$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
452 reviews
Excellent Sea World vacation

Hotel is right on the bay, with beautiful views. There are paddle board rentals a short walk away.... See full review

  • Andrew and kids from WA
  • Nov 18, 2014
perfect

it was beautiful bay view .. a home away from home ... it was wonderful..... See full review

  • jj.one
  • Oct 12, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (452)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
452 out of 452
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill
Jan 2, 2009

Great Place to Relax

I wanted to find a nice place to relax for a week that had a good pool, a relaxing atmosphere and was close to local attractions. The Dana on Mission Bay had it! The room was comfy and clean with a nice view of the pool area. The hotel is situated right on a walk along the bay with great landscaping and views. The staff is helpful and friendly and the 2 restaurants offer both fine dining as well as a less expensive alternative with great food. My only negative comment would be that I did not know parking would cost extra until arriving at the hotel and the housekeeping staff was a bit aggressive at times in pestering you to get into the room to clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renagade
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 16, 2009

Peaceful getaway

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Great Anniversary Trip

We stayed at The Dana on Mission Bay for our anniversary and it was wonderful. Our room was very clean and the view was beautiful! The room had a sitting area with a loveseat and a desk with two chairs. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The overall style and quality of the room was very good. The shower was attractively tiled and the vanity area was also. The only thing more that we would have liked would have been an exhaust fan in the bathroom. It did get a bit steamy during showers if you closed the door. It was extremely convenient to Balboa Park and downtown San Diego but when we returned to the hotel it was like being on an island. There were many good restuarants close to the hotel. We did not eat at the more formal restuarant but the casual dining restuarant served good food with nice portions and the breakfast was served quickly. The only negatives were that the Dana is a very popular place to have weddings. There were 3 while we were there from Friday afternoon until Sunday. This caused problems with parking as the lot there is small. I was unhappy that I was charged $12 per day to park and then couldn't even park close to the building that our room was in. I have never before had to pay for parking at a hotel that I was a guest at. We found that we could survive the parking problem in light of how much we enjoyed everything else. We intend to make the Dana on Mission Bay our regular anniversary escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything from grocery stores to the Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo is close. We found grocery stores within 2 miles and it was only about 8 miles to Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo. Sea World is walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson
Sep 20, 2008

Great location...great staff!

We stayed in deluxe bay view room at The Dana hotel on Mission Bay. The view was beautiful. Our only concern was that the bay view rooms border a public park and I asked that our first floor room be changed to second floor for security purposes. The staff was very accommodating; moving us while we spent the day at Sea World, which was just across the road. The grounds are patrolled by security personnel during the evening, so there really was no issue. Rooms were clean and the rooms we were in had nice size balcony with small table and chairs and had a coffeemaker, microwave and refrig. Two pools, spa and upscale and family restaurant on property. Outdoor patio with happy hour specials served. Complimentary airport and Sea World shuttle available, and concierge arranged for our Old Towne Trolley tickets. My husband doesn't enjoy driving, so we were able to see the sights of San Diego without ever having to rent a car. Concierge desk also obtained our Southwest airlines boarding passes while we spent the day we touring on the Old Towne Trolley. We would definitely stay at the Dana again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Picnic benches, firepits, and kids were having a ball feeding the sea gulls. From our balcony, we especially enjoyed watching the eights rowing teams practice from a local college each day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fontana
Oct 8, 2008

Very nice stay

The Dana was very comfortable. Originally had a room facing a swimming pool, no bay view. However, we upgraded to a bay view room and were extreemly happy we did. The room was more spacious, nice view, with a patio. We felt it was worth the money to have that nicer room. Only a short 5 minute drive to the beach. They have a free shuttle to Sea World, which we took advantage of in the morning, however, we opted to walk back to the hotel, about a 15 minute walk. Overall, a really good experience with the Dana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Oct 5, 2008

Best Value,User Friendly

The Dana is resort-like in it's amenities, and the staff are the friendliest I've ever encountered. The place sits on several acres with a marina adjacent. There is a small convenience store/bait&tackle shop within close walking distance that opens at 6 am and has fabulous deli sandwiches for 7$ and under including great breakfast choices. The hotel has several older sections and 2 huge new wings with bay views. The 2 story sections are clean, comfortable, and accessible.the 2 restaurants offer great food at reasonable prices, and both have friendly staff. One is upscale with trendy multiple course dinners, and one is more family oriented. The 2 pools have adjoining jacuzzi pools that are heaven after a long day of San Diego attractions, and one has a Cabana bar with an on-call barkeep.It's located freeway minutes from everywhere you'd want to go and the salt air in the morning is simply fantastic. We are DEFINITELY going back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

boats,bikes,and other water gear are available at the Marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Family Friendly

The Dana has a great location. It is within walking distance to Sea World. It has a nice view of Mission Bay. It has 2 restaurants, one for families and the other more for adults and more pricey. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Aug 5, 2011

the hotel and the whole trip was amazing

the hotel was everything they said . great for getting away and relaxing, wheather was very comfortable. the staff was very friendly and helpful. i will go back to the dana on mission bay agin. it was our first time and everyone was so nice and helpful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the two dining areas our well kept and great food and varity. lots of other location to dine at too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weis Cruise Escapades
Business
Bear River City, UT
Apr 25, 2010

Great hotel!

We arrived at the hotel prior to boarding on Carnival Cruise Lines for our Baja Mexico trip. I wish we had more time to enjoy the amenities. We would have used the pool and rented some water toys. The hotel allowed us to park in their parking lot all week while we were on the cruise for a very nominal fee. They also provided wonderful shuttle service to and from the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 13, 2007

Family friendly

The Dana on MIssion Bay staff, conceirge, and shuttle drivers were very helpful and accomodating. They left a slice of cake for my daughter in her birthday with a card and she thought that was totally cool that they surprised her with room service like that. The shuttle is complimentary and has desiginated times but they definitely try work out a ride at some point for you. Sea World is a walk away and seemed very safe when we walked it at all different times of the day. I requested a microwave half way through the week, I wish I would have asked for it earlier because I had it delivered within minutes. The bathrooms in the older section of rooms could have been nicer and the comforters are pretty cheap. Otherwise lobby, computer, pool, and restaraunts were ideal for my family. They even had an egg hunt on Easter. THe Blue Pearl restaurant Carne Asade and kids menu servings were more than enough and very good. THe property is also very beautiful. Be sure to rent bikes right on the property and enjoy riding down Mission/Pacific Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Sea World is a short walk through a marina and a parking lot. Mission Beach?Belmont Park is accesible by walking, bike or the shuttle. The zoo is a three bus trip away but very easy to do if you would rather pay 2.25 a person instead $20 for a cab. Target/grocery are few stops away on bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top