$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fugazzi
Family
Milpitas Ca
Jul 8, 2014

great location with nice room

Dana hotel was generally great. Our room was in a good location, near the pool, ice maker, gym, parking exit. The room was nice with comfortable beds, good tv, micro wave and fridge. The only issue I had was with the AC controls - there was one on the wall that didn't control the AC and there was also a remote that didn't work, therefore I had to stand on a chair an operate it manually (the AC was located on the wall at a height of 7 ft). But once I set it worked fine. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reegi Jenkins
Friends
Evansville Indiana
Jul 8, 2014

Very nice location

Pro Beautiful view and beach near by Centrally located Cons Hidden Fees $14 / day additonal resort fees..... Surprize. additional parking $10/ day parking fee not to mention several days where there was no parking available due to wedding receptions. Very high traffic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TDon
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2014

Hidden Charges

I'll start with the negative since this is how my stay started at The Dana. I already had the heads up for the $14.00 per day amenity charge, so that was not such a shocker. But when they proceeded to tell me there was an additional $20.00 charge per day for Parking, well that just left a bad taste in my mouth. There is no need keeping these charges separate until you arrive and check in. They should just be up front with how much it really cost to stay there. All that being said, the location is great, especially if you are going to Sea World, or Mission Beach. The pools were nice and inviting. The restaurants were decent and the staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hometown Staycation
Family
Oakland California
Jul 6, 2014

Weddings Galore and a 45th Anniversary

Two sunset weddings scheduled on grass in sight of our balcony. ..... hotel staff was attentive and on point as usual even though they were also hosting two on-site weddings and receptions. Having been a wedding coordinator, I understand how these events can stress even the best of staffs and resources. As a guest not associated with either wedding event, we were in no way impacted. Two pools and two saunas were room enough for everyone. We walked to Pacific Beach and rode bikes to the Ocean Beach Annual Chili Cookoff while visiting to celebrate my sister's 45th wedding anniversary. Always stay here while visiting family in San Diego. Great location, best staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RICCC
Single
Bakersfield, Ca.
Jul 5, 2014

Looking worn out

I have stayed at the Dana Twice now. Each time for a week. Last year the room and the grounds were much better kept. The carpet in the room I stayed in this year was filthy. Not something that you would let your children play on or anything you would want to walk around on barefoot. I noticed trash in the flower beds that wasnt picked up all week. House keeping started knocking on doors early even though check out isn't until 12:00 noon. The house keepers made the bed but DID NOT clean the room or bathroom. Even the pool furniture needed cleaning. I don't know what happened from one year to the next at the Dana but I can say pride in the facility from the staff is lackking this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are interested in San Diego Naval history you may be interested in how the community of San Diego reclaimed the old NTC ... Naval Training Center. While you are there stop at the Corvette Diner. Clean, fun, freindly, and the kids will like it too.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandpa cuckoo
Family
Chino Hills CA
Jun 11, 2014

Three young children thought everything was wonder-full!

The hotel and its location provided a perfect family vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The combination of Sea World Park and the freedom to walk around the bay and beach was perfect for young children

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tina Julianne
Friends
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Jun 4, 2014

Great Location

Great hotel, beautiful location, quick responding staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Idaho Momma
Family
Boise, ID
Jun 3, 2014

Great Family Getaway!

The Dana met my families needs and wants for our great family getaway! It is situated right on the bay, positioned next to Sea World, and is super close to all of the other attractions that were on our list!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on doing several high priced attractions, get the GoCard. You will save hundreds!!

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long overdue for days off
Single
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location for Sea World

The hotel room was nice and the people were friendly. SeaWorld is nice walk away! Yay, no rental car!! I was only there for 3 nights and wished it had been longer. The Cons: not much in the way of restaurants that are very close. There are 2 restaurants onsite. One of the them is very casual, but not open for dinner. The other is open but a little more spendy, however the food is good. The hotel is a little excessive in their fee's department. There is a small store close to the docks, so you can stock snacks and drinks if you like and there is a restaurant across the street. The bus system isn't bad either, the desk should be able to help you out and I recommend the trolley tour. If you are interested in the museums - allow for a couple of days at least. I didn't have the time available that I wish had. Sea World is Fantastic and the Hotel was restful, good beds and pillows. I had the pool outside my window and there is a movie night I didn't know about at the pool, so . . ask where your room is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Batman 24
Family
Temecula
Apr 5, 2014

Decent hotel for the price

The hotel overall wasn't bad. Parking and resort fee a bit expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top