$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
701 reviews
great location with nice room

Dana hotel was generally great. Our room was in a good location, near the pool, ice maker, gym,... See full review

  • Fugazzi
  • Jul 8, 2014
Three young children thought everything was wonder-full!

The hotel and its location provided a perfect family vacation! See full review

  • Grandpa cuckoo
  • Jun 11, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (701)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
701 out of 701
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patty and Doug
Maryland, USA
Jan 6, 2013

Dana Hotel Jan 1 thru 5 2013

We are very pleased to have found The Dana. Location, quality and cost exceeded any expectations. We cannot imagine a better choice when visiting San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mission Beach

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minivacay Queen
Cerritos, California
Nov 14, 2013

Great location

My boyfriend and I took a little trip with the intention of exploring sea world which is literally right next to this hotel. We ended up finding so many good foodie finds all a short drive from this spot that we were able to enjoy not only sea world but Pacific beach! The room was very clean, considerably big for two, and had a nice view. Nothing was missing and everything worked. Perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the shuttle to go to places! It's included in your hotel fee so you don't have to pay for parking anywhere else.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Angry Guest
New York, New York
Nov 9, 2013

BED BUGS!!!!!

This trip was for my fiance and his sisters birthday present! We found spiders and bugs in the room and bath tub but didn't bother to notify the staff and just took care of it on our own because, what can you do bugs are bugs. BUT! to return home with bed bug bites that is something the hotel should take care of!!! my fiance and I used one room and his sister and her husband used the other! ALL FOUR of us got the bites from TWO DIFFERENT ROOMS!! We've tried numerous times of trying to get hold of the hotel, only thing they would say is "we'll transfer you to our supervisor" in which she wouldn't even pick up the calls nor return any calls after we had left the vmails. Its very disappointing to spend such money, ie: resort fee of 20 per day!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE GOING HERE FOR ANY OCCASION!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virgomom
san francisco
Nov 9, 2013

Mini Vacation/Celebration of my father who passed

I like this hotel because its right on the Marina and such a beautiful scenery. I also love the two pools and the two restaurants on site. The beds are extremely comfortable. The showers could be improved, and the rooms a tiny bit bigger, but over-all it was very comfortable. I like that the hotel has a bike and boat rental on site. I also like that its only a $6 cab ride to the beach. This was my second stay here and I'd probably stay again. This trip was to celebrate my father who passed away this year. He loved San Diego and it was his birthday on 11/7. I wanted to be where he liked to be and honor him in the best way I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Misson Bay Beach...great place to walk and walk and take in the ocean breeze.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
k8tsqueaks
Colorado
Sep 9, 2013

Nice location and hotel

Good service, great food, fun location, nice property, we really enjoyed our time here. The bed linens were pretty uncomfortable and the bathrooms appeared a little older than I expected but everything else is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ahumphreys
Dothan, Alabama
Aug 18, 2013

Vacation time

The rooms at The Dana are getting a little worn, they need an upgrade. The rooms have a "smell" Beds are old and need replacement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bunni747
Ripon cA
Jul 19, 2013

extra fees for shuttle

during my stay i got charged extra fees that were upfront ended up paying 20 dollars for shuttle fees and parking 26 dollars. didnot use the shuttle service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bose
Northern Ireland
Jul 14, 2013

a let down

asked to move room due to dampness and smells in room only offered a 60 dollar extra a night suite which wasn't much better surrounded by public areas anyone can walk onto the site car damaged in car park no clean up at the pool side other guests rubbish not cleared away over priced stay away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evie Girl
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2013

Family vacation

We booked this hotel for 6 days because of it's location...close to sea world, the beach, etc. location was fine, but the hotel left much to be desired. We found two spiders and several small little bugs in our room during our stay. Mentioned it to the staff and the response was "Oh, sorry. We'll let maintenance know there were critters in the room." The pools were very kid friendly, but the lounge chairs were extremely stained and dirty. Pool towels provided are also very small and many of them were stained. TIP: take your own towels to the pool. This hotel has two restaurants on the premises: Firefly and The Blue Pearl...stick with Firely. The Blue Pearl service was very slow and the food was terrible. Also ordered room service, food was almost inedible. The positive thing about this hotel is it's kid friendliness. They have a volleyball court, bike rentals, disney movies at the pool, and a ping-pong table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elva J.
OK
Jun 28, 2013

Beautiful place.

Loved taking my morning walks around the grounds every morning. The place is absolutely beautiful. The staff was very helpful. House keeping was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nilla
Encino,California
Jun 13, 2013

Great hotel and location!

We really enjoy our stay at the Dana on Mission Bay, we take a walk everyday along the boardwalk, the salt water pool is perfect ,we have a great breakfast at the blue pearl and excellent dinner at the firefly restaurant, the lentil salad & sweet potatoes fries are perfect, we also enjoy the outdoor crystals fire-pit every night with our family before bedtime. Overall this hotel is so perfect for our family mini vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly has great appetizer and reasonable price for breakfast & dinner, make sure to use the coupon they gave you.

Back to menu Return to top