$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
509 out of 509
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoeCW
NJ
Dec 18, 2012

great sea world location

great stay with shuttle to Sea World. Food at Blue Pearl good and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

shuttle to Sea World

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3kids one father
Business
LA
Aug 1, 2014

D, Dad and his 3 kids

Great 3 days with my 3 kids . Hotel had everything I needed to keep my children occupied. Pool , movies and rentals .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking along the bay.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Trip Every Year Guy
Business
Washington DC area
Jul 31, 2014

The Dana on Mission Bay - Recommended

Excellent location next to Sea World San Diego, minutes from the airport, Mission and Pacific Beaches, downtown, Balboa Park, and only about 15 minutes from La Jolla. Nice bay views. Good food, and little touches like pools open until 11pm. Do recommend upgrading room, though -- lots of "meh" rooms, lots of very nice rooms, not much range in between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dana on Mission Bay is essentially within 5-8 miles of all of San Diego's key attractions, so plan to be busy and take it all in. You don't have to compromise any activities because they're too far away.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morrisclan
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 27, 2014

Ok, but probably better for the money

Forgot maid service; did not let us know a roll away was not possible. Not much close by for eating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariMaMa
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 25, 2014

Relaxing

I thought this place was going to be like a hotel but it's more like a clean version of a motel. It's 2 stories high and it overlooks the bay which is nice. The rooms are clean but the shower acts like it's almost broken. There's no in between temperature; either really cold or kind of hot. And it makes this annoying shrinking sound the entire time you shower. It's just not fun. There's 2 restaurants on the premises. One of them is only open for breakfast and the other doesn't have a lot of options and you have to break a foot and throw it at the staff in order to get their attention and hopefully be served. They have options for water activities so that's fun. (I dropped my Marc Jacobs sunglasses in the water after I finished jet skiing :( if anyone sees it float to shore, I am here, don't hesitate to bring it back to me :D) Overall it was a nice stay but the staff could use some classes on manners. It's a really nice resort with the rooms overlooking the bay. I'd suggest chipping in a tiny bit more to get the room with a view because starring at the parking lot through your front door doesn't sound like a good time to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Bo-Beau Kitchen and Bar. It's a French and Mediterranean place and it has very delicious food. If you like seafood and pizza, check out their shrimp and avocado flat bread...it's AMAZING!

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoshPhxAz
Business
Phoenix
Jul 24, 2014

Amazing location-Simple flaws

Very clean room but a few spiders. Great location for everything. Nice property with two great restaurant choices. Nice pools with a great touch of playing a movie. Weird though that they ran out of towels and closed their pool bar right as the movie started. Seemed to not make sense. Room key stopped working twice so that was really frustrating having to wait at front desk to reset it. Workers seemed to think that was normal. All in all... Nice property with kind staff. Needs a few changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to sea world or use shuttle.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fugazzi
Business
Milpitas Ca
Jul 8, 2014

great location with nice room

Dana hotel was generally great. Our room was in a good location, near the pool, ice maker, gym, parking exit. The room was nice with comfortable beds, good tv, micro wave and fridge. The only issue I had was with the AC controls - there was one on the wall that didn't control the AC and there was also a remote that didn't work, therefore I had to stand on a chair an operate it manually (the AC was located on the wall at a height of 7 ft). But once I set it worked fine. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reegi Jenkins
Business
Evansville Indiana
Jul 8, 2014

Very nice location

Pro Beautiful view and beach near by Centrally located Cons Hidden Fees $14 / day additonal resort fees..... Surprize. additional parking $10/ day parking fee not to mention several days where there was no parking available due to wedding receptions. Very high traffic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TDon
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2014

Hidden Charges

I'll start with the negative since this is how my stay started at The Dana. I already had the heads up for the $14.00 per day amenity charge, so that was not such a shocker. But when they proceeded to tell me there was an additional $20.00 charge per day for Parking, well that just left a bad taste in my mouth. There is no need keeping these charges separate until you arrive and check in. They should just be up front with how much it really cost to stay there. All that being said, the location is great, especially if you are going to Sea World, or Mission Beach. The pools were nice and inviting. The restaurants were decent and the staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hometown Staycation
Business
Oakland California
Jul 6, 2014

Weddings Galore and a 45th Anniversary

Two sunset weddings scheduled on grass in sight of our balcony. ..... hotel staff was attentive and on point as usual even though they were also hosting two on-site weddings and receptions. Having been a wedding coordinator, I understand how these events can stress even the best of staffs and resources. As a guest not associated with either wedding event, we were in no way impacted. Two pools and two saunas were room enough for everyone. We walked to Pacific Beach and rode bikes to the Ocean Beach Annual Chili Cookoff while visiting to celebrate my sister's 45th wedding anniversary. Always stay here while visiting family in San Diego. Great location, best staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RICCC
Business
Bakersfield, Ca.
Jul 5, 2014

Looking worn out

I have stayed at the Dana Twice now. Each time for a week. Last year the room and the grounds were much better kept. The carpet in the room I stayed in this year was filthy. Not something that you would let your children play on or anything you would want to walk around on barefoot. I noticed trash in the flower beds that wasnt picked up all week. House keeping started knocking on doors early even though check out isn't until 12:00 noon. The house keepers made the bed but DID NOT clean the room or bathroom. Even the pool furniture needed cleaning. I don't know what happened from one year to the next at the Dana but I can say pride in the facility from the staff is lackking this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are interested in San Diego Naval history you may be interested in how the community of San Diego reclaimed the old NTC ... Naval Training Center. While you are there stop at the Corvette Diner. Clean, fun, freindly, and the kids will like it too.

Back to menu Return to top