$300 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
697 reviews
Three young children thought everything was wonder-full!

The hotel and its location provided a perfect family vacation! See full review

  • Grandpa cuckoo
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great Place for a Relaxing Getaway

friendly staff, beautiful location, awesome amenities including e kayaking. good food at the... See full review

  • Bryan The Rock star
  • Jan 18, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (697)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
697 out of 697
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cayhrine
san diego,ca
Aug 12, 2012

great location

hotel -great location,good restaurant near seaworld and other attraction.good amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

firefly restaurant

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peacefully at peace
san diego ca sea world
Jul 24, 2012

very Disappointing vacation

First I want to say that I got lost on the first night there. I was told to follow the shuittle who came to pick up the rest of our group. Well following the driver was not possible to say the least I got lost. Then on top of that they tried to charge us for the shuttle by billing both of our rooms that we had. I was not impressed with the hotel at all I think that it was a step up from motel 6 if that! I meant there was blood on my floor. Also I had requested a late check oput way before we went on vacation seeing how we had 2 little ones and our flight didnt leave until 6:25 pm so we were told sorry all we can do is give you until1:00 pm and then you will have to go, but anything you need you let us know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to ask questions on everything,and about everything before you commit! Because it seemed every where we turned we were paying outrageous prices.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bj02
SanDiego, CA
Jul 14, 2012

Dana on mission bay

Very nice accomodations. Wish the would offer a weekly rate so he average person might be anle to stay ther longer than a day or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Camper 1
Los Angeles, ca
Jul 14, 2012

Great location

It was in a great location. Great customer service. Only bad thing was, they should have mention the parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shockerfan
Wichita, Kansas
Jul 5, 2012

Great Family getaway

The Dana on Mission Bay is a great place to stay if your family is interested in visiting Sea World San Diego or just hanging out on the beach. Our family enjoyed the location of The Dana, it sits a short distance from Sea World (we walked). The Bay itself was beautiful. I recommend staying at this location. We had a car with us, but due to the traffic down by the beach, we chose to rent a couple of bikes and made a short trek over the bridge, I highly recommend it if you are there on a weekend. The rooms at first glance from the outside, don't look that great, but once inside the comfort was very nice. The staff at The Dana helped us with preferred seating at World Famous on Pacific Beach otherwise it would have been a 2hr wait. We did have to switch rooms due to an air conditioner issue, but once we moved things were great. I also chose to visit the gift shop for a morning Mocha everyday, the staff was amazing. Also, there is very small marina shop just around the bend, I highly recommend going there for a visit while you are there as well. Hope this helps you plan your trip to the San Diego area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you get to both Old Town San Diego and Pacific Beach. We ate at Cafe Coyote and the ladies were outside rolling fresh tortillas. I also recommend a restaurant called World Famous, best seafood experience I have had in awhile. The blackened shark was to die for.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJ VACA
Corona, CA
Jun 27, 2012

Relax here...

We enjoyed just a night away from normal life to relax in San Diego. Nice location and a lot to do around the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momof2cuties
Yuma, az
Jun 19, 2012

Had a nice stay

We have stayed at the Dana multiple times. It has a great location and many amenities. It is walking distant to the bay and beach. This time our microwave was not working properly; other than that, we had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Krings
Boise, Idaho
Jun 12, 2012

Family vacation

Room was clean, staff was very helpful. Dining at the Blue Pearl was a great deal for the money. Wish they had vents in the bathrooms to keep the moisture down from the showers. Overall, a great hotel. Views were fantastic! Great location to Seaworld, Old Town, the Zoo and Seaport Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Blue Pearl serves breakfast until 11:30 am. Very nice for those who sleep late!

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego First Timer
Omaha, NE
Jun 8, 2012

Great Area

We were at the Dana for a week and it was a great stay! They cleaned the room everyday, provide a sufficient amount of towels, all rooms have fridges and microwaves and there is a very large television with cable. Pretty decent amount of space for 4 people. The hotel is also in a great area, its easy to access the interstates and the 101. The beaches are close and there is plentiful parking! The only thing is a continental breakfast would be nice, but they don't have that due to the 2 restaurants on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop on over to Mission Ave and follow it north.. Plenty of places to eat and if you keep going follow the 101 along the coast line. One you reach La Jolla, the view becomes amazing all they way up!

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vmcnair23
seattle
May 23, 2012

The Dana

This hotel sits about 5 mins from SeaWorld. 2 beautiful pools, both with bar access. The rooms were very nice. The staff very friendly & very helpful. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the #8 bus into town or to Pacific beach, it is only $5.00 for an all day pass, which is also good on the trolly

Back to menu Return to top