$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
505 out of 505
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BarbaraB
Aspen, CO, USA
Jan 23, 2013

The Dana on Mission Bay

This is a great hotel located on Mission Bay. Has the charm of old California, but has been renovated with modern style. Staff is excellent, two restaurants with great food, very convenient. Two pool areas. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molly L
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 2, 2014

Great location, Ok hotel

The location was great - right by Mission Bay with good views when outside of your room. The rooms were decent; nothing too fancy but were clean. The pool area was a bit of a disappointment. The pool was cold so no one was in it and the jacuzzi was too small it could not hold all the guests. In fact, when I was there, it was filled with multiple children that far exceeded the maximum occupancy. Also, the price was a good deal but the hotel charged really high resort fees and tried charging parking at $20/day. I was not told this at check-in, only to find out the parking charge at check-out. There was another guest at check-out that complained over the same thing. The hotel waived half the charge but still was a lot more than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew and kids from WA
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 18, 2014

Excellent Sea World vacation

Hotel is right on the bay, with beautiful views. There are paddle board rentals a short walk away. The restaurant had great food options, and the pool overlooks the bay. Also, a free shuttle to Sea World. 10 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Get to the Sea World shuttle early, there will be a line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jj.one
Business
san diego
Oct 12, 2014

perfect

it was beautiful bay view .. a home away from home ... it was wonderful.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul 889898789
Business
Portland
Sep 25, 2014

Gataway

Nice gateway stay at the The Dana On Mission Bay, Stayed there for a few days, enjoyed hotel close to everything, very accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pranay
Business
New York
Sep 24, 2014

It was Perfect

We stayed there for 4 nights and we had a bay view room, it was just perfect, the view was superb. our room was clean and infact the entire hotel was very clean and staff is very friendly and helpful :) enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markmandy54
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 20, 2014

A hotel that feels like home

I liked the feel that it was more "Condo" type living with hotel amenities. My kids felt at home and was a great home base for all we did while in San Diego and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luotian
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 2, 2014

nice hotel

This hotel close ocean,I like it .there is very beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brunk
Business
Arizona
Aug 29, 2014

Trip for 2

Good for what we needed it for. Close to all places we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Firefly & blue pearl

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aggro Dad
Business
San Diego
Aug 27, 2014

Dana is great

Helpful, friendly staff, fun kids stuff, great food, close to everything, cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't let them pressure you into the raffle at Joe's Crab Shack on Mission beach. They said if was to "feed the kids in schools" but there were no specifics and it was super vague. If you want to donate time or money in the area I am sure there are better ways to spend your dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saaan Diago
Business
Virginia
Aug 25, 2014

Great location

Great location! Close to the beach and restaurants. Great pool with view of mission bay. Plenty of boat rental options nearby. We ended up paying an extra 50 per night upon arrival to stay in one of the newer rooms with better view. It was not worth paying for upgraded room with view through 3rd party in our opinion because it still only put us in a standard room with average view. I recommend waiting and upgrading at hotel after you have a discussion about where they plan to put you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great breakfast options. We liked fig tree cafe best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top