$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

The Sofia Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sofia Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
383 out of 383
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yoli.boli
Business
San Diego, ca
Sep 3, 2013

Nice boutique hotel

I enjoyed my stay even though it was a small room. What was a little frustrating was that valet parking is all the offer and it $30, and that check in is at 4pm and check out is 11am. Everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buon apetite in little italy was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gcvhair
Business
san diego
Sep 2, 2013

Cute little hotel!

The hotel was very cute & clean! Great location and a perfect room for the night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPLA
Business
AUSTIN TEXAS
Aug 23, 2013

Sofia Hotel San Diego

I enjoyed the location, the staff, the decor, the downtown ease of walking to great restaurants. The view from my room was all that was lacking. My daughter lives two blocks away and it was great fun meeting her for happy hour and dinners! I did not need a rental car and a cab was always available. I do not recommend a connection via SFO as it was fogged in and I missed my flight but all went well later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Little Italy for lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego minivacation
Business
Port Angeles wa
Aug 1, 2013

Great value & service

Loved central location, proximity to great eateries such as Tender Greens and in house restaurant. Room was a little small with no view but was cozy. Hotel staff very helpful and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Isola Italian pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikePl
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 29, 2013

Lood location and nice extras

Great location in gaslamp, small but nice, additions including bike rental, yoga, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Freelance Ed
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 2, 2013

Very Small Rooms

There was basically space for the bed and little else in my room. No view either. I looked out about 10 feet to a brick wall. There was a surprise daily entertainment fee that I was presented with at check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
unclear what you want her
Business
California
May 12, 2013

Sofia: room too small

Nice hotel, very good location, but the room was very very tiny and looked out on a little space kind of like an elevator shaft! Apparently all their doubles (meaning the room is so small they can only fit a double bed in instead of a queen size) are that size. When I mentioned the claustrophobic feeling of the room as I checked out, however, they did volunteer to waive the fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

nice restaurant with outdoor patio on the street - food was fine and location couldn't be beat. No "light "breakfast though

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gakman
Business
Ottoville, ohio
Apr 23, 2013

Downtown stay

The hotel was nice. The staff was helpfull. The room was clean. Great location. I would stay there again. AAAAA+++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thunderwoman300
Business
North Hollywood, Ca
Apr 21, 2013

Friend weekend getaway

Had an amazing.time! The room was very cute and staff was very helpful . Very quaint hotel and hotel restaurant was good . I like that you could pick a bike for around town. Will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emcnathan
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 15, 2013

Better than expected

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofia Hotel. It is in walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter which is a huge plus. I know a lot of people wrote in regarding the size of the room, and I'd have to agree that is is rather small, but that was not a deal breaker. I'd say the most unpleasant part was the thin walls. I could hear a lot of noise from the hallways and from other guests nearby. Other than that, it was a very nice hotel - great bed, service, towels are huge, two complimentary water bottles, free bikes to ride around the city, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top