$176 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

The Keating

4 stars
View map of 432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Keating

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMtrav
Business
NJ
Mar 26, 2013

Special exceptions

I stayed for 1 week. I used the hotel for sleeping and a couple hrs work/night in the hotel. It's a very satisfactory experience with some exceptions. The hotel charges about $10/24h for Wifi despite the payment. My room had bare floors, which were cold. The bed was very comfortable. The room is spacious with a "warehouse" and well-decorated contemporary style. Staff was very friendly and cleaning service good. A holiday Sun. night was very noisy outside for several hrs and a Thursday night was somewhat noisy for a couple hrs; it did not bother a heavy sleeper. An additional $3/night "historic tax" was charged to my bill on checkout. The location is excellent for accessing local eateries and the convention center. This hotel is generally as satisfactory as most others except for the exceptions described above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BobBobBobJaneBob
Business
San Francisco
Mar 1, 2013

no sleeping here

This hotel is not appropriate for anyone who is interested in actually sleeping at night, and especially is not appropriate for families. The pounding music and the late night parties in the hotel made is nearly impossible to get any sleep at all. That said, if you want a party weekend in San Diego this would be just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe 21 has a really nice breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rico Carty
Business
San Diego
Feb 14, 2013

Strong Service

Would stay again at this hotel. The service at Keating was strong

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr. elliot
Business
europe
Feb 9, 2013

business hotel,for travellers and couples

nice hotel, which is getting older. some renovation is needed. Internet acess is expencive and did not work. no charge for not working but if you need it and it does not work .........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kkathleen
Business
Omaha, Ne
Jan 21, 2013

odd hotel

The Keating was in a good location especially if you like to go out at night. The rooms were strange. The open shower in particular was odd. No door on the shower. The floors were cement both in the shower and in the room. There was an enormous expresso machine on the sink, with no directions. And because of the machine, very little space for toiletries. I was disappointed that the hotel had no food service whatsoever. This was especially an issue in the morning. The color scheme was bold and interesting. Bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinochio
Business
Hawaii
Dec 9, 2012

A Great Experience

Room design is unique, stuff is friendly and helpful, location is convenient, food is superb. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJG from MI
Business
St. Joseph, MI
Nov 26, 2012

Terrific!!

This hotel was terrific!! he location, quality of the accommodations and the attentiveness of the staff were first rate. This is neat, a bit eclectic hotel in the heart of the gaslamp district. You can walk to everything in this area. I'd highly recommend this hotel to someone looking for a fun experience..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

21

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Middleage business
Business
Providence, RI
Oct 22, 2012

Close to San Diego Convention center

Good location, walking distance to the San Diego Convention Center, but depending on your room can be noisy. Modern rooms: showers are open with bathroom incorporated to the room, OK but odd specially if sharing a room. Breakfast was included but did no start unil 8am and was not able to get breakfast since I had to be at meetings at that time. Staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maumee Ohio
Nov 24, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel is located in the heart of the San Diego Gas Light district with dining and entertainment all around. The hotel has modern amenities like an espresso machine, a top of the line TV and entertainment system by Bang & Olufsen,a "monsoon" shower, and a luxuriously comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining choices abound to satisfy even the most discriminating traveler.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Keating

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AHB
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Awesome Hotel in Ideal Location

I initially chose this hotel because I loved the overall design. It's different, modern, and conceptual, but still extremely comfortable. It is not a conventional hotel and therefore may not be for everyone. Personally I loved staying there and would definitely stay there again. It is right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, which is where my boyfriend and I wanted to spend the majority of our time. It did get somewhat noisy, but that's to be expected given it's location. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to accommodate us. They were eager to give us suggestions as to where to go and help us find the most ideal route to get there. Overall, it was an awesome hotel and worth every penny. The Keating is definitely on the top of my list of places to stay the next time I go to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top