$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
480 out of 480
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supermom Cheryl
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 14, 2009

Beautiful getaway

This is the perfect location to enjoy San Diego. It is within 15 minutes of many beaches and attractions. It is easy to get to. Very polite and helpful staff. Lots to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and enjoy many things to do within about 15 min. or less of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
renka
Business
castle rock
Jul 14, 2009

great place

great location and very nice, peaceful, but fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrenceville, GA
Jul 13, 2009

Attend wedding

The location was great and the grounds were beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Jul 12, 2009

Peaceful

The hotel is nice and the personal is very friendly. We had a bay front bottom floor that had access from the patio to go out on the grass and it was great for the kids. There is no restroom in the pool area and it was inconvenient to go to the room every time one of us needed to use the restroom since we spent most of our time at the Blue Pearl pool which is on the opponent side of where our room was. Over all it was nice but a little pricey and you pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Laua at the Catamaran Hotel was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyndi Gray
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 6, 2009

Dana on Missions Bay

The only person we spoke with was the employee who checked us in. He was amazing. cool, nice, and very friendly. The room was lovely, and the surroundings were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coronado Island, and ride/rent a bike. Ride around the island - Such a lovely place. Become a member of the San Diego Zoo or Wild Animal Park you get both memberships with one low price along with guest passes, and other discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
winnipeg,mb
Jul 4, 2009

SAN DIEGO!!!

great experience overall! only thing that bothered me was that you could hear people walking past the room at all hours of the day and night. great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merced CA
Jul 2, 2009

Nice Hotel...Great Location...but

Great location, Nice hotel..BUT I had a room with a broken air conditioner. I stayed for 2 nights, the first night I called guest services that I had a broken air conditioner that did not work...they waived the parking fee and told me they would send someone to fix it in the morning while we were off to sea world. I went to sea world and got back at 10:00pm and the air condition was still NOT FIXED. I went to tell the desk clerk that it still wasn't fixed, and so he offered to have someone fix it that night. (Its too late, especially when my family is already sleeping.) My stay would of been perfect if not for this. (First night was hot and Second night was cool so we slept good.) Overall I would of gave THE DANA 4 stars if not for the broken air unit. The location is great, especially if your going to Sea World. Nice area with walking paths of the bay, very scenic and safe. I give props to the shuttle driver to sea world...very professional. The rooms were tidy and clean. We got the room with the Marina view. (PS..Ask if you can get the 2nd floor room so cars don't obstruct your view of the marina.) The room was small so the next time I may try the Bay room which I hear has is bigger and also on the newer built side. I would still recommend the Dana because of its great location, nice views of the bay, walking paths, 2 swimming pools, restaurant and bar, safe location, etc. But next time, I hope that they fix what they said they would fix... I gave the Dana 3 stars because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea World is 15 minutes walking distance...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sebastopol, calif.
Jul 2, 2009

Beautiful but Busy place

The Dana's rooms for perfect,the location was perfect, and the view is spectacular. The downfall was we went their to celebrate our 25th Anniversary and we wanted quiet, & serene and what we didnt know was this is a very popular place for weddings, that was not disclosed and there were 2 weddings and 2 rehersals right underneath us both nights so when we wanted to enjoy our balcony with the great view, we had 100 people staring at us. With the weddings came alot of people and alot of parking problems.If we had known this was a place that was popular for weddings we would have gone somewhere much more quiet. The location was just where we wanted to be though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave of NY
Business
Troy, NY
Jun 29, 2009

Great place to stay while in San Diego.

The Dana offers a great location right on Mission Bay near the coast within close proximity of Ocean, Mission and La Jolla beaches. The staff at the hotel from the front desk down to the maid services were very polite and a pleasure in every possible way. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottadlale, AZ
Jun 23, 2009

Nice location!

Great service and location. This was our 2nd stay at the Dana Inn. Great hotel!! Easy check in/out, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top