$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
453 reviews
Excellent Sea World vacation

Hotel is right on the bay, with beautiful views. There are paddle board rentals a short walk away.... See full review

  • Andrew and kids from WA
  • Nov 18, 2014
perfect

it was beautiful bay view .. a home away from home ... it was wonderful..... See full review

  • jj.one
  • Oct 12, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom on the go
Business
For tLewis, WA
May 11, 2009

Great family hotel

We had a ball! Great pools! Great views! We went to both SeaWorld and the Zoo. For Sea World they have free shuttle service right on the property - how great is that!? For the Zoo, we took public transportation and it was easy for me and exciting for my 4-year old - get the day trip pass and then you can enjoy the beach later that night for the sunset. Room service was a godsend as my daughter was sick the last day there. How convenient! Also shuttle service to and from the airport rocked. We did not know about it getting to the hotel so I had booked an expensive service to take us back to the airport. Once they discovered that, the staff fit us in with their group (free of charge!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
May 10, 2009

Excellent time and great upgrade

When we arrived the view was superb. At check in we were offered an upgrade to the best suite available for a unbeatable price. being on our honeymoon, this made it even better. the 2 restaurants were the best and had something for everyone. There was a great walking path surrounding the bay which was romantic for night strolls. theres nothing bad i could say about the dana or the whole san diego area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mulu
Business
Rochester, NY
May 6, 2009

Trip to Sandiego

The frist day I wasn't happy because they put me to very derty room. After i complien they transfered me to better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 2, 2009

Good value, great views

Everything was great. No hassles, prompt check-in/check-out. Nice rooms. Great bay views from Deluxe Bay View Suites. Would stay here again next time I'm in the area. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amarillo, Tx
May 2, 2009

great vacation hotel

our room was immaculate , all of the staff was friendly and helpful. we went to sea world twice, la jolla coves, universal city, magic mountain, kayaking on the bay, went to coronado, went through the maritime museums. All in all it was a wonderful vacation.We would not hesitate to stay at the Dana again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San diego vacationers
Business
Ogden, utah
Apr 29, 2009

wonderful family getaway

The hotel was great we were able to walk to sea world. It was close to Jolla beaches, Mission Beach and old town,Scripps Birtch aquarium. and a short drive to seaport village. there was a store/cafe that was walking distance were you could get drinks and sandwiches. We Have been there every year for the last 5 years and stayed at most of the hotels and so far we like the Dana the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We were close to many resturants, lots of shopping, and wonderful beaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Dreaming
Business
San Dimas, Ca
Apr 28, 2009

A Great Experience

Overall my families experance was great. We had two different rooms one room with a bay view which was great. The second with a pool view in the 200 building. These rooms were small and seemed dated. All in all my family had a great time during our stay. How could you not in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from the name restaurants and try some of the smaller less known restaurants. You might be pleasantly surprised. Hodads in Ocean Beach was different. Always a sure thing, Old Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 27, 2009

Beautiful views

This was our second stay at the Dana. We loved it so much the first time that we had to return. Both pools are clean and refreshing- even heated on cool evenings. We stayed in the newer section both times and absolutely loved the view from the balcony. The rooms are spacious and equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. This really helped us save on meals and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice little restaurant across the freeway on the water where you can sit out and enjoy a quiet breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MACOMB, MICH.
Apr 23, 2009

GREAT VIEW

FOR THE MONEY THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. NICE ROOMS, GREAT VIEW OVER LOOKING THE BAY AND REAL CLOSE TO ALL THE ACTION...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Alarm
Business
Canoga Park, CA
Apr 23, 2009

Try once and move on

Check in was uneventful. Had a nice walk around the premises and tried the pool which is cold for the weather. The jacuzzi was warm enough but a bit sandy at the bottom. The flat screen TV is a nice touch. The next day, no complimentary breakfast, we went to see the town and returned at 3 pm to see the room was not cleaned. Check out time you get quite a suprise to pay 12 bucks for parking. Overall, good for couples but not for trips that involves young kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top