$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
k8tsqueaks
Business
Colorado
Sep 9, 2013

Nice location and hotel

Good service, great food, fun location, nice property, we really enjoyed our time here. The bed linens were pretty uncomfortable and the bathrooms appeared a little older than I expected but everything else is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ahumphreys
Business
Dothan, Alabama
Aug 18, 2013

Vacation time

The rooms at The Dana are getting a little worn, they need an upgrade. The rooms have a "smell" Beds are old and need replacement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bunni747
Business
Ripon cA
Jul 19, 2013

extra fees for shuttle

during my stay i got charged extra fees that were upfront ended up paying 20 dollars for shuttle fees and parking 26 dollars. didnot use the shuttle service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bose
Business
Northern Ireland
Jul 14, 2013

a let down

asked to move room due to dampness and smells in room only offered a 60 dollar extra a night suite which wasn't much better surrounded by public areas anyone can walk onto the site car damaged in car park no clean up at the pool side other guests rubbish not cleared away over priced stay away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evie Girl
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2013

Family vacation

We booked this hotel for 6 days because of it's location...close to sea world, the beach, etc. location was fine, but the hotel left much to be desired. We found two spiders and several small little bugs in our room during our stay. Mentioned it to the staff and the response was "Oh, sorry. We'll let maintenance know there were critters in the room." The pools were very kid friendly, but the lounge chairs were extremely stained and dirty. Pool towels provided are also very small and many of them were stained. TIP: take your own towels to the pool. This hotel has two restaurants on the premises: Firefly and The Blue Pearl...stick with Firely. The Blue Pearl service was very slow and the food was terrible. Also ordered room service, food was almost inedible. The positive thing about this hotel is it's kid friendliness. They have a volleyball court, bike rentals, disney movies at the pool, and a ping-pong table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elva J.
Business
OK
Jun 28, 2013

Beautiful place.

Loved taking my morning walks around the grounds every morning. The place is absolutely beautiful. The staff was very helpful. House keeping was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nilla
Business
Encino,California
Jun 13, 2013

Great hotel and location!

We really enjoy our stay at the Dana on Mission Bay, we take a walk everyday along the boardwalk, the salt water pool is perfect ,we have a great breakfast at the blue pearl and excellent dinner at the firefly restaurant, the lentil salad & sweet potatoes fries are perfect, we also enjoy the outdoor crystals fire-pit every night with our family before bedtime. Overall this hotel is so perfect for our family mini vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly has great appetizer and reasonable price for breakfast & dinner, make sure to use the coupon they gave you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Bumb T
Business
Chicago
Jun 1, 2013

Good with the bad.

The location of this hotel is its best quality, its centrally located, and a perfect jumping off point for visits to the beach, sea world, downtown, etc... The room I had was about average, however I was on the first floor and was constantly bothered by people above with kids walking, and running. There was also a family with a child in an adjacent room that would constantly scream/cry, sometimes at 3am. I made a complaint, and was told it would be noted, but that was it. The carpeting was rather dirty, and the maids didnt seem to vacuum, I had to point it out to them. Overall, I would stay here again if the price was right, but I would suggest staying in buildings 100, 400, or the main building, as these have patios/balconies. I would also be sure to be on the top floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit LaJolla Beach/Town. The beach has breathtaking views, and the town is quaint, with alot of little shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timmothy2374863
Business
La Verne, ca
May 21, 2013

Very nice

Very nice place. I would definitely come back and tell my friends about the hotel. Super close to seaworld and hotel was right on the bay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hank Moody
Business
Boulder, Colorado
May 20, 2013

Great hotel with minor issues

We enjoyed our stay at Dana. It is a great hotel in a good location. Staff was very helpful and kind. Two things I would complain are: 1) There was a $20/day parking fee just to park our rental car in front of our room. 2) Very thin walls between the rooms so one needs to be very quite in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top