$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
451 reviews
World traveler and Return customer !

Guest services. After a few minor blinders with my reservation being lost the first day of my... See full review

  • Nurse mother traveler
  • Aug 9, 2014
great location with nice room

Dana hotel was generally great. Our room was in a good location, near the pool, ice maker, gym,... See full review

  • Fugazzi
  • Jul 8, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Sea World: 0.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (451)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
451 out of 451
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jodi smyth
Salt Lake City
Jan 23, 2014

Great place to stay

We really enjoyed being on the bay and the on-site restaurants and pools were awesome. We didn't like the $20 a day for parking since there seemed to be a ton of parking spots and the marina has it's own lot. Also, the $9 mandatory resort fee for wifi and coffee took away from the great deal we thought we were getting (extra $116 at check out). Overall beautiful, comfortable place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bryan The Rock star
Temecula ca
Jan 18, 2014

Great Place for a Relaxing Getaway

friendly staff, beautiful location, awesome amenities including e kayaking. good food at the restaurants drinks maybe a little bit overpriced but hey, it's a great place to vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J Iverson
Albany, MN
Jan 12, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel room was much smaller than we had envisioned when exploring the hotel on-line. The breaker switch faulted several times resulting in the loss of electricity until a staff member could flip the breaker. The bed quality was average and the television channels would get blurry at times like there was a poor satellite reception. When we return to San Diego, we will look to stay at a different hotel. Not because we disliked the Dana, more because I think there are better alternatives. Being right next door to SeaWorld was a big plus and it was a short walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bicycle ride along the beach

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
msjackiethomas
Nampa, Idaho
Jan 8, 2014

Call first to confirm what room you are ACTUALLY getting

The listing here is very misleading. There are two sides of this hotel: the newer side that faces the bay and the older side that sits between the pool and the freeway. When you reserve a 'view' room online you are automatically put into a room in the older side of the hotel with a 'view' of the pool. You have to pay an additional $40/night to stay there. When we called the front desk to ask if this was indeed a 'view' room we were told that in order to get a view of the bay you would have to be on the new side of the hotel and pay an ADDITIONAL $40/night on top of the extra $40/night I was already paying. I don't see any option to select new side vs old side on this website. The old side of the hotel is NOT worth the money paid. The rooms are SMALL and very minimalist. The walls are paper thin; I could actually hear the person in the next room singing at all hours of the night. As far as cleanliness..it seemed clean at first but I noticed that starting day 3 some of my dirty hand towels I had placed on the floor had actually just been re-folded and put back on the rack. They also started leaving fewer and fewer towels each day we were there. There are many many many additional costs you should be away of. You of course pay the 'resort' fee of $9/day and parking of $20/night upon checkout but what they don't tell you is that when you check in your credit card will be charge $150 as a hold for 'incidentals'. This is not refunded until several days after checking out. You are also charged another $20 the first night. The front desk said this was just a 'pre-authorization' to be refunded at checkout as well. Keep in mind I had already paid for this room upfront when I reserved it. The hotel is very close to Sea World and Mission beach. About a 10 min drive to the Zoo and Old Town. If you walk over the 'good side' of the hotel you can see a good view of the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chopper and Alice
Columbus, Nebraska
Jan 6, 2014

Dont pass this one by

Kind, friendly, courteous, great location, good price,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shom
Ridgefield, N.J.
Jan 6, 2014

Nice resort

Everything was nice, very well kept grounds. Good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Sea World - nice marinas in area

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orland01980
mexico df
Jan 3, 2014

EXCELENTT CONFORT

THE VIEW IT´S GREAT, THE FOOD DELICIUS AND THE ROOM ITS SO CONFORTABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TranceMom
Denver, CO
Jan 3, 2014

Beautiful location but forget the rest!

When i walked in the lobby to check in i was greeted by a young female that did not even greet me and acted as if I was disturbing her and annoying her just by checking in. when I asked her questions about shuttle service and schedules she literally rolled her eyes at me and gave me a nice big dose of attitude. needless to say I did not get a warm and fuzzy feeling from the minute we walked in. The hotel is beautiful and the location is great! The room we stayed in was very average. We ordered room service one night, my 11 year old son was starving. We were told it would be 15-20 minutes tog et out order. Over an hour later we still had no food. When I called to the room service kitchen to inquire about why we had no food yet, I was given the excuse that they had become unexpectedly busy. When we finally got our food it was cold, my steak was over cooked and covered in so much garlic butter it was literally inedible. The restaurant that is open for breakfast is very good. The restaurant that is open for dinner was very good, but the service was extremely slow. I only saw one server and two bus people for a full restaurant. Needless to say the only reason i would stay there again was the close location to Sea World.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lore A
Pasco, wa
Dec 28, 2013

Great location

Old part of hotel it worn but still ok to stay, the firefly restaurant in site is great, I'm sure if I would have stayed in new rooms they would have been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea world

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wildland
Glendora, ca
Dec 9, 2013

Quite, good place for run or walking

Good local, check out the happy hour, would recommend 2nd floor room for the view, nice pools and jacuzzi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search