$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
480 out of 480
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patty and Doug
Maryland, USA
Jan 6, 2013

Dana Hotel Jan 1 thru 5 2013

We are very pleased to have found The Dana. Location, quality and cost exceeded any expectations. We cannot imagine a better choice when visiting San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mission Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul 889898789
Business
Portland
Sep 25, 2014

Gataway

Nice gateway stay at the The Dana On Mission Bay, Stayed there for a few days, enjoyed hotel close to everything, very accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pranay
Business
New York
Sep 24, 2014

It was Perfect

We stayed there for 4 nights and we had a bay view room, it was just perfect, the view was superb. our room was clean and infact the entire hotel was very clean and staff is very friendly and helpful :) enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markmandy54
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 20, 2014

A hotel that feels like home

I liked the feel that it was more "Condo" type living with hotel amenities. My kids felt at home and was a great home base for all we did while in San Diego and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brunk
Business
Arizona
Aug 29, 2014

Trip for 2

Good for what we needed it for. Close to all places we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Firefly & blue pearl

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aggro Dad
Business
San Diego
Aug 27, 2014

Dana is great

Helpful, friendly staff, fun kids stuff, great food, close to everything, cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't let them pressure you into the raffle at Joe's Crab Shack on Mission beach. They said if was to "feed the kids in schools" but there were no specifics and it was super vague. If you want to donate time or money in the area I am sure there are better ways to spend your dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saaan Diago
Business
Virginia
Aug 25, 2014

Great location

Great location! Close to the beach and restaurants. Great pool with view of mission bay. Plenty of boat rental options nearby. We ended up paying an extra 50 per night upon arrival to stay in one of the newer rooms with better view. It was not worth paying for upgraded room with view through 3rd party in our opinion because it still only put us in a standard room with average view. I recommend waiting and upgrading at hotel after you have a discussion about where they plan to put you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great breakfast options. We liked fig tree cafe best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Memba
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 20, 2014

San Diego Family Getaway

The Dana on Mission Bay was perfect for what my family needed. There was a mini fridge we used for food from the supermarket and a microwave in the room. We were also able to walk to Sea World which was 0.5 miles away. At night the resort had "Dive-in Movies" for kids which mine absolutely loved. I would definitely return to The Dana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harry's Coffee Shop was a nice place to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triskie
Business
Glendale, AZ
Aug 16, 2014

Couple's Retreat

Room was clean and right on the harbor. Hotel Restaurants were convenient, food was average. Central location to beaches/bay and shopping. Most of the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would have liked to have better access to the bay beach, was a little too far away to walk. Overall stay was great, will do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gail from Glendale
Business
Glendale, California
Aug 15, 2014

It was an okay experience

The room was very small and the bathroom was even smaller. The staff was great, except my coffee maker was leaking and I requested another one. It never came. The front desk upgraded me to a room with a view, which I was excited until I realized it was on the second floor and no elevator. Traveling with my 72 year old mother, I wish she would have mentioned it. I would have not taken the room. The view was a bunch of Banana trees, very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babyl314
Business
NY, NY
Aug 10, 2014

good for families

Able to accommodate early check-in which i appreciated. Provided me with toothpaste when I ran out--a plus. Only downside is lack of free or even an affordable shuttle to and from airport--my Uber ride was much cheaper. Other than that, the rooms were kinda old but not terrible. It came with microwave and fridge which I liked. Had a great view of the SeaWorld fireworks from behind the hotel so that was nice too. Great for families and those wanting to be close to SeaWorld..stone's throw to Mission Beach. If looking to be near downtown, I'd opt out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Or hotel shuttle to Sea World. Short walk to Mission Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top