$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

The Keating

4 stars
432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
37 reviews
AMAZING!

My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. We wanted a getaway from our normal orange county, CA... See full review

  • Best Husband Ever.
  • Nov 18, 2014
great spot

perfict location and great hotel, in the heart of gas lamp will recomend See full review

  • eb at gas lamp
  • Aug 18, 2014
Hip, open-plan hotel in historic Gaslamp Quarter
The Keating is a small, 35-room hotel in the center of the Gaslamp Quarter of downtown San Diego. Designed by Pininfarina (read: Ferrari and Maserati) and opened in 2007, the hotel prides itself on its unconventionality and caters to people with active lifestyles. Brick + Mortar restaurant within the property offers varieties of mouth-watering cuisine, served in a casual ambiance with nightly live DJ's. The Keating also offers meeting facilities and in-room couple's massage and aromatherapy. The property also offers complimentary entry to PCD Dollhouse.


3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Cutting-edge, Pininfarina-designed boutique hotel in a listed, historic 1890s building

  • Located in the vibrant Gaslamp Quarter near San Diego's major attractions and entertainment venues

  • Fine dining, Italian wine collection and exclusive wine tastings from local wineries

The Keating Rooms
The 35 luxurious 'stanzas' (guest rooms) and suites feature customized furnishings, such as spacious closets, ergonomic chairs, and custom-design beds by Pininfarina. Many aspects of the 1890s building, like mahogany fittings and stainless steel, remain. The loft-style rooms feature no interior walls: the traditional bathroom/bedroom division is replaced by an open floor plan. Resin and concrete floor treatments eliminate the need for carpeting. Expansive ceilings and the building's original exposed brick walls complement the decoration.


Things to do:

  • Westfield Horton Plaza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • San Diego Repertory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

  • San Diego Opera (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Copley Symphony Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Petco Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)

  • San Diego Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)

  • Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • San Diego City College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Seaport Village (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Navy Pier (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access is available for $9.99/night.
  • Valet parking is available for $35/night; due to the downtown location this is the only parking option offered by the hotel
  • Historical preservation fee of $3/night will be charged directly to all reservation as an incidental charge
  • Pets are welcome; a cleaning fee of $25/night applies
  • PCD Dollhouse entry is included for all guests, with the exception of special events
  • Twin beds are available for deluxe stanza rooms, based on availability. If twin rooms are occupied, queen size air beds are available for $50/night
  • For guests concerned with street noise the property offers interior rooms, which are significantly quieter.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7138 -117.1605
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)Sand Diego's Lindbergh Field (PAL)Palomar Airport
Area description
The Keating Hotel is located near the Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center, the USS Midway, the Cabrillo National Monument, Balboa Park, SeaWorld San Diego, San Diego Zoo, the Wild Animal Park and Legoland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Keating also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Keating Rooms

Deluxe Stanza
This room offers 1 King Bed or 2 Twin Beds upon availability, (all rooms in the hotel can be converted into king beds) and offer a Sinful bedding experience. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and a personalized sip & crave bar. Due to feed back we have received continually from our guests, we have added intimate piracy shears to a number of our stanzas. These curtains separate the warm and wet zones (bed & bath rooms) adding a partition for guests; these are available upon request and based on availability. Please see attached photos of a twin bed deluxe stanza with privacy shear.
Chic
Corner Junior Suite with 1 California King bed and lounging area with large corner window seats offering urban views of the San Diego skyline and world famous Gaslamp Quarter. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and personalized sip & crave bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.2 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The Keating

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best Husband Ever.
Business
Orange County, California
Nov 18, 2014

AMAZING!

My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. We wanted a getaway from our normal orange county, CA lifestyle. Well, everything was perfect at The Keating! The bathroom was spotless, and is really modern which was nice. The shower was really cool, but make sure you go with someone who you feel extremely comfortable with because it lacks a door and is a rainfall shower so the fixture comes from the ceiling. The bed was absolutely amazing. We stayed in the penthouse and the bed was to die for. My wife continued to call it the cloud because it was SOO comfortable. The first night we were there the window treatment fell off but because the hotel staff was soon nice they refunded us a nice for free!!!!!! It's in the middle of downtown and EVERYTHING is in walking distance. If you come to SD, you MUST stay here. We will be lifetime customers, no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is near the hotel, and you MUST try re do gado brazilian steakhouse, IT'S AMAZING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eb at gas lamp
Business
anaheim,
Aug 18, 2014

great spot

perfict location and great hotel, in the heart of gas lamp will recomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect for couples

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pistoff
Business
Huntington Beach
Jun 28, 2013

Horrible hotel experience

If anyone really wants to leave San Diego well rested, and knowing you've stayed at a Great Place, then The Keating is NOT It! Not even a sleeping pill helped us get any rest at this hotel. What a horrible experience....NEVER going there again! It was like being in the Twilight Zone! Weird!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SimoneJay
Business
Newport Beach
Jun 6, 2013

Great Location

Awesome location even though the parking sucks. Its 30 dollars to park. Very modern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinochio
Business
Hawaii
Dec 9, 2012

A Great Experience

Room design is unique, stuff is friendly and helpful, location is convenient, food is superb. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AHB
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Awesome Hotel in Ideal Location

I initially chose this hotel because I loved the overall design. It's different, modern, and conceptual, but still extremely comfortable. It is not a conventional hotel and therefore may not be for everyone. Personally I loved staying there and would definitely stay there again. It is right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, which is where my boyfriend and I wanted to spend the majority of our time. It did get somewhat noisy, but that's to be expected given it's location. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to accommodate us. They were eager to give us suggestions as to where to go and help us find the most ideal route to get there. Overall, it was an awesome hotel and worth every penny. The Keating is definitely on the top of my list of places to stay the next time I go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DnnyBoy
Business
Fullerton
Nov 1, 2009

Great

great place & great location! we liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Centro, CA
May 24, 2009

Orbitz has terrible customer service

We never even got to check into the hotel. When we went to the front desk to check in the hotel never had a reservation for us. When I called customer service for Oritz, they were no help to us. Orbitz has the reservationbut never sent it to the hotel. They told me that I had o find my own hotel and that I could check in after 10pm. Crazy right?? Well Oritz apparently didnt think so. The only thing they could do for us was refund our money. I am extremely dissapointed in Orbitz. Shame on you Orbitz!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
geremy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Perfect couple getaway

Very upscale. Modern but comfortable. Service was impeccable but sedated. We were greeted and given an update for the room and our stay by the concierge for approx 15 minutes. Amazing. Location was ideal. Walking distance to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a spectacular, yet relaxing stay. No pool or hot tub, but not a big deal at all. Loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top