$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
510 out of 510
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RICCC
Business
Bakersfield, Ca.
Jul 5, 2014

Looking worn out

I have stayed at the Dana Twice now. Each time for a week. Last year the room and the grounds were much better kept. The carpet in the room I stayed in this year was filthy. Not something that you would let your children play on or anything you would want to walk around on barefoot. I noticed trash in the flower beds that wasnt picked up all week. House keeping started knocking on doors early even though check out isn't until 12:00 noon. The house keepers made the bed but DID NOT clean the room or bathroom. Even the pool furniture needed cleaning. I don't know what happened from one year to the next at the Dana but I can say pride in the facility from the staff is lackking this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are interested in San Diego Naval history you may be interested in how the community of San Diego reclaimed the old NTC ... Naval Training Center. While you are there stop at the Corvette Diner. Clean, fun, freindly, and the kids will like it too.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
newinone
Business
Calgary,AB
Jun 14, 2014

Good for family with yound kid(s).

We booked there because its close to attractions. We didn't drive used their shuttle instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandpa cuckoo
Business
Chino Hills CA
Jun 11, 2014

Three young children thought everything was wonder-full!

The hotel and its location provided a perfect family vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The combination of Sea World Park and the freedom to walk around the bay and beach was perfect for young children

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tina Julianne
Business
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Jun 4, 2014

Great Location

Great hotel, beautiful location, quick responding staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Idaho Momma
Business
Boise, ID
Jun 3, 2014

Great Family Getaway!

The Dana met my families needs and wants for our great family getaway! It is situated right on the bay, positioned next to Sea World, and is super close to all of the other attractions that were on our list!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on doing several high priced attractions, get the GoCard. You will save hundreds!!

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long overdue for days off
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location for Sea World

The hotel room was nice and the people were friendly. SeaWorld is nice walk away! Yay, no rental car!! I was only there for 3 nights and wished it had been longer. The Cons: not much in the way of restaurants that are very close. There are 2 restaurants onsite. One of the them is very casual, but not open for dinner. The other is open but a little more spendy, however the food is good. The hotel is a little excessive in their fee's department. There is a small store close to the docks, so you can stock snacks and drinks if you like and there is a restaurant across the street. The bus system isn't bad either, the desk should be able to help you out and I recommend the trolley tour. If you are interested in the museums - allow for a couple of days at least. I didn't have the time available that I wish had. Sea World is Fantastic and the Hotel was restful, good beds and pillows. I had the pool outside my window and there is a movie night I didn't know about at the pool, so . . ask where your room is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Batman 24
Business
Temecula
Apr 5, 2014

Decent hotel for the price

The hotel overall wasn't bad. Parking and resort fee a bit expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Diego lover Julie
Business
San Diego
Mar 31, 2014

Not worth it

For the cost of staying at this motel it was not worth it. It was extremely noisy and uncomfortable. The room was worn and dated. The front desk staff wanted us to upgrade to a more expensive room. We won't stay here again even though it was conveniently located to many San Diego features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own bikes. There are many conveniently located bike paths.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tango5613
Business
Rancho cucamonga ca
Mar 30, 2014

Seaworld Trip

When we arrived, in the morning, they held the shuttle for us before we even checked in. That was great. Room was nice and pool area was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat Walker
Business
Pasadena, CA
Mar 18, 2014

Very nice stay!

Room was very cosy and clean, and was a nice vacation spot! Great view of the marina and a pleasant setting overall. I would return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top