$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wildland
Business
Glendora, ca
Dec 9, 2013

Quite, good place for run or walking

Good local, check out the happy hour, would recommend 2nd floor room for the view, nice pools and jacuzzi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minivacay Queen
Business
Cerritos, California
Nov 14, 2013

Great location

My boyfriend and I took a little trip with the intention of exploring sea world which is literally right next to this hotel. We ended up finding so many good foodie finds all a short drive from this spot that we were able to enjoy not only sea world but Pacific beach! The room was very clean, considerably big for two, and had a nice view. Nothing was missing and everything worked. Perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the shuttle to go to places! It's included in your hotel fee so you don't have to pay for parking anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Angry Guest
Business
New York, New York
Nov 9, 2013

BED BUGS!!!!!

This trip was for my fiance and his sisters birthday present! We found spiders and bugs in the room and bath tub but didn't bother to notify the staff and just took care of it on our own because, what can you do bugs are bugs. BUT! to return home with bed bug bites that is something the hotel should take care of!!! my fiance and I used one room and his sister and her husband used the other! ALL FOUR of us got the bites from TWO DIFFERENT ROOMS!! We've tried numerous times of trying to get hold of the hotel, only thing they would say is "we'll transfer you to our supervisor" in which she wouldn't even pick up the calls nor return any calls after we had left the vmails. Its very disappointing to spend such money, ie: resort fee of 20 per day!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE GOING HERE FOR ANY OCCASION!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virgomom
Business
san francisco
Nov 9, 2013

Mini Vacation/Celebration of my father who passed

I like this hotel because its right on the Marina and such a beautiful scenery. I also love the two pools and the two restaurants on site. The beds are extremely comfortable. The showers could be improved, and the rooms a tiny bit bigger, but over-all it was very comfortable. I like that the hotel has a bike and boat rental on site. I also like that its only a $6 cab ride to the beach. This was my second stay here and I'd probably stay again. This trip was to celebrate my father who passed away this year. He loved San Diego and it was his birthday on 11/7. I wanted to be where he liked to be and honor him in the best way I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Misson Bay Beach...great place to walk and walk and take in the ocean breeze.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
k8tsqueaks
Business
Colorado
Sep 9, 2013

Nice location and hotel

Good service, great food, fun location, nice property, we really enjoyed our time here. The bed linens were pretty uncomfortable and the bathrooms appeared a little older than I expected but everything else is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ahumphreys
Business
Dothan, Alabama
Aug 18, 2013

Vacation time

The rooms at The Dana are getting a little worn, they need an upgrade. The rooms have a "smell" Beds are old and need replacement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bunni747
Business
Ripon cA
Jul 19, 2013

extra fees for shuttle

during my stay i got charged extra fees that were upfront ended up paying 20 dollars for shuttle fees and parking 26 dollars. didnot use the shuttle service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bose
Business
Northern Ireland
Jul 14, 2013

a let down

asked to move room due to dampness and smells in room only offered a 60 dollar extra a night suite which wasn't much better surrounded by public areas anyone can walk onto the site car damaged in car park no clean up at the pool side other guests rubbish not cleared away over priced stay away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evie Girl
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2013

Family vacation

We booked this hotel for 6 days because of it's location...close to sea world, the beach, etc. location was fine, but the hotel left much to be desired. We found two spiders and several small little bugs in our room during our stay. Mentioned it to the staff and the response was "Oh, sorry. We'll let maintenance know there were critters in the room." The pools were very kid friendly, but the lounge chairs were extremely stained and dirty. Pool towels provided are also very small and many of them were stained. TIP: take your own towels to the pool. This hotel has two restaurants on the premises: Firefly and The Blue Pearl...stick with Firely. The Blue Pearl service was very slow and the food was terrible. Also ordered room service, food was almost inedible. The positive thing about this hotel is it's kid friendliness. They have a volleyball court, bike rentals, disney movies at the pool, and a ping-pong table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elva J.
Business
OK
Jun 28, 2013

Beautiful place.

Loved taking my morning walks around the grounds every morning. The place is absolutely beautiful. The staff was very helpful. House keeping was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top