$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
473 out of 473
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nilla
Business
Encino,California
Jun 13, 2013

Great hotel and location!

We really enjoy our stay at the Dana on Mission Bay, we take a walk everyday along the boardwalk, the salt water pool is perfect ,we have a great breakfast at the blue pearl and excellent dinner at the firefly restaurant, the lentil salad & sweet potatoes fries are perfect, we also enjoy the outdoor crystals fire-pit every night with our family before bedtime. Overall this hotel is so perfect for our family mini vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly has great appetizer and reasonable price for breakfast & dinner, make sure to use the coupon they gave you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virgomom
Business
san francisco
Nov 9, 2013

Mini Vacation/Celebration of my father who passed

I like this hotel because its right on the Marina and such a beautiful scenery. I also love the two pools and the two restaurants on site. The beds are extremely comfortable. The showers could be improved, and the rooms a tiny bit bigger, but over-all it was very comfortable. I like that the hotel has a bike and boat rental on site. I also like that its only a $6 cab ride to the beach. This was my second stay here and I'd probably stay again. This trip was to celebrate my father who passed away this year. He loved San Diego and it was his birthday on 11/7. I wanted to be where he liked to be and honor him in the best way I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Misson Bay Beach...great place to walk and walk and take in the ocean breeze.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minivacay Queen
Business
Cerritos, California
Nov 14, 2013

Great location

My boyfriend and I took a little trip with the intention of exploring sea world which is literally right next to this hotel. We ended up finding so many good foodie finds all a short drive from this spot that we were able to enjoy not only sea world but Pacific beach! The room was very clean, considerably big for two, and had a nice view. Nothing was missing and everything worked. Perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the shuttle to go to places! It's included in your hotel fee so you don't have to pay for parking anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
May 12, 2008

Walking Distance to Mission Beach Strip

We were only staying in San Diego two nights before leaving on a cruise, so we tried to find a hotel that had a shuttle to the airport and cruise terminal, but would also allow us to see the sights of San Diego. The Dana on the Bay ended up working perfect for us. We made it to San Diego around 4 PM and our shuttle driver told us we should walk to Mission Beach/Belmont Park. It took about ten minutes. We ended up riding an old wooden roller coaster at Belmont Park and walking along the beach. It was nice to have something to do close to the hotel since we arrived so late. The next day we walked out of the hotel and directly across the street there was a bus stop that took us to a depot where we could get on other buses or trolleys. We were able to visit the Zoo, Balboa Park, Fashion Valley and the area around the USS Midway before heading back to the hotel--all of this for only $5.00 day pass on the bus/trolley--no taxi necessary. The grounds at Dana on Mission Bay along with the pools were very nice. And we liked how the rooms were not all in one big building. We had a terrific time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind figuring out bus and trolley routes hop on bus #9 across from the hotel. We were able to go everywhere at very little expense AND we got to see a lot of the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Good location

We had lived in SanDiego and were back to reunite with friends, to revisit the city and its restaurants and to go north to the beaches at LaJolla and Solana Beach. Our son was looking at graduate schools in the area, also. The hotel was located so we could easily go south to the city and north to the beach locales all within five to twenty minutes of driving. It was a great spot for us for the reasons we had come to San Diego. We ate breakfast there and found the Firefly restaurant was much better than we expected and the other restaurant fed us a great meal, pleasantly served and presented, one night around nine o'clock. The swimming pools are definitely for families. They were full most of the time. The hotel served our purposes well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gloria RN
Business
Denver, Co
Feb 10, 2010

Great Hotel!

Loved the hotel and location! Was close to everything! The only thing I didn't like was that a continental breakfast would have been nice too. And most hotels that we've stayed in before had free Wi Fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

SeaWorld is right around the corner and a hotel shuttle takes you there and picks you up. Saves on parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mckinney
Jun 21, 2008

entire staff was very helpful

I would stay at this hotel again, the rooms were clean,the proximity to seaworld was great.Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and did everything to make it very enjoyable.Even the shuttles from the airport and to seaworld was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

the blue pearl restaurant was very good for breakfast,had a lot of options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 20, 2008

My review of The Dana On Mission Bay

very,very nice....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Great Vacation Retreat

The location of The Dana was very accessible to the beaches of San Diego and downtown. Both pools were very well kept and enjoyable, the pool bar was also very well staffed with friendly employees. Enjoyed having the bicycle rentals at the marina. Did not have the opportunity to eat at the dining facilities. The room was very neat and clean and the beds were also comfy. Would reccommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GReat restaurant on Mission Beach called World Famous One of the best meals I had while in San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbydebb
Business
Connecticut
Aug 13, 2009

The best!

We visited the San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park,went snorkelling and kayaking thru the Caves of the seven seas in LaJolla, boogie boarding, and cycling. I really enjoyed staying at Dana Landing. Great location. On my next return, I plan on staying at Dana. I've recommended the place to my co-wrokers and friends. I am unable to compare the trip to previous trips since it wasn't in San Diego. However, i do have to say i loved it and didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top