$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Keating

4 stars
432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
37 reviews
AMAZING!

My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. We wanted a getaway from our normal orange county, CA... See full review

  • Best Husband Ever.
  • Nov 18, 2014
great spot

perfict location and great hotel, in the heart of gas lamp will recomend See full review

  • eb at gas lamp
  • Aug 18, 2014
Hip, open-plan hotel in historic Gaslamp Quarter
The Keating is a small, 35-room hotel in the center of the Gaslamp Quarter of downtown San Diego. Designed by Pininfarina (read: Ferrari and Maserati) and opened in 2007, the hotel prides itself on its unconventionality and caters to people with active lifestyles. Brick + Mortar restaurant within the property offers varieties of mouth-watering cuisine, served in a casual ambiance with nightly live DJ's. The Keating also offers meeting facilities and in-room couple's massage and aromatherapy. The property also offers complimentary entry to PCD Dollhouse.


3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Cutting-edge, Pininfarina-designed boutique hotel in a listed, historic 1890s building

  • Located in the vibrant Gaslamp Quarter near San Diego's major attractions and entertainment venues

  • Fine dining, Italian wine collection and exclusive wine tastings from local wineries

The Keating Rooms
The 35 luxurious 'stanzas' (guest rooms) and suites feature customized furnishings, such as spacious closets, ergonomic chairs, and custom-design beds by Pininfarina. Many aspects of the 1890s building, like mahogany fittings and stainless steel, remain. The loft-style rooms feature no interior walls: the traditional bathroom/bedroom division is replaced by an open floor plan. Resin and concrete floor treatments eliminate the need for carpeting. Expansive ceilings and the building's original exposed brick walls complement the decoration.


Things to do:

  • Westfield Horton Plaza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • San Diego Repertory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

  • San Diego Opera (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Copley Symphony Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Petco Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)

  • San Diego Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)

  • Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • San Diego City College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Seaport Village (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Navy Pier (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access is available for $9.99/night.
  • Valet parking is available for $35/night; due to the downtown location this is the only parking option offered by the hotel
  • Historical preservation fee of $3/night will be charged directly to all reservation as an incidental charge
  • Pets are welcome; a cleaning fee of $25/night applies
  • PCD Dollhouse entry is included for all guests, with the exception of special events
  • Twin beds are available for deluxe stanza rooms, based on availability. If twin rooms are occupied, queen size air beds are available for $50/night
  • For guests concerned with street noise the property offers interior rooms, which are significantly quieter.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Keating also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Keating Rooms

Deluxe Stanza
This room offers 1 King Bed or 2 Twin Beds upon availability, (all rooms in the hotel can be converted into king beds) and offer a Sinful bedding experience. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and a personalized sip & crave bar. Due to feed back we have received continually from our guests, we have added intimate piracy shears to a number of our stanzas. These curtains separate the warm and wet zones (bed & bath rooms) adding a partition for guests; these are available upon request and based on availability. Please see attached photos of a twin bed deluxe stanza with privacy shear.
Chic
Corner Junior Suite with 1 California King bed and lounging area with large corner window seats offering urban views of the San Diego skyline and world famous Gaslamp Quarter. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and personalized sip & crave bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.2 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The Keating

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BobBobBobJaneBob
Business
San Francisco
Mar 1, 2013

no sleeping here

This hotel is not appropriate for anyone who is interested in actually sleeping at night, and especially is not appropriate for families. The pounding music and the late night parties in the hotel made is nearly impossible to get any sleep at all. That said, if you want a party weekend in San Diego this would be just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe 21 has a really nice breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pistoff
Business
Huntington Beach
Jun 28, 2013

Horrible hotel experience

If anyone really wants to leave San Diego well rested, and knowing you've stayed at a Great Place, then The Keating is NOT It! Not even a sleeping pill helped us get any rest at this hotel. What a horrible experience....NEVER going there again! It was like being in the Twilight Zone! Weird!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Centro, CA
May 24, 2009

Orbitz has terrible customer service

We never even got to check into the hotel. When we went to the front desk to check in the hotel never had a reservation for us. When I called customer service for Oritz, they were no help to us. Orbitz has the reservationbut never sent it to the hotel. They told me that I had o find my own hotel and that I could check in after 10pm. Crazy right?? Well Oritz apparently didnt think so. The only thing they could do for us was refund our money. I am extremely dissapointed in Orbitz. Shame on you Orbitz!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 29, 2008

Stay only if you don't plan on sleeping

I stayed at this hotel while in town for a conference. Although the idea of this boutique hotel is great, as is the location. My room, even though I was on the top floor, was so incredibly noisy on account of the nightclubs, bars and people out on the street below at all hours that a sound night of sleep was impossible. When I finally began to dose off around 3:30am, I was awoken by the trash cans being emptied and glass bottles smashing outside my room around 6am. When I complained about the noise and questioned why the window aren't double paned (which they are not), I was told that this was because the hotel is a historical building and they can't change the windows to make it more quiet in the rooms. If you are in town to party--this is a great spot, but if you want to get a full night of rest, don't even think about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 23, 2008

Bad, Very, Very Noisey. Do Not Stay There

The Hotel is so Noisey you can not sleep. Street Noise ended at 2 AM and Started at 5 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Sep 21, 2008

Very Noisy place; rude Front desk

the price was right for the GasLamp district, so i thought. there are bars on the bottom floor & all around the hotel that play right thru your hotel windows (yes, they were closed windows, too) into the early morning hours. Your bed is vibrating from the bass/music. If you need to sleep for a conference, as i did, it is not a good choice. the front desk personnel are too busy on their own cell phones & personal conversations with friends to help out. Don't even try to call down for wake up call, or questions...they never answer the phone, or it's always busy...they do personal calls on that line, too (she did tell her boyfriend she'd have to call him back when i went down to front desk personally. when i did get through to front desk & requested wake up call...i never got my wake up call...& was late to my meeting! i do not recommend this hotel for the above reasons, but it may be suitable if you're out all hours of the night, & aren't there to sleep anyhow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Horton Plaza next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kkathleen
Business
Omaha, Ne
Jan 21, 2013

odd hotel

The Keating was in a good location especially if you like to go out at night. The rooms were strange. The open shower in particular was odd. No door on the shower. The floors were cement both in the shower and in the room. There was an enormous expresso machine on the sink, with no directions. And because of the machine, very little space for toiletries. I was disappointed that the hotel had no food service whatsoever. This was especially an issue in the morning. The color scheme was bold and interesting. Bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Middleage business
Business
Providence, RI
Oct 22, 2012

Close to San Diego Convention center

Good location, walking distance to the San Diego Convention Center, but depending on your room can be noisy. Modern rooms: showers are open with bathroom incorporated to the room, OK but odd specially if sharing a room. Breakfast was included but did no start unil 8am and was not able to get breakfast since I had to be at meetings at that time. Staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr. elliot
Business
europe
Feb 9, 2013

business hotel,for travellers and couples

nice hotel, which is getting older. some renovation is needed. Internet acess is expencive and did not work. no charge for not working but if you need it and it does not work .........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jena B
Business
Orange County CA
Sep 13, 2013

Underwhelmed.

From the pictures the hotel looks hip and modern with a lot of character. Upon ariving at the hotel I was disappointed. Besides the location and being in the middle of the Gas Lamp District, the hotel doesn't have much to offer except old rooms that have tried to be designed with a bit of flare but missed the mark. Parking was difficult and expensive so although the room was a decent price, once you add the hotel fees and parking charges, it's not worth the value. I was disapointed and will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top