$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
454 reviews
Very nice place

Great service, comfortable and clean rooms on the beach. Highly recommended. See full review

  • Grunny13
  • Dec 19, 2014
Excellent Sea World vacation

Hotel is right on the bay, with beautiful views. There are paddle board rentals a short walk away.... See full review

  • Andrew and kids from WA
  • Nov 18, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 454
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 29, 2008

Something for everyone

The Dana Resort at Mission Bay was a very welcoming respite from the inversion in Utah. Our room was well laid out and the service was excellent. My husband had a broken ankle and we were able to use the complimentary shuttle as well as a borrowed wheelchair. We ate on site everyday which is very unusual for us. The food and service were great-our room service breakfast was hot when it arrived. The temperature was only in the low 60's and the heated pool wasn't warm enough to use. If you stay here be sure to walk across the bridge and take a few rides on the roller coaster at Belmont Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea World is a 15 minute walk and the Pacific Ocean are an easy 20 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pg
Business
Halifax,Canada
Nov 25, 2009

Great Waterfront Hotel

This is a well run,first class hotel.Try for a room in the new section overlooking the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurants were fine...good selection and good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lollo
Business
Alameda, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Thanksgiving

The hotel is at a very good location. Great breakfast restaurant and nice rooms. We enjoyed the swimming pool with all the tropical plants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bobkat
Business
Sparks, NV, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Wow, The Dana is the best

Last minute booking, great rate. Wow, room was far better than expected, clean, excellent sundries, robes and pool towels in room, fat towels in bathroom, short walk to restaruants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vanessa at the Firefly is a bartender of note.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Rat Johnny B
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Feb 16, 2012

The place to spend some time in San Diego

With plenty of things to see and do right on property, this is the place to relax and spend some prime leisure time. The rooms were a bit small, but being an older establishment, that was the build of the day. They have kept up with remodels and yet retained the "well aged ambiance" that is The DANA......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

With so much to do here, bring appropriate shoes, shorts, and attire for a lot of activity's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Panama Canal Bound
Business
Virginia
Apr 5, 2012

At the Dana

Wish i could have stayed longer! Beautiful Pleasant Lots to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hann
Business
san diego
Sep 25, 2012

Great Hotel

We arrived right at the check in time and we were informed our room had been upgraded and it would be a 20 minute wait. After waiting an hour we received a second upgrade to a beautiful room with a porch with access to the bay area. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the waiting we had to do did not matter. The pools are incredible and so is the breakfast. Parking is 20 dollars so keep that in mind. If I come back, I will be staying at this hotel. (it is also right in the middle of everything, they have a sheet with directions to all main attractions if you ask for it)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
squasharose
Business
Lake Elsinore, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Fabulous

I love this vacation spot and will definetly go back. The only downer was the customer service when we tried to rent the jet ski's was poor and we didn't rent them because the way we were treated by the gentleman working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoeCW
Business
NJ
Dec 18, 2012

great sea world location

great stay with shuttle to Sea World. Food at Blue Pearl good and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

shuttle to Sea World

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan 12345
Business
Grayling, MI
Apr 7, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. The staff was wonderful. The lady in the gift shop gave us some helpful suggestions; we were planning on visiting Legoland but decided against it as she told us it was mainly for younger children (we left our kids at home). A mother in the gift shop, with two young children, also told us Legoland wasn't worth the money and was only worth visiting once if you had children. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Sea World several times per day, which was nice. We went to Sea World on our second day and enjoyed ourselves. The shows were very cute; we particularly enjoyed the sea lion and otter show. The Manta roller coaster was very fun. Probably my wife's favorite day. Our third day we took the public bus to the zoo. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that will bring you to Mission Beach or the Old Town transit center (from which you can get pretty much anywhere). The bus drivers were very friendly and helpful. We always felt safe. For me the zoo was the best place to visit. Even though there were a lot of people, everyone was spread out. Absolutely beautiful. Our fourth and fifth day we took the Old Town Trolley Tour. They pick you up right at the hotel every morning at 8:30 and bring you back later in the afternoon. The tour was very interesting and the drivers were very nice. The tour is two hours long; you can get off at about 10 stops and get back on about every 30 minutes. On our fourth day we went to the Midway Museum, which wasn't really our thing so we didn't stay long. Then we went downtown to the Gaslamp Quarter and had lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe. We felt kinda rushed to make it back to Old Town to catch our shuttle back to the hotel at 4:15 so we didn't really do anything else. On our fifth day we took the Trolley again, this time we went straight to Coronado, which was beautiful. Nice beach, nice city. Definitely recommend. Had lunch at the Costa Azul, very nice. Laid on the beach for a bit. Again, we felt kinda rushed. I would recommend the Trolley, but the ride itself takes up two hours of your day. During our stay we visited the Blue Pearl three times and also had room service several times. The staff was prompt and very nice. Only one complaint by my wife (soggy waffle) during our stay. The prices were reasonable. We didn't visit the Firefly. The pool area we visited (they have two) was near the marina; only complaint was the lounge cushions were dirty looking. Otherwise, the pool and spa were nice and clean. On checkout there was a mistake on my bill that was quickly rectified when I pointed it out. They offer a shuttle service to the airport every hour for $10 per person (cheaper than the $30 taxi ride from the airport when we arrived). The room was clean (my wife noted that the tile floors were not clean enough; I couldn't tell). Nice television with reasonable cable TV options. The bed and pillows were comfortable (we're kinda picky). Keurig coffeemaker with regular and french vanilla creamer, replenished everyday. Housekeeping lady didn't speak English, but that wasn't really a problem. Air conditioning wouldn't work unless I unplugged it halfway. We slept on the second floor. I wasn't bothered at all by other guests; my wife was. She's more sensitive to noise. I took several walks along the Bay; there is a nice walking path. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can order food from the Blue Pearl and pick it up yourself, thereby avoiding a $3.00 delivery fee and 18% gratuity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top