$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Keating

4 stars
432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
37 reviews
AMAZING!

My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. We wanted a getaway from our normal orange county, CA... See full review

  • Best Husband Ever.
  • Nov 18, 2014
great spot

perfict location and great hotel, in the heart of gas lamp will recomend See full review

  • eb at gas lamp
  • Aug 18, 2014
Hip, open-plan hotel in historic Gaslamp Quarter
The Keating is a small, 35-room hotel in the center of the Gaslamp Quarter of downtown San Diego. Designed by Pininfarina (read: Ferrari and Maserati) and opened in 2007, the hotel prides itself on its unconventionality and caters to people with active lifestyles. Brick + Mortar restaurant within the property offers varieties of mouth-watering cuisine, served in a casual ambiance with nightly live DJ's. The Keating also offers meeting facilities and in-room couple's massage and aromatherapy. The property also offers complimentary entry to PCD Dollhouse.


3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Cutting-edge, Pininfarina-designed boutique hotel in a listed, historic 1890s building

  • Located in the vibrant Gaslamp Quarter near San Diego's major attractions and entertainment venues

  • Fine dining, Italian wine collection and exclusive wine tastings from local wineries

The Keating Rooms
The 35 luxurious 'stanzas' (guest rooms) and suites feature customized furnishings, such as spacious closets, ergonomic chairs, and custom-design beds by Pininfarina. Many aspects of the 1890s building, like mahogany fittings and stainless steel, remain. The loft-style rooms feature no interior walls: the traditional bathroom/bedroom division is replaced by an open floor plan. Resin and concrete floor treatments eliminate the need for carpeting. Expansive ceilings and the building's original exposed brick walls complement the decoration.


Things to do:

  • Westfield Horton Plaza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • San Diego Repertory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

  • San Diego Opera (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Copley Symphony Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Petco Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)

  • San Diego Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)

  • Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • San Diego City College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Seaport Village (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Navy Pier (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access is available for $9.99/night.
  • Valet parking is available for $35/night; due to the downtown location this is the only parking option offered by the hotel
  • Historical preservation fee of $3/night will be charged directly to all reservation as an incidental charge
  • Pets are welcome; a cleaning fee of $25/night applies
  • PCD Dollhouse entry is included for all guests, with the exception of special events
  • Twin beds are available for deluxe stanza rooms, based on availability. If twin rooms are occupied, queen size air beds are available for $50/night
  • For guests concerned with street noise the property offers interior rooms, which are significantly quieter.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Keating also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Keating Rooms

Deluxe Stanza
This room offers 1 King Bed or 2 Twin Beds upon availability, (all rooms in the hotel can be converted into king beds) and offer a Sinful bedding experience. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and a personalized sip & crave bar. Due to feed back we have received continually from our guests, we have added intimate piracy shears to a number of our stanzas. These curtains separate the warm and wet zones (bed & bath rooms) adding a partition for guests; these are available upon request and based on availability. Please see attached photos of a twin bed deluxe stanza with privacy shear.
Chic
Corner Junior Suite with 1 California King bed and lounging area with large corner window seats offering urban views of the San Diego skyline and world famous Gaslamp Quarter. Other in-room amenities include LavAzza espresso machine, designer bathrobes, vaulted ceilings, 37" HD wall mounted plasma TV, radio/cd player, dvd player, dual line voice over ip phone, and personalized sip & crave bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.2 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The Keating

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
geremy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 12, 2007

Perfect couple getaway

Very upscale. Modern but comfortable. Service was impeccable but sedated. We were greeted and given an update for the room and our stay by the concierge for approx 15 minutes. Amazing. Location was ideal. Walking distance to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a spectacular, yet relaxing stay. No pool or hot tub, but not a big deal at all. Loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 16, 2009

Cool

Very good would stay again great central location for all the bars. No DUI's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AHB
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Awesome Hotel in Ideal Location

I initially chose this hotel because I loved the overall design. It's different, modern, and conceptual, but still extremely comfortable. It is not a conventional hotel and therefore may not be for everyone. Personally I loved staying there and would definitely stay there again. It is right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, which is where my boyfriend and I wanted to spend the majority of our time. It did get somewhat noisy, but that's to be expected given it's location. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to accommodate us. They were eager to give us suggestions as to where to go and help us find the most ideal route to get there. Overall, it was an awesome hotel and worth every penny. The Keating is definitely on the top of my list of places to stay the next time I go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheSOLIDAMgroup
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 9, 2009

Exceptional stay

I was fifteen minutes early for my stay and with a guarentee of a room by 4pm, they upgraded me to a Penthouse suite so that i would not have to wait past 4pm. Incredible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese Shop for Bfast or Lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nevania
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 6, 2008

Very cool

The Keating is a very cool hip hotel. The room was sleek and high tech - plasma screen HDTV, Bang and Olufson phones, iPod speaker on alarm clock, remote control lights and espresso machine. Bed was very comfortable and plenty of closet space. Located in Gaslamp District close to lots of restaurants and the Horton Plaza mall. Easy walk to Petco Field and the Convention Center. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jul 19, 2007

BEST SERVICE EVER

STAFF PROVIDED THE VERY BEST AND FRIENDLY SERVICE I HAVE EVER RECEIVED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERY THING IS NEARBY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westland
Sep 17, 2008

Heart of the Gaslamp District

We had a great stay at the Keating. Very European in style, it is in the heart of the Gaslamp District, with lots of dining and several nightlife options nearby. We had a room in the back and experienced no noise issues. Centrally located - we walked to Petco, walked to the Bay, and took a bus (no transfers) to the Zoo. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options within a couple of blocks walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DnnyBoy
Business
Fullerton
Nov 1, 2009

Great

great place & great location! we liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 23, 2008

Great location

Keating is greatly located in the heart of the Gaslight district. Area is fantastic. kRecently remodeled in deco/european design. Not my choice but for some would be quite quaint. Did not like the concrete floors and see thru showers with no doors, very wet on floor. Beds were great and service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants and night life at your fingertips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 9, 2007

Stunning

Ultra-modern, gorgeous, classy, luxuriant, and unique. Not the typical hotel experience. Extremely helpful and friendly staff - they go above and beyond. Pet friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijuana is just a quick commuter train ride away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top