$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
700 reviews
great location with nice room

Dana hotel was generally great. Our room was in a good location, near the pool, ice maker, gym,... See full review

  • Fugazzi
  • Jul 8, 2014
Three young children thought everything was wonder-full!

The hotel and its location provided a perfect family vacation! See full review

  • Grandpa cuckoo
  • Jun 11, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (700)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
700 out of 700
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hank Moody
Boulder, Colorado
May 20, 2013

Great hotel with minor issues

We enjoyed our stay at Dana. It is a great hotel in a good location. Staff was very helpful and kind. Two things I would complain are: 1) There was a $20/day parking fee just to park our rental car in front of our room. 2) Very thin walls between the rooms so one needs to be very quite in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
.k.o.
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2013

Nice Place

Pros: good location, helpful friendly staff, large clean rooms. Cons: no free WiFi (not a big deal, but almost expected at nicer hotels) have to pay for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle Renee
Vermont
May 2, 2013

San Diego family vacation

We really liked The Dana. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff that we encountered was very friendly and helpful. The location is near everything- short drive to beaches, food, old town and a 10-15 min walk to Sea World. The pool and hot tub were wonderful and clean and the open hours were very convenient. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mummaL
Reno, NV
Apr 25, 2013

Great location!

We checked in on the 19th of April and out on the 22nd. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We did have a bad experience with the Firefly lounge on the 19th (Food was ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE, but the server was just AWFUL), I have since been contacted by the Food and Bev manager and our bill will be refunded due to the bad experience which we greatly appreciate. The room was perfect, we had room 406, it was ground level and had a patio directly opposite the tropical pool. The pool is absolutely gorgeous and it is heated to 82.5F. The hot tub is lovely too. There is an island bar open on Fri and Sat from about 2pm-9pm? Directly behind that is a huge sandpit area with lot's of kids toys for digging and playing, my 5 year son LOVED THIS!!!! Overall, we felt extremely relaxed and loved the atmosphere and would definitely return. The room we were in was great. Centrally located to the pools, courtyard, marina, front desk and restaurants. Without the patio, it probably would have been a little too small for us. The room had a keurig w/ 6 k-cups every day, it has a fridge and a microwave also. The bathroom was a little outdated, but it was fine :) It also has a full size blow dryer in the room for the ladies that are wondering! We can't wait to plan our next trip back to The Dana :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the shuttle to Seaworld from the hotel, but be prepared to walk a little ways, as the drop you off quite a ways from the actual entrance! Also, for those that are looking for a relaxed beach experience, go to Ocean Beach! It's so much fun!!! And the San Diego sunsets are ones NOT to be missed! GORGEOUS!!!!

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkV76
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 16, 2013

relaxing, enjoyable

Great view, quiet, fantastic breakfast and the staff was very helpful every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan 12345
Grayling, MI
Apr 7, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. The staff was wonderful. The lady in the gift shop gave us some helpful suggestions; we were planning on visiting Legoland but decided against it as she told us it was mainly for younger children (we left our kids at home). A mother in the gift shop, with two young children, also told us Legoland wasn't worth the money and was only worth visiting once if you had children. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Sea World several times per day, which was nice. We went to Sea World on our second day and enjoyed ourselves. The shows were very cute; we particularly enjoyed the sea lion and otter show. The Manta roller coaster was very fun. Probably my wife's favorite day. Our third day we took the public bus to the zoo. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that will bring you to Mission Beach or the Old Town transit center (from which you can get pretty much anywhere). The bus drivers were very friendly and helpful. We always felt safe. For me the zoo was the best place to visit. Even though there were a lot of people, everyone was spread out. Absolutely beautiful. Our fourth and fifth day we took the Old Town Trolley Tour. They pick you up right at the hotel every morning at 8:30 and bring you back later in the afternoon. The tour was very interesting and the drivers were very nice. The tour is two hours long; you can get off at about 10 stops and get back on about every 30 minutes. On our fourth day we went to the Midway Museum, which wasn't really our thing so we didn't stay long. Then we went downtown to the Gaslamp Quarter and had lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe. We felt kinda rushed to make it back to Old Town to catch our shuttle back to the hotel at 4:15 so we didn't really do anything else. On our fifth day we took the Trolley again, this time we went straight to Coronado, which was beautiful. Nice beach, nice city. Definitely recommend. Had lunch at the Costa Azul, very nice. Laid on the beach for a bit. Again, we felt kinda rushed. I would recommend the Trolley, but the ride itself takes up two hours of your day. During our stay we visited the Blue Pearl three times and also had room service several times. The staff was prompt and very nice. Only one complaint by my wife (soggy waffle) during our stay. The prices were reasonable. We didn't visit the Firefly. The pool area we visited (they have two) was near the marina; only complaint was the lounge cushions were dirty looking. Otherwise, the pool and spa were nice and clean. On checkout there was a mistake on my bill that was quickly rectified when I pointed it out. They offer a shuttle service to the airport every hour for $10 per person (cheaper than the $30 taxi ride from the airport when we arrived). The room was clean (my wife noted that the tile floors were not clean enough; I couldn't tell). Nice television with reasonable cable TV options. The bed and pillows were comfortable (we're kinda picky). Keurig coffeemaker with regular and french vanilla creamer, replenished everyday. Housekeeping lady didn't speak English, but that wasn't really a problem. Air conditioning wouldn't work unless I unplugged it halfway. We slept on the second floor. I wasn't bothered at all by other guests; my wife was. She's more sensitive to noise. I took several walks along the Bay; there is a nice walking path. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

You can order food from the Blue Pearl and pick it up yourself, thereby avoiding a $3.00 delivery fee and 18% gratuity.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vintage4ever
Wisconsin
Mar 31, 2013

Fun family vacation

Beautiful motel in an excellent location. Within walking distance from beach. On bay and secluded from city chaos. Lush landscaping and nice heated pool. Service at restaurant was always friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 29, 2013

A great few days

We went for a conference. The place was clean and in good shape. The staff were prompt, helpful and INCREDIBLY helpful. One incident in particular: we had a technological problem with one of our devices, and the staff sent a tech guy up who IMMEDIATELY fixed it. It was really cool. PROS: staff were awesome to the point that they added to the vacation. Close to a marina and close to several bus stops. Grounds (outside of room) are beautiful to walk through. CONS: bathmat was kinda gross, but we called and they replaced it in 5 minutes. Location is somewhat isolated if you don't have a car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

mission beach is worth the long walk

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SD HR Lady
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Great accomodations for out of town guests!

We always use this hotel for our out of town guests. The location, service, and amenities are great and extremely convenient. Good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curtis Happy Dad
Fort Collins
Mar 25, 2013

Perfect family vacation

We had originally booked a standard room but upgraded to a deluxe bay view room so we would have the wet bar and sofa sleeper. The room was perfect for my wife, myself and our 2 daughters (ages 5.5 and 1.5). Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Hotel was very quiet even though it was spring break. Pool was fun and not crowded. We didn't interact with the staff much which was a good thing cause we didn't have any issues. Hotel has a free shuttle to Sea World which is literally across the street. I highly recommend this hotel for any families traveling to San Diego and planning a trip to Sea World.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top