$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
447 reviews
Dana is great

Helpful, friendly staff, fun kids stuff, great food, close to everything, cheap. See full review

  • Aggro Dad
  • Aug 27, 2014
World traveler and Return customer !

Guest services. After a few minor blinders with my reservation being lost the first day of my... See full review

  • Nurse mother traveler
  • Aug 9, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (447)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 15, 2008

Very friendly staff

The Dana was very nice... the staff very friendly and accomodating. I would stay here again. The one thing I would like to see is complementary coffee in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If u like Italian eat at Luigi's on Mission Bay Blvd, great value for great food

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Apr 22, 2009

Right in the middle of it all

I loved The Dana. It was right in the middle of it all. Head a mile west and find the beach. A mile a different direction and there was Sea World. Right across the street the best fish n' chips I've ever had! The rooms were clean and room service did a great job! The Dana concierge can get you into just about every park at a discount. Free ride to Sea World. Couldn't ask for much more. My family will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Turn right out of the hotel and head West. Keep following and you find Belmont Park Amusement. Find a place to park. Keep the kids entertained and do some shopping. Not up for that walk over one block and there is the beach. Could not ask for more!

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sommerville
Sep 19, 2008

Very friendly

Great for business or pleasure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan 12345
Grayling, MI
Apr 7, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. The staff was wonderful. The lady in the gift shop gave us some helpful suggestions; we were planning on visiting Legoland but decided against it as she told us it was mainly for younger children (we left our kids at home). A mother in the gift shop, with two young children, also told us Legoland wasn't worth the money and was only worth visiting once if you had children. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Sea World several times per day, which was nice. We went to Sea World on our second day and enjoyed ourselves. The shows were very cute; we particularly enjoyed the sea lion and otter show. The Manta roller coaster was very fun. Probably my wife's favorite day. Our third day we took the public bus to the zoo. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that will bring you to Mission Beach or the Old Town transit center (from which you can get pretty much anywhere). The bus drivers were very friendly and helpful. We always felt safe. For me the zoo was the best place to visit. Even though there were a lot of people, everyone was spread out. Absolutely beautiful. Our fourth and fifth day we took the Old Town Trolley Tour. They pick you up right at the hotel every morning at 8:30 and bring you back later in the afternoon. The tour was very interesting and the drivers were very nice. The tour is two hours long; you can get off at about 10 stops and get back on about every 30 minutes. On our fourth day we went to the Midway Museum, which wasn't really our thing so we didn't stay long. Then we went downtown to the Gaslamp Quarter and had lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe. We felt kinda rushed to make it back to Old Town to catch our shuttle back to the hotel at 4:15 so we didn't really do anything else. On our fifth day we took the Trolley again, this time we went straight to Coronado, which was beautiful. Nice beach, nice city. Definitely recommend. Had lunch at the Costa Azul, very nice. Laid on the beach for a bit. Again, we felt kinda rushed. I would recommend the Trolley, but the ride itself takes up two hours of your day. During our stay we visited the Blue Pearl three times and also had room service several times. The staff was prompt and very nice. Only one complaint by my wife (soggy waffle) during our stay. The prices were reasonable. We didn't visit the Firefly. The pool area we visited (they have two) was near the marina; only complaint was the lounge cushions were dirty looking. Otherwise, the pool and spa were nice and clean. On checkout there was a mistake on my bill that was quickly rectified when I pointed it out. They offer a shuttle service to the airport every hour for $10 per person (cheaper than the $30 taxi ride from the airport when we arrived). The room was clean (my wife noted that the tile floors were not clean enough; I couldn't tell). Nice television with reasonable cable TV options. The bed and pillows were comfortable (we're kinda picky). Keurig coffeemaker with regular and french vanilla creamer, replenished everyday. Housekeeping lady didn't speak English, but that wasn't really a problem. Air conditioning wouldn't work unless I unplugged it halfway. We slept on the second floor. I wasn't bothered at all by other guests; my wife was. She's more sensitive to noise. I took several walks along the Bay; there is a nice walking path. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

You can order food from the Blue Pearl and pick it up yourself, thereby avoiding a $3.00 delivery fee and 18% gratuity.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rowlett
Jun 23, 2008

Excellent location

The Dana is located close to just about everything! This was our first visit to San Diego and having a husband who is on chemo and not knowing what his stamina would be, I wanted a place close to the beaches. It not even a mile from Mission Bay Beach and a quick drive to the beautiful La Jolla beaches. Right next door is Sea World, if you have kids and the San Diego Zoo was only a 10 minute drive. (but the temperature gets much higher once you leave the ocean area. We had a marina view room and I think a standard room would have been just as nice, as the windows are not full length and we kept them closed most the time, as hotel patrons kept the walkway quite busy. Not much privacy. We did see some private patios of some rooms by the Tropical pool. They were nicely shaded and had a nice view of the pool. We did not use the pool, but it wasn't too busy during the day, but full of families at night. Friday night they had an outdoor movie at the pool. (Little Mermaid) We ate at the Blue Pearl for dinner and breakfast. The garlic fries were good, but they left a few frozen ones on the plate. The tortilla soup was excellent and my husband enjoyed the meatball soup. Breakfast was ok, but we found a two places down at Mission Beach to be much better and priced about the same. Cafe Joie and the other place I don't remember the name but they have a sign that says best breakfast on the beach and it is accurate. Make sure to try the little cafes in La Jolla. We ate at Blu Wave and it was yummy. Had the gyro wrap and their specialty wrap (which was a chicken in a very yummy marinade). For the best burger try the Burger Lounge. Now for the room. It was okay, but for the money I was expecting a little fancier decor and not so small. I think it would get a little unnerving if I had to share the room with kids. It had a nice bathroom, but nothing exceptional about it. There was a fridge and microwave and the ice machine at the end of the building worked, WHICH IS UNUSUAL. They have a sign in the room stating they are going green, which means you sleep on the same sheets during your stay unless you request clean. The rooms were cleaned nicely, but one day we came back for a quick afternoon nap (yes we needed it!) and the room had not been cleaned yet. (around 1:30) All in all it was a pleasant stay and we fell in love with San Diego. It is a great place with so many things to do whether your a kid, a teen, young adult, laid back adult (yep thats us) or senior citizen. You haven't lived until you've seen the sunset over the Pacific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virgomom
san francisco
Nov 9, 2013

Mini Vacation/Celebration of my father who passed

I like this hotel because its right on the Marina and such a beautiful scenery. I also love the two pools and the two restaurants on site. The beds are extremely comfortable. The showers could be improved, and the rooms a tiny bit bigger, but over-all it was very comfortable. I like that the hotel has a bike and boat rental on site. I also like that its only a $6 cab ride to the beach. This was my second stay here and I'd probably stay again. This trip was to celebrate my father who passed away this year. He loved San Diego and it was his birthday on 11/7. I wanted to be where he liked to be and honor him in the best way I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Misson Bay Beach...great place to walk and walk and take in the ocean breeze.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom with Many
New Jersey
May 18, 2012

Exceeded our expectations

After a very long car ride with 6 teenagers it was a wonderful surprise to find such a beautiful, well maintained resort. Rooms were lovely, clean and well equipped. Access to pools, lobbies, facilities was easy and secure. Restaurants and conveniences on site were a plus. Staff was friendly and extremely accomodating. Would definiately come again!!!! From New Jersey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The in Hotel restaurants were convenient and food was excellent and reasonably priced.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, TX
Mar 29, 2008

very family friendly

The room was very spacious, with wonderful views of the bay. Another plus was that is in close range to Sea world, shopping centers and beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keeyon
Manteca, ca.
Jun 23, 2009

excellent service

This hotel was very kid friendly and a great place for a family vacation. The grounds are beautiful and kept very clean. The staff was excellent and everything was spotless and well organized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

excellent food on site

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 8, 2008

Clean hotel in a great location

Room was comfortable with two beds and table and chairs. The vanity area had two sinks and was separate from the bathroom. The restaurants had excellent food and service. The location was fabulous for visiting Sea World and Mission Bay area. Free shuttle service to Sea World was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search