$165 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Keating

4 stars
View map of 432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
40 reviews
AMAZING!

My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. We wanted a getaway from our normal orange county, CA... See full review

  • Best Husband Ever.
  • Nov 18, 2014
great spot

perfict location and great hotel, in the heart of gas lamp will recomend See full review

  • eb at gas lamp
  • Aug 18, 2014
Experience the "Ferraris of Hotels" offering the ultimate personalized guest service and five star amenities all located in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter. New luxury boutique hotel in San Diego is the first ever hotel designed by world renowned Italian design firm Pininfarina best known for their designs of Ferrari & Maserati. We offer personal concierge service that caters to your every need. The continental breakfast featured in the Hotel's lobby consists of grab and go foods appropriate for your active lifestyle. We are located on the corner of 5th & F Street in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. The Keating is within walking distance of hundreds of shops, restaurants and nightclubs. All rooms have Bang & Olufsen Entertainment Systems including 37" Beovision HD plasma televisions offering a choice of over 150 channels, Beosound CD stereo systems & LavAzza espresso machines. Valet parking at The Keating costs ($30) per vehicle, and the extra person charge is ($20) per person, and our aero bed is available at charge of ($20).

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Keating also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Keating Rooms

Deluxe Stanza
This room offers 1 King Bed or 2 Twin Beds upon availability, (all rooms in the hotel can be converted into king beds) and offer a Sinful bedding experience. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and a personalized sip & crave bar. Due to feed back we have received continually from our guests, we have added intimate piracy shears to a number of our stanzas. These curtains separate the warm and wet zones (bed & bath rooms) adding a partition for guests; these are available upon request and based on availability. Please see attached photos of a twin bed deluxe stanza with privacy shear.
Chic
Corner Junior Suite with 1 California King bed and lounging area with large corner window seats offering urban views of the San Diego skyline and world famous Gaslamp Quarter. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and personalized sip & crave bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.2 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Keating

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
geremy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Perfect couple getaway

Very upscale. Modern but comfortable. Service was impeccable but sedated. We were greeted and given an update for the room and our stay by the concierge for approx 15 minutes. Amazing. Location was ideal. Walking distance to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a spectacular, yet relaxing stay. No pool or hot tub, but not a big deal at all. Loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 16, 2009

Cool

Very good would stay again great central location for all the bars. No DUI's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AHB
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Awesome Hotel in Ideal Location

I initially chose this hotel because I loved the overall design. It's different, modern, and conceptual, but still extremely comfortable. It is not a conventional hotel and therefore may not be for everyone. Personally I loved staying there and would definitely stay there again. It is right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, which is where my boyfriend and I wanted to spend the majority of our time. It did get somewhat noisy, but that's to be expected given it's location. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to accommodate us. They were eager to give us suggestions as to where to go and help us find the most ideal route to get there. Overall, it was an awesome hotel and worth every penny. The Keating is definitely on the top of my list of places to stay the next time I go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheSOLIDAMgroup
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 9, 2009

Exceptional stay

I was fifteen minutes early for my stay and with a guarentee of a room by 4pm, they upgraded me to a Penthouse suite so that i would not have to wait past 4pm. Incredible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese Shop for Bfast or Lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nevania
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 6, 2008

Very cool

The Keating is a very cool hip hotel. The room was sleek and high tech - plasma screen HDTV, Bang and Olufson phones, iPod speaker on alarm clock, remote control lights and espresso machine. Bed was very comfortable and plenty of closet space. Located in Gaslamp District close to lots of restaurants and the Horton Plaza mall. Easy walk to Petco Field and the Convention Center. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jul 19, 2007

BEST SERVICE EVER

STAFF PROVIDED THE VERY BEST AND FRIENDLY SERVICE I HAVE EVER RECEIVED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERY THING IS NEARBY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westland
Sep 17, 2008

Heart of the Gaslamp District

We had a great stay at the Keating. Very European in style, it is in the heart of the Gaslamp District, with lots of dining and several nightlife options nearby. We had a room in the back and experienced no noise issues. Centrally located - we walked to Petco, walked to the Bay, and took a bus (no transfers) to the Zoo. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options within a couple of blocks walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DnnyBoy
Business
Fullerton
Nov 1, 2009

Great

great place & great location! we liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 23, 2008

Great location

Keating is greatly located in the heart of the Gaslight district. Area is fantastic. kRecently remodeled in deco/european design. Not my choice but for some would be quite quaint. Did not like the concrete floors and see thru showers with no doors, very wet on floor. Beds were great and service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants and night life at your fingertips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 9, 2007

Stunning

Ultra-modern, gorgeous, classy, luxuriant, and unique. Not the typical hotel experience. Extremely helpful and friendly staff - they go above and beyond. Pet friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijuana is just a quick commuter train ride away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top