$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
508 out of 508
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honmikemac
Business
Westchester County New York
Aug 26, 2009

San Diego Hotel

The only negative was they made us wait to check in for a few hours. But we went for lunch and drove around so no big deal. I would have liked to check in early to go to the beach. We got there at 12, we checked in at 3. The rooms are nice, nothing extraordinary. Big flat screen TV's. There are two pools with hot tubs, the pools are pretty good for the kids. The best part is you are close to Mission Beach, Pacific beach, Petco Field, downtown, the Airport, Seaworld is across the street, Legoland is a 30 minute drive. I did not go to the zoo so i am unsure where that is. The concierge has directions to everything and was very helpful. I did not go out at night to bars or clubs etc.. so i cannot say anything about that. I would go there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To everything

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New SanDiego Fan
Business
Cheney, WA
Aug 26, 2009

Excellent in all ways!

My older son and I was visiting my younger son. They had great things to do, and so did I. It was wonderful. The time at the hotel, and the surrounding area. Rooms were clean, and they were such gracious hosts. Pools and spa was great. Restaurants were better than normal. The water in the lobby was so good, we went there just to drink it. The night time was beautiful and the restaurant on site is enjoyable place for drinks. Great locations. Close to beaches, great walking area, play area for families or if you were a young couple. I highly reccommend this place. I will go back to. And the massage is worth the money..go for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Mission beach and area is great to be near. Also SeaWorld is within a 15 mimnute walk or you can take the shuttle..So much more.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl from the Desert
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 23, 2009

Nice getaway

I wanted a hotel next to mission beach, had good ratings, and was affordable. I had a couple hotels in mind, but finally chose this hotel because it had a 50% off deal. We got the marina view room, but I think that any room would of also been nice. We loved the location of the hotel. We walked to the Biltmore Boardwalk on Mission Beach several times. It probably took about 15 minutes to walk there. I read that the food prices nearby would be expensive, but It really depends on which restaurant you go to. We went to a lot of the inexpensive Mexican restaurants along the boardwalk. A plus about these restaurants is that they are open late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Although there is a Sea World shuttle that comes to Dana, we walked to Sea World because we missed it. It probably only took about 15 minutes to get there. However, if you want to take the shuttle be sure to find out the times that it comes, because it comes only about 3 times for pickup and and then 4 times at night to get back.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2009

Bay View

Convenient location for Sea World and beach visits. Free shuttle to Sea World a plus. Next time would request a Bay view closest to the bay vs the building which overlooks the grassy area/restrooms. Still a nice view once outside on balcony. Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere and nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The hotel gift shop has some nice souvenirs at reasonable prices.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Aug 17, 2009

The Dana

This hotel has a very nice location on Mission Bay. The Hotel Lobby, restaurant, and bar are all updated and very nice. The rooms are in serious need of remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Aug 16, 2009

The room smelled a little musty.

Great location. The next time I go, I will probably book a larger room. The standard room is too small for my taste. You bump into the bed and dresser on your way to the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KLandE
Business
CA
Aug 15, 2009

Not the place for an infant.

Room was very loud especially during babies nap times. You could hear every sound coming through the walls. The crib the hotel supplied was extremely hard to put our baby in. In fact my wife could not hold him lean over and reach the mattress. We had to even call 4 times to get it delivered to the room. The floor was dirty. We didnt even allow our son to sit or walk on the floor. Very poor over all experience. We had stayed 2 months earlier at the Hyatt across the street and that is where we will be staying from here on. If you have an infant or toddler do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice location to Mission Beach. Thats about all that was nice.

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbydebb
Business
Connecticut
Aug 13, 2009

The best!

We visited the San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park,went snorkelling and kayaking thru the Caves of the seven seas in LaJolla, boogie boarding, and cycling. I really enjoyed staying at Dana Landing. Great location. On my next return, I plan on staying at Dana. I've recommended the place to my co-wrokers and friends. I am unable to compare the trip to previous trips since it wasn't in San Diego. However, i do have to say i loved it and didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shinny
Business
Denver Co
Aug 13, 2009

Great Get Away

Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Bums!
Business
Albuquerque
Aug 11, 2009

Nice Stay, Expected More

The room was clean and everything worked just fine. The location was good. Given the chance, I would have booked a Hotel that was right on the beach Vs right on the bay, but it was a nice short walk to Sea World. We really enjoyed the food at the Firefly and the Blue Pearl. The Firefly was pricy, but very nice. The Blue Pearl exceeded my expectations in food, service, and value. The big disappoinment was the fitness center. There was one broken stationary bike and one old elipctial machine that almost worked. There were photos of weights on the walls, but no actual work out equipment in the tiny closet they called the fitness center. and I'm sorry, but the air hockey table does not count as a work out machine either. It was a joke and they really should not advertise having a fitness center. The room was fairly small and it felt very motel like. However, the pool and the grounds were very nice. There were some homeless folks living in bushes around the bay and very close to the Hotel. I didn't like that very much. Last, there is no other restaurants close by. You have to walk to the beach if you want to eat outside of the hotel. We didn't rent a car, but cabs were readily available. The best part of the trip was the beach. With that stated, I'll say it again. Don't stay at the Dana. Stay at the Pacific Terrace on the beach. You'll have more fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay on Mission Beach, there are plenty of very good restaurants close by. Don't worry about staying close to Sea World. You will only be there for one day anyway. One day is plenty of time to see and do everything Sea World has to offer. All of the nice restaurants around the beach were great!

Back to menu Return to top