$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
505 out of 505
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl from the Desert
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 23, 2009

Nice getaway

I wanted a hotel next to mission beach, had good ratings, and was affordable. I had a couple hotels in mind, but finally chose this hotel because it had a 50% off deal. We got the marina view room, but I think that any room would of also been nice. We loved the location of the hotel. We walked to the Biltmore Boardwalk on Mission Beach several times. It probably took about 15 minutes to walk there. I read that the food prices nearby would be expensive, but It really depends on which restaurant you go to. We went to a lot of the inexpensive Mexican restaurants along the boardwalk. A plus about these restaurants is that they are open late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Although there is a Sea World shuttle that comes to Dana, we walked to Sea World because we missed it. It probably only took about 15 minutes to get there. However, if you want to take the shuttle be sure to find out the times that it comes, because it comes only about 3 times for pickup and and then 4 times at night to get back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2009

Bay View

Convenient location for Sea World and beach visits. Free shuttle to Sea World a plus. Next time would request a Bay view closest to the bay vs the building which overlooks the grassy area/restrooms. Still a nice view once outside on balcony. Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere and nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The hotel gift shop has some nice souvenirs at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Aug 17, 2009

The Dana

This hotel has a very nice location on Mission Bay. The Hotel Lobby, restaurant, and bar are all updated and very nice. The rooms are in serious need of remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Aug 16, 2009

The room smelled a little musty.

Great location. The next time I go, I will probably book a larger room. The standard room is too small for my taste. You bump into the bed and dresser on your way to the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KLandE
Business
CA
Aug 15, 2009

Not the place for an infant.

Room was very loud especially during babies nap times. You could hear every sound coming through the walls. The crib the hotel supplied was extremely hard to put our baby in. In fact my wife could not hold him lean over and reach the mattress. We had to even call 4 times to get it delivered to the room. The floor was dirty. We didnt even allow our son to sit or walk on the floor. Very poor over all experience. We had stayed 2 months earlier at the Hyatt across the street and that is where we will be staying from here on. If you have an infant or toddler do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice location to Mission Beach. Thats about all that was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbydebb
Business
Connecticut
Aug 13, 2009

The best!

We visited the San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park,went snorkelling and kayaking thru the Caves of the seven seas in LaJolla, boogie boarding, and cycling. I really enjoyed staying at Dana Landing. Great location. On my next return, I plan on staying at Dana. I've recommended the place to my co-wrokers and friends. I am unable to compare the trip to previous trips since it wasn't in San Diego. However, i do have to say i loved it and didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shinny
Business
Denver Co
Aug 13, 2009

Great Get Away

Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Bums!
Business
Albuquerque
Aug 11, 2009

Nice Stay, Expected More

The room was clean and everything worked just fine. The location was good. Given the chance, I would have booked a Hotel that was right on the beach Vs right on the bay, but it was a nice short walk to Sea World. We really enjoyed the food at the Firefly and the Blue Pearl. The Firefly was pricy, but very nice. The Blue Pearl exceeded my expectations in food, service, and value. The big disappoinment was the fitness center. There was one broken stationary bike and one old elipctial machine that almost worked. There were photos of weights on the walls, but no actual work out equipment in the tiny closet they called the fitness center. and I'm sorry, but the air hockey table does not count as a work out machine either. It was a joke and they really should not advertise having a fitness center. The room was fairly small and it felt very motel like. However, the pool and the grounds were very nice. There were some homeless folks living in bushes around the bay and very close to the Hotel. I didn't like that very much. Last, there is no other restaurants close by. You have to walk to the beach if you want to eat outside of the hotel. We didn't rent a car, but cabs were readily available. The best part of the trip was the beach. With that stated, I'll say it again. Don't stay at the Dana. Stay at the Pacific Terrace on the beach. You'll have more fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay on Mission Beach, there are plenty of very good restaurants close by. Don't worry about staying close to Sea World. You will only be there for one day anyway. One day is plenty of time to see and do everything Sea World has to offer. All of the nice restaurants around the beach were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Day Tripper

Staff was very friendly. Arrived early and hotel was going to allow early check in, by Orbitz had not submitted my reservation info, therefore had to leave and come back a couple hours later. Place was decent, but not 4 star rating reviews stated. It is a older place and not worth the price I paid. Definitely had a motel feel vs hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining within facility was close and good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Az
Aug 9, 2009

Vacation

The location of the hotel is great because your right in the middle to various attractions. The room was clean and most of the staff were very friendly. However, the rooms were very small and cramped, the tub wouldn't drain and you had to flush the tolet several times . We had several new neighbors will staying at The Dana, because the walls are paper thin. Parking is expensive at $12 per day, which should have been included in the price of the room. When we went to the restuarant ( Blue Pearl) service was usually very slow but the food was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

So many attractions around this hotel, if you can stand a few annoyances this is a hotel to consider staying at, it is in no way luxury!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top