$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Keating

4 stars
View map of 432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Keating

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AHB
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Awesome Hotel in Ideal Location

I initially chose this hotel because I loved the overall design. It's different, modern, and conceptual, but still extremely comfortable. It is not a conventional hotel and therefore may not be for everyone. Personally I loved staying there and would definitely stay there again. It is right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, which is where my boyfriend and I wanted to spend the majority of our time. It did get somewhat noisy, but that's to be expected given it's location. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to accommodate us. They were eager to give us suggestions as to where to go and help us find the most ideal route to get there. Overall, it was an awesome hotel and worth every penny. The Keating is definitely on the top of my list of places to stay the next time I go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DnnyBoy
Business
Fullerton
Nov 1, 2009

Great

great place & great location! we liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugal Business Man
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 14, 2009

Just what you need.

The Keating is located in the heart of downtown San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, walking distance from the Convention Center, the major hotels, plenty of dining and pubs and nightlife. The design of The Keating is very modern - in fact it was designed by the guys who work for Ferrari. The rooms have exactly what you need: flat screen TV with HD satellite, free wifi, a roomie shower, a warm bed and cookies when you get into bed! It's small and quaint but has a great city vibe to it. Well price as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleetwood, an otherwise quiet neighborhood pub/sports bar pops off on the weekends

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheSOLIDAMgroup
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 9, 2009

Exceptional stay

I was fifteen minutes early for my stay and with a guarentee of a room by 4pm, they upgraded me to a Penthouse suite so that i would not have to wait past 4pm. Incredible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese Shop for Bfast or Lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oranve County, CA
Aug 17, 2009

Night was ok...

This hotel was...ok...I was expecting the hotel to be nicer, but I guess I shouldn't expect a whole lot for the amount...$175/night. There's no shower doors, you can clearly hear transportation (buses, train, and any ambulances). There isn't a place to eat breakfast, as the hotel's restaurant does not open till 5 pm. Although, there are great restaurants surrounding the area, and it's best to go out and about to see the surrounding areas anyway. Valet was incredibly slow. The check-in staff are pretty unenthusiastic about being there. However, on the good side, the bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were so soft. The expresso machine is a nice touch, but it would've been nice to have a little instructional place card. Overall, the experience was ok. Nothing to really rave about, but nothing very negative either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 16, 2009

Cool

Very good would stay again great central location for all the bars. No DUI's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 1, 2009

NY style in San Diego

The hotel reminded me of NYC hotels- built in 1890 but renovated into a hip, modern hotel. Rooms are small but cozy and stocked with top of the line, TV and CD system (Bang & Olufsen).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of things to do nearby- restaurants, nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmy Blackstone
Business
Newport Beach, CA
May 26, 2009

Hip & Cool but Not Worth Downsides

Hip boutique hotel - the room was spacious and contemporary with exposed brick walls and a great walk-in shower. There was no spa, which was disappointing and no lobby to speak of, but the service was good. The minibar was lightly stocked and grossly overpriced ($240 for a bottle of Grey Goose) but the staff was quick to bring whatever was needed that may not have been in the room (cranberry juice and soda in my case). I read a few reviews and was aware of the noise issue - and it is an issue. There was a jazz concert across the street and even though i was on the fourth floor, it sounded as if i were backstage. The gaslamp is never quiet, so bring along a few ambien and prepare for sirens, garabage pickup and partygoers making noise pretty much all night and all morning ... and as long as you dont have alot to do the next day...you'll be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Centro, CA
May 24, 2009

Orbitz has terrible customer service

We never even got to check into the hotel. When we went to the front desk to check in the hotel never had a reservation for us. When I called customer service for Oritz, they were no help to us. Orbitz has the reservationbut never sent it to the hotel. They told me that I had o find my own hotel and that I could check in after 10pm. Crazy right?? Well Oritz apparently didnt think so. The only thing they could do for us was refund our money. I am extremely dissapointed in Orbitz. Shame on you Orbitz!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 29, 2008

Stay only if you don't plan on sleeping

I stayed at this hotel while in town for a conference. Although the idea of this boutique hotel is great, as is the location. My room, even though I was on the top floor, was so incredibly noisy on account of the nightclubs, bars and people out on the street below at all hours that a sound night of sleep was impossible. When I finally began to dose off around 3:30am, I was awoken by the trash cans being emptied and glass bottles smashing outside my room around 6am. When I complained about the noise and questioned why the window aren't double paned (which they are not), I was told that this was because the hotel is a historical building and they can't change the windows to make it more quiet in the rooms. If you are in town to party--this is a great spot, but if you want to get a full night of rest, don't even think about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top