$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
447 reviews
Dana is great

Helpful, friendly staff, fun kids stuff, great food, close to everything, cheap. See full review

  • Aggro Dad
  • Aug 27, 2014
World traveler and Return customer !

Guest services. After a few minor blinders with my reservation being lost the first day of my... See full review

  • Nurse mother traveler
  • Aug 9, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (447)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Angry Guest
New York, New York
Nov 9, 2013

BED BUGS!!!!!

This trip was for my fiance and his sisters birthday present! We found spiders and bugs in the room and bath tub but didn't bother to notify the staff and just took care of it on our own because, what can you do bugs are bugs. BUT! to return home with bed bug bites that is something the hotel should take care of!!! my fiance and I used one room and his sister and her husband used the other! ALL FOUR of us got the bites from TWO DIFFERENT ROOMS!! We've tried numerous times of trying to get hold of the hotel, only thing they would say is "we'll transfer you to our supervisor" in which she wouldn't even pick up the calls nor return any calls after we had left the vmails. Its very disappointing to spend such money, ie: resort fee of 20 per day!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE GOING HERE FOR ANY OCCASION!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peacefully at peace
san diego ca sea world
Jul 24, 2012

very Disappointing vacation

First I want to say that I got lost on the first night there. I was told to follow the shuittle who came to pick up the rest of our group. Well following the driver was not possible to say the least I got lost. Then on top of that they tried to charge us for the shuttle by billing both of our rooms that we had. I was not impressed with the hotel at all I think that it was a step up from motel 6 if that! I meant there was blood on my floor. Also I had requested a late check oput way before we went on vacation seeing how we had 2 little ones and our flight didnt leave until 6:25 pm so we were told sorry all we can do is give you until1:00 pm and then you will have to go, but anything you need you let us know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to ask questions on everything,and about everything before you commit! Because it seemed every where we turned we were paying outrageous prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Diego lover Julie
San Diego
Mar 31, 2014

Not worth it

For the cost of staying at this motel it was not worth it. It was extremely noisy and uncomfortable. The room was worn and dated. The front desk staff wanted us to upgrade to a more expensive room. We won't stay here again even though it was conveniently located to many San Diego features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own bikes. There are many conveniently located bike paths.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles,ca
Dec 6, 2010

The Dana = not again

The hotel at first appeared really nice. We found out the hotel is really old and the renovated only half of it. We were disappointed that the fitness center was under construction and were told we could use another facility for $10 a day. The first room we had was cute and I want to say rustic. They were old school bungalows, it did not have central air, but a wall unit. The room was really cold. Unfortunately, we had other hotel guests that were really loud and brought a bus load of kids with them. We could hear them screaming with the doors shut and windows closed. We went to the front desk to change our room. We were offered an upgrade for $50 extra a night, we decided to go for it. The second room was in the newly created condo style rooms that were built recently. That room had central air and was twice the size of the other room. Unfortunately, they did not clean the place very well. There were ants in the bed, we had to get the maid service to change the sheets and pillow cases. One of the shades were broken that covered teh sliding glass door to the balcony. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel. The towels were stained and there would be the appearance of ants in all sorts of places which didn't make sense because no food was ever brought into the room. It was a bad experience. Don't go to the Dana, pay a little more and stay in downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Try the 2 hour bay harbor cruise, it was fun and informative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unimpressed Customer
Corona, CA
Sep 1, 2009

The hotel sucks

Overall experienced was terrible. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone for the price. The place is motel moonlighting as a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 27, 2011

Never again

The outside appearance from a distance seemed to look nice, but it looked like a motel. Once we entered in our room, the sink was immediately on the left with no door or privacy. The room looked like they were trying to update it but with no success. There was no closet, but a cabinet to put your clothes in. The smell in the room was awful, it reminded me of urnine. I refused to take my shoes off because the floor didn't look all that clean. The pool was nice and there were beautiful trees all around, location was nice but I will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to SeaWorld.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
May 3, 2010

I felt cheated

The rate I was quoted didn't include parking, add $16 ea. The plumbing was ancient, three flushes minimum. Guest services, movies and other features on the TV didn't work. There was a lot of traffic noise at night. The desk clerk didn't ask about our stay as they could care less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Wave at Mission Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KLandE
CA
Aug 15, 2009

Not the place for an infant.

Room was very loud especially during babies nap times. You could hear every sound coming through the walls. The crib the hotel supplied was extremely hard to put our baby in. In fact my wife could not hold him lean over and reach the mattress. We had to even call 4 times to get it delivered to the room. The floor was dirty. We didnt even allow our son to sit or walk on the floor. Very poor over all experience. We had stayed 2 months earlier at the Hyatt across the street and that is where we will be staying from here on. If you have an infant or toddler do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice location to Mission Beach. Thats about all that was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, MN
Jun 24, 2010

Unpleasant Surprise

My unpleasant experience began when I arrived at the registration desk. There was no one there. I waited, I called out, but no response. Finally had to go behind the desk to the office area and ask for the clerk to check me in. I was told during check-in that there was a $16 per day added fee for having a vehicle. [...] I ended up going back to the lobby to get directions to the building where my room was after driving around the entire facility. Very poorly marked. Finally, the parking spots are way too small. It was a very tight fit to get in and out of the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NY FRENCHY
USA
Jan 10, 2013

GREAT LOCATION FOR SEA WORLD AND EASY ACCESS TO OTHER PARTS OF SD

THIS IS A LOVELY HOTEL-MOTEL, RIGHT ON THE WATER WITH YACHTS AND JETSKIS AT YOUR DOORSTEP AVAILABLE FOR RENT..THE STAF IS BRIGHT, PRETTY AND HELPFUL.RESTAURANT IS ON THE PREMISES AND MAKES IT EASY TO HAVE BREAKFAST LUNCH AND DINNER /OR ROOM SERVICE.. AND I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search