$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 20, 2008

My review of The Dana On Mission Bay

very,very nice....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Great Vacation Retreat

The location of The Dana was very accessible to the beaches of San Diego and downtown. Both pools were very well kept and enjoyable, the pool bar was also very well staffed with friendly employees. Enjoyed having the bicycle rentals at the marina. Did not have the opportunity to eat at the dining facilities. The room was very neat and clean and the beds were also comfy. Would reccommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GReat restaurant on Mission Beach called World Famous One of the best meals I had while in San Diego.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbydebb
Family
Connecticut
Aug 13, 2009

The best!

We visited the San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park,went snorkelling and kayaking thru the Caves of the seven seas in LaJolla, boogie boarding, and cycling. I really enjoyed staying at Dana Landing. Great location. On my next return, I plan on staying at Dana. I've recommended the place to my co-wrokers and friends. I am unable to compare the trip to previous trips since it wasn't in San Diego. However, i do have to say i loved it and didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill
Jan 2, 2009

Great Place to Relax

I wanted to find a nice place to relax for a week that had a good pool, a relaxing atmosphere and was close to local attractions. The Dana on Mission Bay had it! The room was comfy and clean with a nice view of the pool area. The hotel is situated right on a walk along the bay with great landscaping and views. The staff is helpful and friendly and the 2 restaurants offer both fine dining as well as a less expensive alternative with great food. My only negative comment would be that I did not know parking would cost extra until arriving at the hotel and the housekeeping staff was a bit aggressive at times in pestering you to get into the room to clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renagade
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 16, 2009

Peaceful getaway

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Great Anniversary Trip

We stayed at The Dana on Mission Bay for our anniversary and it was wonderful. Our room was very clean and the view was beautiful! The room had a sitting area with a loveseat and a desk with two chairs. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The overall style and quality of the room was very good. The shower was attractively tiled and the vanity area was also. The only thing more that we would have liked would have been an exhaust fan in the bathroom. It did get a bit steamy during showers if you closed the door. It was extremely convenient to Balboa Park and downtown San Diego but when we returned to the hotel it was like being on an island. There were many good restuarants close to the hotel. We did not eat at the more formal restuarant but the casual dining restuarant served good food with nice portions and the breakfast was served quickly. The only negatives were that the Dana is a very popular place to have weddings. There were 3 while we were there from Friday afternoon until Sunday. This caused problems with parking as the lot there is small. I was unhappy that I was charged $12 per day to park and then couldn't even park close to the building that our room was in. I have never before had to pay for parking at a hotel that I was a guest at. We found that we could survive the parking problem in light of how much we enjoyed everything else. We intend to make the Dana on Mission Bay our regular anniversary escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything from grocery stores to the Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo is close. We found grocery stores within 2 miles and it was only about 8 miles to Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo. Sea World is walking distance from the hotel.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Henderson
Sep 20, 2008

Great location...great staff!

We stayed in deluxe bay view room at The Dana hotel on Mission Bay. The view was beautiful. Our only concern was that the bay view rooms border a public park and I asked that our first floor room be changed to second floor for security purposes. The staff was very accommodating; moving us while we spent the day at Sea World, which was just across the road. The grounds are patrolled by security personnel during the evening, so there really was no issue. Rooms were clean and the rooms we were in had nice size balcony with small table and chairs and had a coffeemaker, microwave and refrig. Two pools, spa and upscale and family restaurant on property. Outdoor patio with happy hour specials served. Complimentary airport and Sea World shuttle available, and concierge arranged for our Old Towne Trolley tickets. My husband doesn't enjoy driving, so we were able to see the sights of San Diego without ever having to rent a car. Concierge desk also obtained our Southwest airlines boarding passes while we spent the day we touring on the Old Towne Trolley. We would definitely stay at the Dana again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Picnic benches, firepits, and kids were having a ball feeding the sea gulls. From our balcony, we especially enjoyed watching the eights rowing teams practice from a local college each day.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fontana
Oct 8, 2008

Very nice stay

The Dana was very comfortable. Originally had a room facing a swimming pool, no bay view. However, we upgraded to a bay view room and were extreemly happy we did. The room was more spacious, nice view, with a patio. We felt it was worth the money to have that nicer room. Only a short 5 minute drive to the beach. They have a free shuttle to Sea World, which we took advantage of in the morning, however, we opted to walk back to the hotel, about a 15 minute walk. Overall, a really good experience with the Dana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland
Oct 5, 2008

Best Value,User Friendly

The Dana is resort-like in it's amenities, and the staff are the friendliest I've ever encountered. The place sits on several acres with a marina adjacent. There is a small convenience store/bait&tackle shop within close walking distance that opens at 6 am and has fabulous deli sandwiches for 7$ and under including great breakfast choices. The hotel has several older sections and 2 huge new wings with bay views. The 2 story sections are clean, comfortable, and accessible.the 2 restaurants offer great food at reasonable prices, and both have friendly staff. One is upscale with trendy multiple course dinners, and one is more family oriented. The 2 pools have adjoining jacuzzi pools that are heaven after a long day of San Diego attractions, and one has a Cabana bar with an on-call barkeep.It's located freeway minutes from everywhere you'd want to go and the salt air in the morning is simply fantastic. We are DEFINITELY going back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

boats,bikes,and other water gear are available at the Marina.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Family Friendly

The Dana has a great location. It is within walking distance to Sea World. It has a nice view of Mission Bay. It has 2 restaurants, one for families and the other more for adults and more pricey. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top