$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
473 out of 473
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 18, 2007

Business Travel

Perfect hotel for the active business traveler in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emi's mom
Business
Maricopa, AZ
Dec 14, 2009

Great getaway!!

The location was perfect for going to SeaWorld and to Mission Beach. We never had to leave the area. The pool and hottub were absolutely gorgeous (and heated). We were able to enjoy them even though it rained. The view of the bay and the boats from the room and from the pool was lovely. The room was beautiful and updated, and the balcony was great. My 8-year-old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Even though there is a shuttle to Seaworld, we drove and were able to go back to the hotel to change after we got drenched on the rides. Re-entry to the park was free, and by the time we went back (about 5:30pm) there was no charge for parking. The drive from the hotel to SeaWorld takes about 3 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Celia
Business
Somerset, NJ, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Wonderful wedding venue

Had stayed at this hotel for the third time and everytime, it is great. Family friendly, relaxing convenient, a real pleasure. Staff is great and very accomodating.Management is efficient and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

proximity to Ocean beach- quaint , friendly , relaxing atmosphere. Very casual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ultra Bob
Business
Rockton. Ill
Mar 5, 2009

Beautiful,elegant, and yet practical!!!

The hotel and it's staff are about the best you could hope for. The views when you wake up are breath taking and it does not matter which way you look. The rooms were spacious and practical, the facilities were clean, and you don't even have to leave the property and have a full day of events!! Wewent as a family with two boys 12 and 10, and they had a great time as well as there being the exclusive area for the upscale executives as well. Very nice facility!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is much to do in the bays, or go for a nice walk on the trails along the water, or even go for a very short car ride to MANY attractions of all differents varieties!!! Loved the location!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave and Myra
Business
Brampton, Ontario, Canada.
Mar 5, 2009

Terrific get away

A terrific hotel, great location, convenient for all local attractions. Lots of privacy and quiet. Gardens were well maintained with many tropical flowers & trees. Rooms were clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Good restaurants with wide selection, friendly staff and fair prices. If we had a complaint, it was that the shower took 10 minutes or more to get hot. A minor problem. This was our first trip to California and this hotel choice made it excellent. We plan to return each year. We didn't have a vehicle and used public transportation which in San Diego is marvellous. We filled every day of the seven we were there with visits to the local attractions, IE. Old Town, Gaslight district, the Zoo, ships and monuments, Coronado Beach. We walked to Mission and Pacific beaches, met many great people and ate in terrific reataurants. We cannot say too much about the trip and the DANA was the major part of our enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transport to get around. It is cheap, clean, reliable and safe. Buses stop outside the DANA every 15 minutes and will take you where ever you want to go. No parking fees, traffic problems and very little walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bullhead City, AZ
Mar 14, 2011

B-E-A-U-tiful!

We stayed at The Dana On Mission Bay. We wanted a nice hotel that was close to Sea World and was affordable. It was a fantastic choice! The hotel was beautiful with amazing plants. The staff was very helpful and nice. There are two pools that are both heated with Jacuzzis. One of the pools is set up more adult style and the other is more family friendly. They even have sand and toys for building sand castles or just playing in the sand. They have two restaurants on site. We ate breakfast at the resort and ended up paying $14 for the two of us! Great prices! We walked to Sea World! They have a shuttle too, but we really enjoyed walking on the walking path. They had Volleyball, fire pits near the water, & seating areas to relax and enjoy the water. The beach shops, rollercoaster, and arcade area was within walking distance too! I would love to stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to get to the beach shops, rollercoaster, arcade, ocean, & Sea World!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Granny
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 17, 2011

Wonderful, peaceful stay!

Everything was so easy. From check in to checkout. The room was beautiful, comfortable, and VERY clean. The view was priceless. There were pool towels,robes,microwave,frig and coffee in the room. Love the soaps too! They even called to ask if we needed anything. We have stayed in the area at other hotels and belive this is our new favorite. Love stay-cations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alamosa colorado
May 22, 2009

Brad and Renee

very private and quiet - excellent location - staff very friendly - fun to watch fishermen unload boats and realize they have the same problems as we do in colorado!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiffanie Negrete
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 30, 2010

Wonderful Experience!

I loved the way that when we arrived they called us as soon as the room was ready (in less than 10 min.) and while we were waiting we rented a paddle boat in their marina. Very reasonable prices on rentals and everyone is super friendly. Very nice park at location too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslamp District was great! My husband and I actually mapquested directions to Walgreens and everything else we might need to go to so we didnt get lost and that saved us a lot of time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth Mi.
Oct 19, 2010

Great Hotel, Location

In my opinion your hotel is better than the Hyatt, and the Hilton. You had everything you needed, restaurant, bar, and pool. The rooms were clean. The only problem was that it took so long for them to get to your room to clean it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top