$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
445 reviews
World traveler and Return customer !

Guest services. After a few minor blinders with my reservation being lost the first day of my... See full review

  • Nurse mother traveler
  • Aug 9, 2014
great location with nice room

Dana hotel was generally great. Our room was in a good location, near the pool, ice maker, gym,... See full review

  • Fugazzi
  • Jul 8, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (445)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
445 out of 445
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin, Proud Dad
Olathe, KS
Jul 29, 2011

What Side?

We went for the MCR graduation. The Dana picked us up at the airport, GREAT, Their drivers were very helpful with area information and what shuttles they could provide. COMICCON was being held at the same time so that shut off downtown to us. If you rely on taxi service becareful what company tou use, and if they speak fluent english. The rooms on the old side were clean but small, after there was a cancellation we asked to be moved to the new side 1000-2000 buildings and that made the remainder of the stay very nice. The new side has a balcony overlooking the bay which was very nice and the room had a pullout sofa which gave our Marine and daughters extra room. Old side rating @@1/2 stars new side @@@@@ stars. staff was very helpful, but they should let the drivers controll there own shuttle schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ello
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

so so

the bed is alittle too firm. other than that its alright. parking is a bit expensive ($18 /nite)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekend get-away
Baltimore, MD
Jun 17, 2009

decent rooms, great location, friendly

Our plan was to spend the weekend relaxing and exploring the San Diego area - we checked in late (late flight) and the staff was very accomodating and friendly. I suppose the one complaint was that the building/ room numbers are not very well lit (marked?) so it was hard to tell which building was ours at first - the rooms were clean and well appointed (big TV, many pillows/towels) etc.. but they did seem a little dated? Our room looked over the pool - which was pretty ... but then there is a bit of noise from children and people at the pool... not intolerable.. but there is noise. I imagine it would be quieter bay-side. Both resturaunts were very nice - we only ate at the Pearl for breakfast - but the food was great, and service was very good. It was really close to Mission beach - and a short drive to PB and San Diego city (just down RT5) - I suppose my only suggestion would be to have a cafe or a place to pick up a cup of coffee in the morning.. Other than that it was really a nice place to stay. I imagine it would be fantastic for families...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just down Mission Bay drive in Pacific Beach - there is a resturaunt/lounge called Jordan - We didn't get the chance to eat there - although I heard the food is fantastic - but the scene was modern and sleek - service great - and the view was perfect for a sunset

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trip Hopper
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 20, 2013

Average Hotel

The hotel lobby was nice and updated but if you choose the standard or upgraded room, prepare to be very close to the parking lot. The deluxe room has views of the water, but really nothing to marvel at. Walls are thin. Be prepared to pay extra for parking. Convenient for SeaWorld. Only book this hotel if you can get it at a discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Alarm
Canoga Park, CA
Apr 23, 2009

Try once and move on

Check in was uneventful. Had a nice walk around the premises and tried the pool which is cold for the weather. The jacuzzi was warm enough but a bit sandy at the bottom. The flat screen TV is a nice touch. The next day, no complimentary breakfast, we went to see the town and returned at 3 pm to see the room was not cleaned. Check out time you get quite a suprise to pay 12 bucks for parking. Overall, good for couples but not for trips that involves young kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hip business traveler
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 24, 2010

Really pretty, a little damp

The Dana is a great location, and the attention to foliage gives you the feeling of being hidden in a rainforest garden. Unfortunately, it was rainy when I visited San Diego, and as a result, my room often felt damp. The bathroom had a few evidences of this dampness. However, it was a great value, and terrific location. I would visit again if the occasion arose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Harp is a super cool local bar in Ocean Beach. As a small, locally owned, Irish pub, its friendly atmosphere and amazing staff make you feel like you're in your own favorite bar from home.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland Or
Jan 30, 2010

nice surroundings

first 3 nights were miserable. very noisy rooms, child crying all night next door. Kids overhead running. very poor sound proofing. was moved to different room across grounds then was moved again as they had room pre booked for following night which they had overlooked. would not recommend place for quiet R&R. clean and great local and staff however. no fitness center to speak of. two cardio machines non functioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great mass transit. can go anyplace in the city for a $5 day pass. Bus drivers are great. short walk to seaworld moderate walk to Pacific Beach.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aihong
Campbell, CA
Sep 11, 2012

Good hotel for vacation

When we checked in the hotel, they could not find our reservation. After checking for a while they got it and upgraded us to a room with balcony. The bus stop is just outside the hotel cross the road, very convenient to go to downtown and pacific beach. The mission bay view from our room is fantastic, just some traffic noise from the bridge, but after the door is closed, it did not bother us. The hotel is remodeled with flat TV, marble counter, roof to ceiling window, very clean. The check in and check out is very fast. The bay view in front of the hotel is very beautiful, we walked along the bay and enjoyed it very much. The bed is comfort and very clean. We will come back next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus No. 8 is just outside the hotel, 20-30 min frequency, you can go to Pacific beach and old town buy it.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Myers, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Good location but dated

We would return for we had a pleasant stay but the rooms were a bit dated and small. Breakfast at the Blue Pearl restaurant (not included) was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jun 14, 2009

Good Location, good price

Overall, good value. It would be hard to get this price for the location, right next to Sea World. Two small things that were kinda annoying. The parking entrance, the card reader is so far to the side that I had to get out of my car each time I entered, which was pretty often. I tried the first night to do it from my car, but almost let go of the brake and ran into in bar. Other thing was on one of the nights, a bunch of people hung out at the pool at 4am and made a lot of noise. They were loitering for a pretty long time, so it made me wonder if there are any guards walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search