$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill
Jan 2, 2009

Great Place to Relax

I wanted to find a nice place to relax for a week that had a good pool, a relaxing atmosphere and was close to local attractions. The Dana on Mission Bay had it! The room was comfy and clean with a nice view of the pool area. The hotel is situated right on a walk along the bay with great landscaping and views. The staff is helpful and friendly and the 2 restaurants offer both fine dining as well as a less expensive alternative with great food. My only negative comment would be that I did not know parking would cost extra until arriving at the hotel and the housekeeping staff was a bit aggressive at times in pestering you to get into the room to clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renagade
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 16, 2009

Peaceful getaway

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Great Anniversary Trip

We stayed at The Dana on Mission Bay for our anniversary and it was wonderful. Our room was very clean and the view was beautiful! The room had a sitting area with a loveseat and a desk with two chairs. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The overall style and quality of the room was very good. The shower was attractively tiled and the vanity area was also. The only thing more that we would have liked would have been an exhaust fan in the bathroom. It did get a bit steamy during showers if you closed the door. It was extremely convenient to Balboa Park and downtown San Diego but when we returned to the hotel it was like being on an island. There were many good restuarants close to the hotel. We did not eat at the more formal restuarant but the casual dining restuarant served good food with nice portions and the breakfast was served quickly. The only negatives were that the Dana is a very popular place to have weddings. There were 3 while we were there from Friday afternoon until Sunday. This caused problems with parking as the lot there is small. I was unhappy that I was charged $12 per day to park and then couldn't even park close to the building that our room was in. I have never before had to pay for parking at a hotel that I was a guest at. We found that we could survive the parking problem in light of how much we enjoyed everything else. We intend to make the Dana on Mission Bay our regular anniversary escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything from grocery stores to the Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo is close. We found grocery stores within 2 miles and it was only about 8 miles to Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo. Sea World is walking distance from the hotel.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson
Sep 20, 2008

Great location...great staff!

We stayed in deluxe bay view room at The Dana hotel on Mission Bay. The view was beautiful. Our only concern was that the bay view rooms border a public park and I asked that our first floor room be changed to second floor for security purposes. The staff was very accommodating; moving us while we spent the day at Sea World, which was just across the road. The grounds are patrolled by security personnel during the evening, so there really was no issue. Rooms were clean and the rooms we were in had nice size balcony with small table and chairs and had a coffeemaker, microwave and refrig. Two pools, spa and upscale and family restaurant on property. Outdoor patio with happy hour specials served. Complimentary airport and Sea World shuttle available, and concierge arranged for our Old Towne Trolley tickets. My husband doesn't enjoy driving, so we were able to see the sights of San Diego without ever having to rent a car. Concierge desk also obtained our Southwest airlines boarding passes while we spent the day we touring on the Old Towne Trolley. We would definitely stay at the Dana again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Picnic benches, firepits, and kids were having a ball feeding the sea gulls. From our balcony, we especially enjoyed watching the eights rowing teams practice from a local college each day.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fontana
Oct 8, 2008

Very nice stay

The Dana was very comfortable. Originally had a room facing a swimming pool, no bay view. However, we upgraded to a bay view room and were extreemly happy we did. The room was more spacious, nice view, with a patio. We felt it was worth the money to have that nicer room. Only a short 5 minute drive to the beach. They have a free shuttle to Sea World, which we took advantage of in the morning, however, we opted to walk back to the hotel, about a 15 minute walk. Overall, a really good experience with the Dana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Oct 5, 2008

Best Value,User Friendly

The Dana is resort-like in it's amenities, and the staff are the friendliest I've ever encountered. The place sits on several acres with a marina adjacent. There is a small convenience store/bait&tackle shop within close walking distance that opens at 6 am and has fabulous deli sandwiches for 7$ and under including great breakfast choices. The hotel has several older sections and 2 huge new wings with bay views. The 2 story sections are clean, comfortable, and accessible.the 2 restaurants offer great food at reasonable prices, and both have friendly staff. One is upscale with trendy multiple course dinners, and one is more family oriented. The 2 pools have adjoining jacuzzi pools that are heaven after a long day of San Diego attractions, and one has a Cabana bar with an on-call barkeep.It's located freeway minutes from everywhere you'd want to go and the salt air in the morning is simply fantastic. We are DEFINITELY going back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

boats,bikes,and other water gear are available at the Marina.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Family Friendly

The Dana has a great location. It is within walking distance to Sea World. It has a nice view of Mission Bay. It has 2 restaurants, one for families and the other more for adults and more pricey. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Aug 5, 2011

the hotel and the whole trip was amazing

the hotel was everything they said . great for getting away and relaxing, wheather was very comfortable. the staff was very friendly and helpful. i will go back to the dana on mission bay agin. it was our first time and everyone was so nice and helpful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the two dining areas our well kept and great food and varity. lots of other location to dine at too.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weis Cruise Escapades
Business
Bear River City, UT
Apr 25, 2010

Great hotel!

We arrived at the hotel prior to boarding on Carnival Cruise Lines for our Baja Mexico trip. I wish we had more time to enjoy the amenities. We would have used the pool and rented some water toys. The hotel allowed us to park in their parking lot all week while we were on the cruise for a very nominal fee. They also provided wonderful shuttle service to and from the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 13, 2007

Family friendly

The Dana on MIssion Bay staff, conceirge, and shuttle drivers were very helpful and accomodating. They left a slice of cake for my daughter in her birthday with a card and she thought that was totally cool that they surprised her with room service like that. The shuttle is complimentary and has desiginated times but they definitely try work out a ride at some point for you. Sea World is a walk away and seemed very safe when we walked it at all different times of the day. I requested a microwave half way through the week, I wish I would have asked for it earlier because I had it delivered within minutes. The bathrooms in the older section of rooms could have been nicer and the comforters are pretty cheap. Otherwise lobby, computer, pool, and restaraunts were ideal for my family. They even had an egg hunt on Easter. THe Blue Pearl restaurant Carne Asade and kids menu servings were more than enough and very good. THe property is also very beautiful. Be sure to rent bikes right on the property and enjoy riding down Mission/Pacific Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Sea World is a short walk through a marina and a parking lot. Mission Beach?Belmont Park is accesible by walking, bike or the shuttle. The zoo is a three bus trip away but very easy to do if you would rather pay 2.25 a person instead $20 for a cab. Target/grocery are few stops away on bus.

Back to menu Return to top