere. Also when we checked in through conversation we told them it was our honeymoon and they upgraded our room at no charge!! Staff was very nice and everything was great :) Will definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Horton Plaza is a great place to walk around and see all types of shops and eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhD Nurse
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Mar 14, 2013

Boutique Experience

The Sophia hotel is a beautiful, boutique hotel that although very small, has modern, well attended rooms. The bed was fantastic and there was space for a desk, and chair, and regular chair. A small bar was convenient with a small refrigerator and microwave. The TV was mounted on the wall which was a good idea. The space is fine for one person, but very cramped for too as there was limited closet space. The front desk staff including the car valet was warm, friendly, and attentive. The lobby was comfortable and there was a separate computer room. My only complaints were that the small coffee maker did not work well and the hair dryer was kind of dirty. Maid service was sub-par even though I tipped daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke Tung
Business
Irvine, CA
Mar 13, 2013

GAMA Conference

Everything is satisfied except the parking problem. We have to pay extra $38 to make parking overnight, and it wasn't under my estimate budget before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MerriKate
Business
New York
Mar 12, 2013

Great Stay

Wonderful place to stay! Loved the staff and room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top